We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in the Bavarian Forest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Forest Holidays

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bavarian Forest Holidays to your Saves list
Bavarian Forest Holidays
Hans-Watzlik-Strasse 8, 94252 Bayerisch Eisenstein, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bliss in the Bavarian Forest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

How wonderful to stay in accommodation that delivers all that is promised...and more! From the super friendly collection from the train by Martin to the warm drop off at the end of our stay, it felt like we were staying with family but with total privacy and zero stress! I stayed for 11 nights with my four-year old son in a one-bedroom apartment and we had a blast! From playing table tennis in the basement on a rainy morning, to playing hidey-go-seek in the 'forest lined' garden on sunny afternoons we had a relaxing holiday with no moments of wondering how to fill our day. 11 nights gave me lots of opportunities for home cooking and the kitchen had everything I needed for a variety of meals. The fantastic value 'inhouse' shop had 90% of what I needed and the village market had the fresh vegies. The tourist information provided in our apartment was clear, accurate and full of great ideas. The apartment was clean, very well fitted out and really comfortable. We loved the forest, the cable car, the 'zoo', catching the free train and bus to near-by villages for lunch, walking into the Czech Republic for ice-cream, the fantastic kids playground in Bayerisch Eisenstein (BE) and especially the ways the locals in BE were so friendly and happy to share their little piece of heaven with us. Did I mention the trees!?! Gorgeous! We will go back and are planning on meeting up with friends there for another easy and enjoyable holiday. Thank you to Margaret and Martin!

Room Tip: We stayed in Haus Martin Wald which gave us a lovely private terrace where I would enjoy a glass of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
107
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Would highly recommend as facilities, cleanliness, location, quiet, encouragement for being green with recycling etc, small shop, and information excellent. Local scenery is stunning and a trip into the Czech Republic is well worth doing - we went to Czesky Krumlov and found it very interesting. Weather helped too! Apartments spacious with access to sauna, pool table and table tennis. Train travel and some local facilities free with the tourist card provided by Martin and Margaret. Plenty of places to visit depending on your interests but came away feeling relaxed and benefiting from being outdoors in good clean fresh air. Everywhere is well looked after and clean and the roads are very good quality and very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The service here is great , Martin gave pickup and drop off to train, snapp tasting, Owners had put together heaps of details of local attractions, Room was very clean and well set up with being able to get stores from there shop, Location was great for shops, restaurants and walks, We left writing this review to end of our holiday, we stayed in 30 different places from 0 stars to 5. and felt that we had to also vent our negitive feelings , Sure they have a 5 star rating, but this was the smallest bed room we had on our holiday (and we know beds are a personal choice) but this was the worst bed of our travels. We understand the owners attempts to decorate with forest cottage appeal and be eco with lighting but we found the unit dark, The shower door cheapened the bathroom, and we did not get any change of towels in 4 days,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretBavaria, Owner at Bavarian Forest Holidays, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Obviously we were very pleased to read to positive comments made and very sorry that this guest was so disppointed. We can do nothing about the size of the bedroom - the man who built the house determined that - but the apartment overall is large for 2 people and most of our guests are happy with that. Since this guest stayed, another guest commented that the mattress had deteriorated and we replaced it immediately with a good quality, expensive one. The apartment is on the ground floor and a few yards from the forest so inevitably it is not the brightest one but we will review again all of the lighting to try to improve it. I am not sure what the problem with the shower screen is - we installed a top of the range glass screen (not plastic or a curtain). We will look at it again but I don't think there is anything better. We offer guests who stay at least 5-6 days a towel change after 3 days for environmental reasons. If these guests had requested a towel change, we would have given them one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Margaret and Martin are great hosts and their accomodation is first rate. Our apartment was large, well lit and spotless, with pleasant views of the surounding forest and town. There are many things to see in the region as well as great walks and bike rides nearby. Margaret and Martin provide food and drink at extremely reasonble rates for those that want to eat in. There are also several restaurants within walking distance that offer excellent food that is inexpensive. I would not hesitate recommending this accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in a two bed apartment for seven days and had a great time. With a family of two adults and two teenage girls it's not always easy to please everyone but this location did with great walking and interesting towns to visit. The apartment had everything you could want and the games room was very much enjoyed. The owners provide lots of tourist info and suggestions for outings which were very well thought out and proved very successful including, a trip to Prague, a river cruise on the Danube from Passou and meals in local restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in Arber apartment in the eaves of Haus Sterr and there were a few bumped heads so I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Bavarian Foerest Holidays for 5 nights which was not long enough to appreciate all this region of Bavaria has to offer. The apartment was light, airy and had everything we needed - well stocked kitchen, comfortable bed, spacious lounge and modern bathroom. There was also an attractive garden to enjoy a beer when we returned from one of our walks. Martin and Margaret are a font of knowledge regarding all aspects of Bavarian culture, from beer and schnapps to its history and politics. Conveniently, they provided us with ample maps, info and tips to get the most out of our short stay. They could not have been more helpful ( even assisting with my flat battery). Martin And Margaret also made our stay comfortable via their well stocked grocery store/bottle shop which contained all those little necessities of life at very reasonable cost. Even on a rainy day their provision of the free Guti rail pass with tips as to how to get the most out of it meant we were able to explore this beautiful region by train.

Khairon & William Sydney

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The appartments run by British couple, Martin and Margaret, offer a high standard of accommodation. We stayed in a top floor, 2-bed flat in a traditional German chalet. The rooms were clean and all mod cons were provided - including a coffee grinder! High chair, black out curtains and baby bib/plate.spoon were all offered free of charge. The kids even had complimentary teddies on their beds which was much appreciated. Martin and Margaret bend over backwards to ensure that you have an enjoyable, easy holiday with no stress. The surrounding area is heavily wooded with quiet tracks that you can use for cycling or walking. Bikes are available to hire, with baby seat if wished. Bayerish Eisenstein has few shops but a couple of nice restaurants. Portion sizes are generous and did us for two days as a doggy bag was provided. I would have no hesitation in recommending Bavarian Forest holidays to family and friends.

Room Tip: In summer, avoid the top floor as it gets rather hot under the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavarian Forest Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Forest Holidays

Address: Hans-Watzlik-Strasse 8, 94252 Bayerisch Eisenstein, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Bayerisch Eisenstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bayerisch Eisenstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 top quality 'full service' apartments, sleeping 2-6, in Bayerisch Eisenstein in the Bavarian Forest, directly on the border with the Czech Republic, next to the National Park. Resident British owners. Arrive and depart any day of the week, stay any number of days. Half board option available. Shops, restaurants, tourist and sports facilities in the village. Good train and bus links. Spacious and comfortable, very well equipped. Own tourist information pack provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bavarian Forest Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Forest Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.