We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar

Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar
155/4 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 300 200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pasta, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The red snapper dish is great. Pamelo salad is excellent. I love their desserts dishes as well. I went there twice during my stay in Samui.

The service is not so good though.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Red_Snapper, Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Mentita,

We are extremely glad that you enjoyed our culinary treats that much. Especially our Chef is delighted to hear about positive feedback upon his hard work. As for the service, I am very sad we did not meet your requirements. I will investigate what is lacking to make sure we will exceed expectations in the future and upon your next arrival.

I would like to thank you for your comment and wish you the best regards from our Red Snapper team,
Daniel Gustavsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    162
    53
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 via mobile

Very nice restaurant, we were walking by challeweng road and find this site and we decided try. What a surprise! Meal realy good!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Red_Snapper, Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear ferriba,

Thank you very much for your review and I hope everything is well back in Barcelona. The Red Snapper team also hopes to welcome you again in the near future with more great food and drinks.

Thank you once more and best regards,
Daniel Gustavsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent band on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We didn't eat but we had drinks at the bar, really expensive. Four drinks £20!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Red_Snapper, Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear littlemissmokey,

Firstly, thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to post your opinion upon your experience. As for our drink prices, as we put a lot of detail and effort in to our drinks, especially cocktails, they tend to fall in a higher price category. But we will take your comment in to concideration to try and find other less pricey options.

As for the food, we hope that next time you visit Koh Samui, you give our food menu a chance, since it is atleast as good as our band.

Until then I remain with my best regards and once again a big thank you,
Daniel Gustavsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Food, Lovely Music, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

My family had dinner here last night and it was beyond tasty. We had chicken in bambo with mango souce and chicken wings for starters. Those were incredable - I honestly wished there were more once we finished them all!

For main course I had australian lamp chops and hubby had beef in tariyaki souce with rice. Both dishes were very delicious, but again rather small in size.

The drinks of the day ( for 150 baht) were just 2 - one of which we tried (something with watermelon). Didn't like the watermelon cocktail. Apart from that, I had margarita. To my surpise it wasn't icy... The taste was good though.

My daughter ( 4 year old) was greeted with coloring pages and colors which she really loved. She had mini burger, but ate only potatoes (nothing to do with the quality of the burger. She just doesn't eat anything but fries these days!).

The salad buffet (complimentary to most meals) was ok. The pasta salad wasn't the best. The greens, though, were nice and fresh, but there was a choice of souces available.

There is life band after 8:30pm. We didn't stay that long though, so I cannot comment on that.

The prices are high. The meal for 2 adults and 1 child with 3 alcohol drinks and 1 cola and 1 banana shake cost above 3,000 baht ( including tax and service).

The atmosphere of the place is lovely in the evening - candles, lights and music. The waiters are professional.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChawengRegentPR, Public Relations Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear YanaMK,
Thank you very much for your visit and valuable feedback. We were delighted to read that your enjoyed a tasty meal at Red Snapper with your lovely family. We make note of your comments about the food and drinks. While our prices may be considered high compared to local Samui restaurants, so is our level of quality, service and atmosphere. Aside from a great French Chef and creative drink list, we also boast one of the best bands on the island.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again soon,
Best regards,
Nadine Rouget
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good food but high price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great service and good food with perfect tempered wines.
High prices.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChawengRegentPR, Public Relations Manager at Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear matsnen,
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to share, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience as well as our menu selection. While we make a note of your pricing comment, we also take great pride in the quality of our product, from the decor, to atmosphere, drink and wine selection to our choice of music. A experience at Red Snapper truly goes beyond just dining. We hope that you will come back on your next visit to Koh Samui.
We look foward to welcoming you again very soon,
Best Regards,
Nadine Rouget
PR and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Snapper Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.