We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacularly cool but service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Library

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Library to your Saves list
The Library
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Spectacularly cool but service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The theme of the hotel really is brilliant and the rooms were so spacious, luxurious and very very cool. Excellent location in the heart of chaweng and the beach is beautiful! As was the lovely red pool.

However for the price you're paying I feel the staff could have been more accommodating. They seemed keen to remind us that things would cost extra for example when we were 10 minutes late for breakfast. Also there weren't many beds on the beach and at happy hour when it was busy the staff didn't help find us a seat so we ended up at a different bar! I think they need to invest in more sunbirds for the beach!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    73
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
156
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotel I have every stayed at. I stayed twice, one time on the first floor and one time on the ground floor. Both floors are good. The first floor has a balcony with sunbeds and the groundfloor has a sort of a room you can turn into an indoor or an outdoor room. The beach is fantastic and please also enjoy the happy hour. There is a really smart thinking with using the sunbeds during the day and turning them into lounge chairs during the night. The food is absolutely amazing in the restaurant as I don't fancy the rice and sauce typical thai food on the streets. Good wine. Nice breakfast and the staff is so friendly. We stayed for a weekend both of the times and the first time we did not go outside the hotel area. My son of 5 years loved this. I hope I can go back some day.

Room Tip: The hotel area has one road in the middle running towards the seaside. If possible, choose the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a wonderful trip in Thailand and one of the spots was Samui.
We chose The Library because had a wish for intimate cosy minimalist-style honeymoon.

Hotel is really overpriced, guys!
Even though I previously contacted the hotel directly by email, and they offered me their "best rate". Rooms really need renovation and look a bit depressive sometimes. Strange bath stopped working fom time to time. But we loved good huge loofah sponges.
Choice of pillows is really good idea! Alot of them!
We also loved low wide bed, but bed for two actially has 2 split mattress, so if you are small, can fall between them.
Once or twice we felt real smell of canalization from air conditioning system :(

Coctails in the Gallery are really nice and creative.
Beach is not really intimate, all hotels and beach clubs just stand "wall-to-wall", however they have a small terrace in front of the beach.
Staff is really kind and helpful, as many Thai people, but some of them need to improve their English.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We decided to stay on a different part if the island as we felt chaweng is really too crowded for us but we were curious to see this hotel. Amazing people and service! We tried drinks on a few nights and the restaurant one night, always great! Great contemporary style!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Library is like an oasis in the Bophut area. Entering the resort you can feel the quietness and the feeling of vacation. The red swimming pool becomes the icon of this resort. Staffs are so helpful anywhere and you feel like you are being taken care of very well. Room is spacious with a Mac inside helping me to check basic email and read some news. Bed is a bit hard for me but it was okay. Bathroom was clean and also spacious. Got to be in Drink Gallery at the front of the resort where you can enjoy any kind of drink and just relax in a contemporary feel. In the morning, breakfast was excellent! I like this small resort. Nothing too fancy, just as it is. It's just unique!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Popped in for lunch today while out in town.

This place stands out from the crowd with a smart contemporary feel, pleasant helpful staff and delicious food.

The menu is an easy to read but plentiful size, with plenty to offer everyone.

Drinks are plentiful and you can choose from beer, wine, cocktails and spirits.

Pleasant music playing throughout our visit which was at a perfect volume to hear it and also be able to talk without screaming at each other.

The bill was a little steep but nothing was hidden so expect to get what you pay for.

My only negative is that the seats we had were not the most comfortable. However, the sofas in the window looked modern and comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've stopped by one nigth just for a drink. That was one of my best nigth in city! The atmosphere is sublime, interior design well curated with unique piece of forniture. Cocktail amazing and well prepared, alcholic and not alcholic. Ofte you can also listen to live good music and enjoy your staying. Price are ok for a place like this: 5/7 € for a drink. A must seen place. Belive me!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Library

Address: 14/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Library 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library is a stunning conceptual hotel built in a semi-minimalist architectural design, located at the heart of Chaweng Beach. Shaped by the hands of an island local who was inspired by books and a simple lifestyle philosophy, the property has now become an international icon of style and was recently recognized by Tripadvisor as the number one trendiest hotel in Thailand (2012).The Library offers its guests a total of 26 unique accommodations in the form of Exotic Suites located on the ground floor, Smart Studios on the upper levels, and a new ultra-luxurious unit called the Bookmark which is set to launch by October 2012. Interspersed with age-old trees and various works of art, The Library and its surroundings boast a balance of nature and culture. Interiors bathed in a minimalist palette are completed with modern facilities such as 42-inch plasma screen televisions, iPod touch, and iMAC computers with high-speed Internet connection. True to the belief that a perfect holiday equals an opportunity to enjoy one good novel, guests are invited to browse through the well-curated collection of books at The Lib, which gives The Library its distinctive name. An award-winning restaurant called The Page is also open for all-day dining, and the new Drink Gallery whips up an artistic blend of good food, warm vibes and the island’s most fantastic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Library reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Library Hotel Bophut
Library Koh Samui
Library Hotel Koh Samui
The Library Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.