We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Forest Holidays

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bavarian Forest Holidays to your Saves list
Bavarian Forest Holidays
Hans-Watzlik-Strasse 8, 94252 Bayerisch Eisenstein, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Weymouth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our first visit to this area of Germany and our first stay with Bavarian Forest Holidays and we were delighted with both. We stayed at Haus Martin Vogel apartment which was spacious and very well equipped and provided us with a comfortable base from which to explore the surrounding area where there is so much to do . A real plus is the Visitors Card which gives you free use of the extensive public transport network - this was vital for us as we travelled to the resort by train. One feature of the support provided by Bavarian Forest Holidays is the facilities at the Forsthaus where there is a shop, lounge and masses of information on the surrounding area and activities.The staff in the resort - Ulrike and Magda - were very friendly and helpful. We hope to return to the area and we would recommend it plus the company to other travellers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
105
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is truly the best place to stay for a self catering holiday!
Everything you could need has been provided for and if there is anything you think of they will get it for you.... Even a phrase book (Thank you Ulrika).
So very helpful and hardworking in every way - Both Ulrika and Magda
Great honesty shop with everything you need.... we used this a lot!
So much information about the town and surrounding areas provided.
We had the most relaxing holiday in this beautiful town!

Room Tip: We stayed on House Martin - Wald
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent 10 nights in Germany in October finishing at Bavarian Forest Holidays and it was absolutely fantastic.

We were met on arrival at Bayerisch Eisenstein station and given so much information about what to see and do and where to eat during our stay.

The accommodation was lovely. We stayed in Haus Martin (Otter I think it was) and it was very cosy with everything we needed including a balcony. The kitchen was well stocked but we decided to eat out every night - however it was nice to have the option to cook with all pots and pans there.

The main house had a little shop with all the essentials (including beer) and lots of guides to the area.

During our stay we walked to Arbersee, climbed Great Aber, visited the tree top walk and animal reserve at Neuschönau (two trains and a bus there but so worth it!) and took a trip to Bodenmais. There was so much to do and you get these great tourist cards which provide free public transport throughout the forest.

Highly recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I've stayed with Magaret and Martin twice now, in two different apartments, first as a large waling group and then as a couple Both times the apartments were spotless and superb. The way they have progressed all the different apartments is great, they've really thought about everything you might need - now including wi-fi etc.

Easy to get to from Munchen airport via a scenic train through the mountains.

The apartments are in a cul-de-sac area to the west of the village, ideally suited for all the forest walks. The area is quiet apart from the odd train rumbling through the woods. Everything is supplied in the apartment if you are fully self catering - which you could do just by using their on site shop of supplies and home cooked food (and beer).

Also present is a wealth of local knowledge, history and walks/maps, library, DVD collection.

The village is a short walk - couple of bars and shops/restaurants, traditional clothing shop, outdoor shop. I recommend food at the Poschel-Struben - excellent.

All in all this is a superbly run business and Magaret and Martin have thought of everything, they are so accomodating and helpful - and just received a christmas card from them in the post! Its the small things like this and the complimentary bottle of wine for being a returning customer!

Ive only been in the summer, for forest walking - but would love to visit again when they have 10ft of snow!!

Cant wait to go back for a week in 2014. P.S stay away from Martins celery tasting snaps, it made me go blind...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from this beautiful part of the world. This is our second visit to Haus Martin and this time stayed in the upstairs apartment. It was lovely, comfortable bright and airy. As other reviewers have mentioned the apartments are well stocked, the setup is fabulous and the best thing is you can travel without the car. We didn't want to come. There are so many places to visit, walking, cycling.
We came home feeling relaxed and refreshed without any stress at all.
This is a wonderful place to visit you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The first floor apartments had lovely velux windows which let in lots of light and the balcony caugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent a fortnight at Haus Martin in Sonne. Spotlessly clean, and very comfortable - absolutely everything had been thought of (including translations of local menus, plus 24 hour access to a shop stocking excellent wine, beer and food, with a free DVD/CD/book library to boot), and the recommendations for places to go were excellent. Great walks right on the doorstep, and a scenic train ride to wonderful places for day trips.

Would recommend highly for a thoroughly relaxing break. Was really good value too.

Room Tip: Haus Martin Sonne perfect for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is our second stay at Bavarian Forest Holidays and we very rarely visit somewhere a second time but this time at Bavarian Forest Holidays was even better than the first. This summer we stayed in Haus Sterr Anton. Being met at the train station was like seeing family and it just got better from there. The apartment was spotlessly clean, roomy, lovely and light but cosy for the cool nights and we were wanting for nothing. There was not one chipped plate, scratched frying pan or not 'as new' item in the very well stocked kitchen. I cooked all our evening meals and every utensil I needed was provided. Nowhere else in our extensive travels have we found such nice wine glasses are provided to enjoy the fantastic local wine we bought from the excellent inhouse shop. The extensive tourist information and free local transport (which also gave us free putt-putt golf) was again very useful and it was great to see that the village has a new restaurant and shops but is still a friendly, safe, relaxing and beautiful setting. The games room was brilliant for the children and the adults as was the terrace. The hosts have established a outstanding holiday option and their caretakers are so happy to answer any questions and nothing was too much trouble. We cannot speak highly enough of Bavarian Forest Holidays and yes the forests are wonderful as well!

Room Tip: Haus Sterr Anton was fantastic with its direct access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Forest Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Forest Holidays

Address: Hans-Watzlik-Strasse 8, 94252 Bayerisch Eisenstein, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Bayerisch Eisenstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bayerisch Eisenstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 top quality 'full service' apartments, sleeping 2-6, in Bayerisch Eisenstein in the Bavarian Forest, directly on the border with the Czech Republic, next to the National Park. Resident British owners. Arrive and depart any day of the week, stay any number of days. Half board option available. Shops, restaurants, tourist and sports facilities in the village. Good train and bus links. Spacious and comfortable, very well equipped. Own tourist information pack provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bavarian Forest Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Forest Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.