We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful people and a nice accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penzy Guesthouse

Penzy Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Penzy Guesthouse to your Saves list
Penzy Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 62 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Vlissingen, Zeeland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful people and a nice accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Its all what you need. David, the host, is a very nice person and helps you out if you have a question. You really get the feeling that he wants to talk to you for a nice conversation and wants to help you to have a great vacation in Thailand. The location isn't the best location you can have. But with a short walk of 5 minutes you can go trough a hotel to the beach. The other walks are a bit longer, but there are loads of cabs. So not really a problem. Everyday you get a clean towel and they clean up your room (for a guesthouse?!?), very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    25
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
34
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Good location, you do have to go through other hotels to go to the beach but if you say your visiting the bar then this is not a problem.
Rooms were good.
Best thing were the staff, could not have been more pleasant and helpful for us. Would definately stay again

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Penzy Guesthouse. Penzy was so unbelievable helpful and friendly. She helped us find and book everything that we were looking for on the islands, including our scuba courses, boat rides, etc. She even helped us negotiate prices with some diving companies. Our room was very comfortable as well, and tastefully decorated. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Our room had air conditioning and was in the same building as the main reception so we had wifi! If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The location is kinda far away, but still in walking distance.
The couple is nice and friendly..
They helped us to book a service to surat thani airport, we had to leave early since it was early flight. Thank you for helping us to book for that service.

Room is just nice, I like the balcony thought :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The owners, especially the American husband (sorry, I forgot his name), were very nice and welcoming. However, after reading all the positive reviews, we found the place rather disappointing, with a lot of the cons not being mentioned:

-Location. Quite a far walk (at least 20 minutes) to get to some more central place on Chaweng and even further if you wanna get to the bar area.

-Bathroom: There was some sort of mold on the door and barely any water came out of the tap (it was almost impossible to wash our hands)

-Bus: The owners organized our transport to the ferry ride to Koh Phangan.
The very old bus was overbooked (passengers had to stand in the aisle with their backpacks) and then the A/C stopped working. The bus ride soon turned into a sauna.
It obviously isn't their fault, but they could have informed us what kind of ride we should expect, as for almost the same price we could have gotten a comfortable taxi ride.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I gave this guesthouse a terrible review mostly for the actions of the owner, Penzy. I booked a room for two nights on Hostelworld and upon arriving wanted to cut my stay to one night. She forced my party of 3 to pay for two nights in cash, even though her page on the the Hostelworld website says: "This property has a 1 day cancellation policy. "
http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.php/Penzy-Guesthouse/Koh-Samui/25151#availability
Later, she talked about how she liked traveling to the US so she could buy things, use them for 25 days, and then return them before the 30 day limit (so you get a sense of the ethics of the owner). Penzy also took all our cash but cancelled our reservation to prevent us from leaving a mixed/negative review on Hostelworld, so watch out for review manipulation by this guesthouse.

Positive things about the hostel: Clean and quiet rooms, fairly cheap for expensive Koh Samui (though the nearby Jungle Club was MUCH better and more impressive). Penzy's husband was thoughtful and helpful.

Negative things about the hostel (besides the owner Penzy's business ethics): No easy beach access - you have to sneak into other hotel's beaches and then they won't allow you to use beach chairs (not even for paid access!), so you lie on the beach next to beach hawkers trying to sell you things. Also, the guesthouse is on the main Chaweng strip, which is the definition of a tourist trap (4 fake Armani stores and constant harassment to attend Muay Thai boxing matches).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenzyGuesthouse, Owner at Penzy Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Ok, many complaints with us, other stores, and beach hotels so let me address what I can:
The period that you booked for was for a minimum of 2 nights. The website that you booked through stated that and would not allow one to book for less than 2 nights. Because you checked out a day early the booking was cancelled on the website so that the room could be reallocated and sold again. If we could have sold the room we would have refunded the one night to your credit card; however, we could not sell the room on such short notice. The part about me travelling to America and buying things only to return them after using them is quite silly. Think of it, spending thousands of dollars on airfare and hotel (27 nights) just to buy something in order to return it. As far as beach access, it’s a few minutes away. Sorry that the beach hotels didn’t rent you beach chairs (they always have for our other guests). Sorry you didn’t like all the suit stores. Sorry that you didn’t like the people on the beach selling things. Happy that you liked the Jungle Club, it is a very nice hotel situated in the Mountains of Samui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I really like my stay at Penzy guesthouse most of all because the couple who runs it were really helpful. The room was clean, had a AC and DVD player and the guesthouse was not far away from the beach and a lot of restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penzy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penzy Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.