We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penzy Guesthouse

Penzy Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Penzy Guesthouse to your Saves list
Penzy Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 62 Chaweng B&B and Inns
San Juan Del Sur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect get away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Penzy's. it was a little pricy for a backpackers budget but everyday our room was cleaned and every morning penzy and her staff were smiling and very helpful. We planned to stay for 4 days during full moon and ended up staying for 7. It also only a block from the beach which was very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    25
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
34
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed here @ Penzy Guest House for a week. Penzy, David and a young lady who's name escapes me are perfect hosts. They are friendly, happy and go out of their way to help. The guest house is clean and comfortable with good sized rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

As mentioned by everyone, Penzy and David are fantastic hosts. They make you feel welcome, will arrange trips, taxis etc and give advice on where to go and what to do. Penzy is Thai so can negotiate well on your behalf, and was telling us of a few times when she had to dig people out of sticky situations!
Sunny is the rooms to the left of reception, Penzy guesthouse is the rooms to the right. We actually ended up staying 2nights in Sunny rooms, which are basic but have everything you need (including AC and fresh towels) and are clean. The shower had a slight smell, but we think this was the rain causing slight smell from the drain as opposed to anything regarding cleanliness as it only happened once. Penzy rooms are a lot nicer decorated, and seem a little cleaner somehow, but as we got a free upgrade from Penzy, not sure how much a difference in price there is.
Chaweng beach is quite touristy, so make sure this is what you want.....guesthouse in a great location for beach access though not beachfront, has many good cheap Thai restaurants close to it and loads of shopping. Penzy also helped arrange our full moon party trip.....though, as she said, the boat back was quite a scrum!

Room Tip: Not sure on price as we were lucky enough to get upgraded when we booked a few extra nights.....room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are a young couple traveling through Thailand for several weeks. We decided to stay in Koh Samui for a short-stay as we were coming from Koh Tao and heading to Koh Phi Phi in Phuket the following day.

I had come across Penzy Guesthouse through TA and decided to book one night here as we planned to fly out of Koh Samui and this place was not too far from the Airport and also centrally located around Chaweng's main strip of shops and restaurants.

Pros:
- It is located further south along the main strip, but just far enough from the main drag to avoid all the noise and bustle from the late night goers.
- Dave, Penzy's husband, was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to eat and go visit during our stay. He also allowed us to extend our check-out since our flight did not leave until later in the day
- The rooms are clean and simple, just enough for a short stay.

Cons:
- Slightly overpriced with little to no ammenities provided (Shampoo, shower caps, etc)
- Steep stairwell to get up to your rooms with heavy luggage
- Walls are thin and you can hear late night partiers coming back. We had to wake up to knock on their door asking them to quiet down.

Overall, it met the needs for our short stay, just keep in mind some of these things if you plan to stay here.

Room Tip: Request higher floors and see if you can avoid having young & loud neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although I have rated the hotel as poor this is no reflection on Penzy and her thai staff, they were both friendly, professional and very helpful.

My main issue was the price, I know it was new year but 1700 baht a night for a room that doesn't come with breakfast, shampoo or drinking water to brush my teeth with is a bit of a joke to be honest.

I have stayed at 400 baht beach huts that had drinking water.

My next small issue was the male member of staff at the hotel, he was a bit over friendly, almost like staying with me dad. He asked where were going when ever we went out and felt the need to give his opinion on everything we said.

For example they hire scooters but he felt the need to tell me how dangerous the roads are and how many people die on them. Thanks for that now I feel really confident.

The hotel was clean and did come with towels so its not all bad but given the choice I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domrongsak P, Owner at Penzy Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi, You would have stayed in Samui during Peak Season and during Peak Season every hotel/guest house raises their prices. I'm sure that 400 baht beach hut you mentioned you stayed at (definitely not in Samui) would have raised their prices also. The male member of my staff you are referring to is not actually on my staff, he's my husband. Sorry you somehow felt offended that he was being overly friendly and offering some advice about motorbikes. I've tried to tell him to be grumpy and quiet but he won't listen ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice hosts and good rooms. Bathroom are a bit basic and could do with some selves etc. fresh towels everyday although they smell of damp. Location is ideal, 20 min walk or short taxi to the craziness of the strip but far away enough to have some palace. Very close to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Cery good host that will always be there is you need them. Very clean room that get clean every day. The location is not the best bu is ok. The staff will help you to book tours, scuba diving etc. IThe rooms are nog very big but the bed is compfortablle

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penzy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penzy Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.