We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vasa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Vasa Resort to your Saves list
Le Vasa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   West Main Beach Rd, Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Coromandel, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A quiet gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We arrived here in the dead of night and were delighted with the beautifully presented fale.
Next morning we awoke to the sound of the sea on our doorstep and a wonderful vista. It is a small resort set in lovely gardens, coconut trees, palms and richly colored foliage and well kept grounds. Susan and the staff were lovely, friendly and welcoming, and helpful with all our questions and giving helpful info so we were able to enjoy our stay to the max. The tropical breakfasts were a treat, and the restaurant meals some of the best we had in Samoa.

We were lucky to have Fatu drive us on a trip around the island. It was great but would have liked more information and background about what we were seeing.

We were only here for a couple of days but they were a magical, beautiful introduction to Samoa. It is a tropical paradise and we will definitely be back sometime.
Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    69
    28
    13
    20
See reviews for
75
123
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Garden Room, Le Vasa's budget accommodation. Booked thru lastminute.com, it was a pretty good price ($160NZD) considering the amenities provided. The rest of the accommodation at Le Vasa is MUCH more expensive. There is no real beach here (just a small smelly man made beach) but the views from the pool of the ocean are spectacular, and the garden is immaculate. The staff are generally friendly, and we didn't feel like we were treated differently from the other guests even though we stayed in the budget side. The sunsets are pretty beautiful, and can be seen from some of the restaurant tables while eating your dinner. The meals are pretty expensive though, and not exactly large, but good quality. The best garlic bread I've had in a while! There were plenty of activities if you wanted to stay around the resort, kayaking, pool table and library with TV and board games.
Really, the only reason we thought it was so good was because we got such a good deal on the room, and we'd just been staying in fales on the beach in Savaii and were a bit sick of the sand! There would be plenty of things to be less than impressed about if you were paying full price in their waterfront fales.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

A different resort cancelled our bookings and 30 guests in our wedding party had nowhere to stay. Le Vasa Restort took us all in with welcoming arms and made us feel like part of their Samoan family.
Sometimes it takes a couple of days to get into the holiday "relaxed" groove. At Le Vasa that feeling was immediate. I cant properly describe the feeling of relief arriving at 7am after a red-eye flight to be greeted by name by Susan the resort manager. Not just me, but she knew most of our names.
Whatever it was we wanted to know about Samoa or needed to get organized, Susan and the resort owner Serria (spelling?) were there for us. If they couldn't directly help, they found someone who could.
We basically took up all the resort, all our guests were so impressed with the rooms. Each room bar the garden room is right on the water with amazing views of sunrises and sunsets. You could easily stay the whole time just sitting on your pouch looking at the view.
The resort is on a small headland so you walk from your room with an ocean view to the pool with a view of the ocean on both sides.
The gardens surrounding the resort are beautiful and well maintained.
All the staff are friendly and attentive, yet not like some places where they're always asking you if "you're ok".
The cocktails are great, the food varied and great quality. Only advice I'd give is to order slowly and confirm the order is correct. In saying that, all 30 of us would descend on the restaurant at the same time so it was a bit chaotic for the wait staff and chefs but they handled it.
If you want a holiday where you feel like you've come back home to the home you never knew that this is the place for you. We're going back next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

OMG! Where do I start! To the staff of Le Vasa Resort, this was our first trip away and it was a wonderful experience, friendly, welcoming and alot of love....
We stayed in the Luxury Fale #5 and it was beautiful, awesome view to wake up to, air conditioned, beautiful bathrooms, very spacious..loved every minute of it...very tidy and clean and I thank the house keepers for such great work...

Location was what every couple would be looking for, quiet and relaxing....Loved happy hour hehe! loved the night swimming in the pool, taking a walk around the resort, beautiful just beautiful...we so plan to come back, Susan you rock!!! xoxox Alofa's to you and everyone at Le Vasa Resort.

Room Tip: Luxury Fales have a beautiful view, no noise very quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just returned from 10 glorious days in Samoa. Arrived barely awake and the welcome was fabulous. Smiling faces despite the hr. anything we needed was organised without any fuss, Our Fale was tip top condition (until we unpacked). Tropical Breakfast was included and I think we provided entertainment with our daily swapping of food. Totally recommend the Coconut Pancakes!!!! Dinner was fabulous (the steaks totally rock), lots of choices and suitable for all tastes. My friends and I tend to have wierd and wonderful "requirements" and the staff met them all. The bar staff made some of the best drinks anywhere! We were all addicted to Miriama's Mud Slides by the end of the trip... The Fia Fia (cultural evening) from Fatu and the team was awesome...so graceful and the performance was just jaw dropping site to see.
Soraya, Susie and the team made us feel part of the family rather than tourists. From the mgmt to the staff everyone was just so accomodating and welcoming. the free standing fales provided sufficient privacy and the intimacy that you were the only people there. The staff provided the personalised service that larger resorts /hotels cannot provide you.

We arrived as guests, but left as friends and part of a family.

i will most definitely be back...watch out team!!! hehehehe

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

What can i say, i dont think that words would do justice to the warmth and affection shown to us from everyone at the resort!!
From the minute you arrive the staff and managment will do everything to make your stay as welcome and enjoyable for you as they can.
Our party included 10 adults and 2 children and everything was taken care of.
Our reason for stay was a beach wedding at the resort.
And what a wedding!!!!!
The whole staff went above and beyond what they had said they would do, everything about the day was made to be perfect in every way. From my wifes escorted walk to the beach, the choir at the service and the exqusite food prepared for us for our meals.
We could not have asked for anymore than what we were given.
The resort itself is gorgeous and well maintained in every way.
On our first day there was a bulb out in our shower, fixed straight away.
Everyone in our party has nothing but praise for the resort, and the age range of us all was between 5 and 65!!!
Not one complaint from anyone!!
Thank you Soroya and everyone else involved, in making our day, and whole holiday special.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had an ok stay at La Vasa and were disappointed with the service on the front desk, cold showers and a run down look about the place (although they tried to disguise it, it didn't quite work). We won't stay there again. The food in the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Vasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vasa Resort

Address: West Main Beach Rd, Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Cape Fatuosofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Vasa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vasa Resort is a spectacular ocean front hideaway, set on 8 acres it's perfect for a romantic getaway and true relaxation. The resort is nestled in a peaceful and secluded setting and provides an authentic South Pacific experience with all of the modern amenities you desire. Le Vasa Resort features 13 private oceanfront fales and villas, 2 standard rooms, boat house, day room, an ocean view restaurant and bar, and an extensive selection of activities including fishing, diving and surfing all in a traditional village setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Le Vasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vasa Hotel Apia
Le Vasa Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vasa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.