We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaweng Garden Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chaweng Garden Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162/8 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I recently stayed at Chaweng Garden for 6 days and I can only repeat what many others already commented before. Great and very convenient location, nice beach, good food BUT a lot of noise coming from the planes and bars around (which didn't really bother me), lots of mosquitoes and the rooms need an urgent "touch-up". I stayed at a Garden bungalow, the TV was like 20 years old (which was not very convenient since the World Cup was on :-) ), bathrooms need some renovation and the bed was a bit hard. Also the room didn't have any kind of closet which is also strange since you don't really want to live out of a suitcase for a whole week. Overall I would say an average resort which is fine for a few days but I probably wouldn't stay there again for 6 days or more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    142
    49
    18
    21
See reviews for
63
117
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I choose this resort after carefully studying the reviews, my wife and I were here for 3 nights earlier this month.

The Pros:
- Great location, in the middle of all the restaurants, pubs, shopping etc
- Good access to the beach
- 2 properties from Ark bar (no disturbance though)
- Excellent breakfast spread

The Cons:
- Grumpy staff
- The property needs to be shut for renovation urgently
- Overpriced in terms of the amenities
- The AC water leaked and when I called the room service, this guys came and cleaned the water off the floor and left !! Haha..
- Mr. Chai at the sea side restaurant actually shouted at me as I had written the wrong room number in the bill at the time of signing, like I intended to cheat, inspite of my name etc being right. He insisted I sign a blank bill, afterwards which I refused. His body language would put any Thai Boxer to shame.
- Bht 2000 deposit (after 100% upfront payment) for the key - check out the pic of the key !!) or surrender one passport. This was the first time I did this anywhere in SE asia.
- The TV did not have half the channels advertised & it was the old box
- The AC controller (I am sure you will understand from the pic)
- I had to not look up during the shower (I am sure you will understand from the pic)

All in all a decent place for a lower price as there are so many options around the same area. Also the staff hospitality has a long way to go !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very tied old property needs a bit of work. Staff good check in and out no fuss. Feels like you are really staying at the beach sand paths etc. Stormy nights door banging, bed is very hard. You get what you pay for. Not sure if rating is deserved. Breakfast is just OK.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from restaurant probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you want to be in the midst of the action, this place is great. The beach is beautiful, but lots of salespeople walking up & down the beach. The water though is AWESOME. You are close to the shops and restaurants and bars so if you want to be near it all, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

we took the standart room, it was dark, no windows at all. no hot water in the shower. the bed is so old that you feel holes in your back. the air conditioner didnt work well. dirt under the bed including old bottles.

in conclusion we have been in many hotels in samui for a much lower price and received a much better room. this room was too expansive and not worthy at all.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Two friends and I stayed in a triple room at chaweng garden for three nights. It is a beautiful hotel surrounded by gardens and a great location on the beach. Rooms were very clean and modern, breakfast was delicious and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It was my friends birthday and the staff helped us organise a surprise cake for her whilst we had dinner on the beach! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Our favourite part of Chaweng Garden resort was definitely the pool! It was incredible! The massage ladies were also great. Staff were fantastic as was the buffet breakfast. Located on a very beautiful & happening part of the beach & on the other side a buzzing part of town. The only slight down side for us was the distant party music from the neighbouring Ark bar during the night. The bathroom was a bit damp smelling but otherwise the facilities were great. Would return just for the pool!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaweng Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Garden Beach Resort

Address: 162/8 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaweng Garden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort is owned by a local Koh Samui family. The piece of land which the resort stands has been passed down for around three generations now. There fore you'll find real Samui hospitality here. Our resort emphasizes simplicity with a taste of Samui culture. Our concept is to maintain a simple feeling……a feeling like this is your second home. We feel that all our guests are part of our family.We are situated in the center of shopping, nightlife and restaurants. Everything is within a walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chaweng Garden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Gardens Beach Hotel Koh Samui
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaweng Garden Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.