We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaestehaus am Berg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gaestehaus am Berg to your Saves list
Gaestehaus am Berg
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bayerwaldstrasse 5, 94252 Bayerisch Eisenstein, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

to start with, Gerry and claire are wonderful hosts. Gerry came to pick us from the station and dropped us as well. really appreciate it.
We had a very comfortable room with extra bed for our kid. they provided everything in the room. Chako - the cute pet dog they have. me and my daughter spent good time with her and as a souvenir Gerry gave us a fridge magnet with chako's pic on it! b'fast was also good.

Thank you Claire and Gerry for taking good care of us.

Location wise, it is 15 to 20 mins walk from the station. but with luggage it can be challenging because of uphill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were staying several times at zelezna ruda or spicak, but it was always more or less big disapointment. Last time, enenthough we are czech we decided to go to german side of town. We selected this pension on tripadvisor and we were absolutely happy, great owners, nice and good equiped rooms, fireplace downstairs and lots of oys for kids, who are welcome. Nice breakfast on top. We will definetelly come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This great Guest house is rum by two great people who it was hard to escape from every morning because we loved chatting with them . Their local knowledge is amazing for a couple of Pom's ( ha! Ha! ) . The room had spectacular view across the boarder to Czech Rep. and a good comfortable bed. Breakie was great just right to get the day started.
Location just perfect we did only one of the many walks that start just out side or down the path in the village . And made forrays into the most beautiful Czech Rep.
Easy to get to and only a few hours from Pils or prague , and Cesky Krumlov.
I am interested in glass so all this was a mecca for me.
The towns folk where very friendly and after only a few days I knew a few of their names and every one knew of the Ozzies in town!
Highly recomend a stay here.

Room Tip: Take a trip across into Czech Republic , go by car and see Hartmanice (Klatovy District) they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

...ran by fantastic hosts.
Claire and Jerry really know the surrounding area well and provided us with lots of information regarding things to do and places to go.
The accommodation was very pleasant and the continental breakfasts were great with lots of choice.
Claire and Jerry have that rare blend of genuine friendliness and a desire to offer a great service.
Quite frankly, they made a good holiday great and I wish them nothing but the best for the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this excellent Gastehaus in Bayerisch Eisenstein and on both occasions we have been delighted with the welcome we have been given. The first time we were skiing in the locality and arrived by car. On the second visit we arrived by train and were picked up and returned to the station by our hosts Claire and Jerry. Their knowledge of the area is encyclopaedic and this was particularly useful as we wanted to know about suitable activities and venues for both wet and dry weather. The free local travel card which allows unlimited travel thoughout the National Park area is particularly useful. The rooms are comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and sparkling water. The breakfasts are very good with home made preserves and the ever present Chako the dog pathetically pretending he never gets fed! We hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We selected Am Berg as a base for a walking holiday and were not disappointed. There were many wonderful walks we could have done , but with the help of our hosts Claire and Jerry, chose and enjoyed excellent, varied walks. The help given can not be underestimated, they recommended and helped plot routes, provided delicious packed lunches and gave us full details of the local trains enabling us to walk further afield.
The bedrooms are simple and basic, comfortable and clean. The breakfast area and seating area is spacious and comfortable. On our only rainy day we returned to a wonderful log fire Jerry and Claire had laid for us.
It was a wonderful break and much of that is down to how helpful our hosts were. We travelled there by bus and train, again all the details of times etc being proved by them and their painstaking research on our behalf.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairejerry, Owner at Gaestehaus am Berg, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Many thanks for your review. We're very pleased you so enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again to our guesthouse and the Bavarian Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

The comfortable living room with cozy fireplace, the fluffy, friendly pooch wandering around enjoying the attention of the patrons, and the wonderful hosts made this the ideal weekend ski/mountain getaway. Marmite and Lemon Curd available at the free, delicious breakfast buffet! Oh and there was an amazing bohemian restaurant just down the hill, within walking distance, had the best duck ever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaestehaus am Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus am Berg

Address: Bayerwaldstrasse 5, 94252 Bayerisch Eisenstein, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Bayerisch Eisenstein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bayerisch Eisenstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gaestehaus am Berg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly guesthouse is in the quiet village of Bayerisch Eisenstein, only 5-minute walk to its centre & train station. Bayerischerwald(D) and Sumava(CZ) National parks, ski runs, hiking and cycling trails close by. Bedrooms have private shower & toilet, LED flat screen TV with integrated DVD player, hairdryer, free tea, coffee and mineral water, radio alarm clock. Most have balconies. Our guest-lounge has great views, wood-burning fire, comfy sofas, games, toys, DVDs, travel guides and maps. FREE buffet breakfast, FREE local public transport, FREE parking & FREE WiFi. FREE shuttle service from/to village train station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Gaestehaus am Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaestehaus am Berg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.