We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn in lovely town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apricus Locanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apricus Locanda to your Saves list
Apricus Locanda
Via IV Novembre 5, 18035 Apricale, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Apricale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely inn in lovely town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Jeannette is a graceful and welcoming host who has created an understatedly elegant inn. Small touches like fresh flowers in the room and sprigs of rosemary on the pillows add to the lovely room. Our room (all rooms?) overlooked the lush alpine valley and mountains and opened on to a small balcony. The inn has large decks with beautiful large potted plants for guests to use which have the same peaceful view. Jeannette said they will be putting in a swimming pool below the decks. She served a good breakfast with croissant-type pastries, cheese, walnuts, cereal, pancetta and other thin meats, etc in a lovely breakfast room looking out on to the deck and the views. She had all kinds of maps and information about area attractions. We did not get a chance to hike but there are good trails she recommended that would be beautiful. (Hike to Perinaldo, don't drive! It was the most harrowing drive I've ever taken with memorials in various places along the road. There is a bus that goes there, too,) From Apricus Locanda, you can easily walk into the walled town where there are a number of restaurants, though most were closed when we were there in late September or either they aren't open on Monday and Tuesday, the days we happened to be there. However, we ate well in an open restaurant and absolutely loved Apricale. The only slight inconvenience in our room was that there was really no place to put our 2 small suitcases except on the floor. There was a big and lovely armoire in the room so lots of space to hang clothes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Travelling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a great stay at this beautifully located little B&B. It's right at the entrance of Apricale and has street parking right out the front door. The rooms are decorated with great attention to detail (we got the "shoe room"), the bed was comfortable and we could look out to the valley while lying in bed. The sizeable room balcony was the perfect place to relax and take in the wonderful view and listen to the sounds of the birds.

There is a large terrace that comes off the breakfast room which is another place to relax and enjoy the view. It is decorated with antique furniture, grape vines, olive trees and flowers - beautifully done!

Every morning Jeanette treated us with a delicious buffet breakfast with a very good variety, including crispy warm pastries, local home made jams, honey and fresh fruit. Jeanette gave us tips on where to eat in town - we ended up eating at Tarocchi (500m up the road from the hotel) 3 times in 2 days because the food was so delicious and inexpensive.

Thank you to Jeanette for a wonderful stay. We absolutely recommend this place if staying in Apricale.

Room Tip: The two top level rooms with balcony had an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Fantastic little B&B nestled in a serene setting in the hills of Apricale. Attention to detail is very obvious - from the fresh flowers in the beautifully decorated bedrooms to the starched table clothes in the dining room. A healthy delicious breakfast is served on the terrace with amazing views of the valley below and the town of Perinaldo perched high in the hills above Apricale. Another wonderful thing about this little piece of heaven is the owner, Jeannette. She is so kind and welcoming and is always smiling. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give this little gem a perfect ten. I look forward to returning in the near future. I would highly recommend Apricus Locanda.

Sept, 2012
MK, New Jersey, USA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have visited Apricale on numerous occasions but would normally stay in one of the surrounding villages. Last weekend I decided to spend a few nights with friends from New York and explore Apricale, it's restaurants, the surroundings and the relaxed atmosphere that this village offers.
We booked into Apricus Locanda and I have to say this was the icing on the cake!
What an extraordinary delighful place to stay in. Our rooms were of 5 star quality with fantastic views of the valley, the surrounding hills and the village of Perinaldo peering down on us from the top of one of the hills.. Each room had it's own theme offering unique comfort in a simple yet sumptious way.

Jeanette, our friendly and forever smiling host, made us so welcome and the breakfast served by her on the terrace was just right. The smell of croissants and coffee, the perfect way to start your day!

I will definitely return to Apricus Locanda and will also recommend it to my friends. Jeanette told me they are adding a swimming pool which will be open next summer. Another reason to return.

For those of you who are romantically minded.......this is the place to go!!

Sean Duffy
Epsom, Surrey

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Jeanette, the co-owner was so friendly and helpful from my first enquiry right until the end of our stay. She waited in the road so that our taxi from Ventimiglia would not miss this charming bed and breakfast. Our room was comfortable with a balcony with magnificent views. The location is excellent being on the main road entering Apricale and yet in remains a haven of peace. Jeanettes breakfasts were superby and were served on the deloghtful terrace or the very pleasant breakfast room. I could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is amazing. My husband and I both agree that this is the best place we have ever stayed. Jeanette is an excellent host. The rooms are so comfortable and clean. Breakfast was perfect. Light tasty and healthy. Great place. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We really enjoyed the three days we spent in Apricus Locanda. Apricale is like a diamond only 15 kms from the Ligurian Sea! At the time we were in Apricale, theatre evenings attracted many visitors in this small village. Jeanette is a lovely host with an excellent English, is very helpful and makes you feel very well during your stay already with her smile. The B&B and the room is absolutely marvellous, we had stunning view on the valley from the bed and spent fantastic breakfasts on the terrace - that is not the usual terrace you usually have breakfast :). Jeanette also booked us a parking place in a private garage. Visit Jeanette's Apricus Locanda and enjoy - must see!

Apricale a Ligur tengertől kb. 15 km-re fekvő igazi kis ékszerdoboz - ottjártunkkor éppen rengeteg látogatót vonzó színházi estéket tartottak a falu főterén. Jeanette, a házigazdánk egy mosolygós, elbűvölő, segítőkész háziasszony. A B&B csodálatos, dekoratív, kifogástalan tisztaságú szoba, a mi szobánkban még az ágyból is látható volt a gyönyörű völgy. Reggelinket a nem mindennapi kilátással rendelkező teraszon tölthetjük el. Még egy saját fedett parkolóhelyet is foglalt házigazdánk egy külön garázsban. Nagyszerű élmény, mindenképpen látni kell!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apricus Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apricus Locanda

Address: Via IV Novembre 5, 18035 Apricale, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Apricale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Apricale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apricus Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apricus Locanda Apricale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apricus Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.