We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Briza Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Briza Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Briza Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   173 /22 Moo 2 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We visited the Briza Resort and Spa for two times and want to come there again. It have several advantages: on of them in my opinion is location in the begining of Chaweng beach. Hotel has its own private beach with very good massage service and it's only ten minutes walk from Chaweng center with all bars and restaurants.
Very helpfull staff and beautifull villas. Accommodation prices are very reasonable.

Also visit Thai cooking classic - you'll find many interesting advises in cooking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Porada S, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you so much N+E, I enjoyed having you as guests as well. Our Thai Cooking Class was so much fun and I hope you took the skills with you to make a Thai Romantic Night dinner at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    149
    57
    29
    41
See reviews for
74
240
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel is at the quieter end of the beach, so you can escape from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng Beach. Although it's only 10 minutes walk either along the beach or the main road to a great range of restaurants and shops. The resort is very nice. Each bungalow is very private and has lots of space. Lovely big bathroom. The splash pool was very welcome, as it was extremely hot some days. The ideal way to cool off! Staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. (Gold star for Paul!) Breakfast was good. Wide selection of food and nice location. Great massage parlour just opposite the hotel!

The hotel is, however, more 4 star than 5. Although the cottages are lovely, the room service was a bit off and on. Some days/evenings things were forgotten. The turn down service (with mosquito spray) did not happen some nights. There is quite a lot of noise at night - general wildlife (very loud frogs!!), fireworks going off and music from the beach), but this is not the hotel's fault. Wherever you stay on this stretch of beach, there will be noise at night. Just take some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper!

Overall, this is a lovely resort. Great for couples. Not ideal if you have kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Porada S, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you so much L & T. I am so glad you had a wonderful time with us. It was a pleasure having you as guests in our resort. I enjoyed our talks every morning also :)

Thank you about the comments about the turndown service. I will use it to improve the quality of our services. I hope you can join us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed in the plunge pool room which looks amazing and very romantic!
The Resort is well laid out and the rooms are spacious.
Although, There were bed bugs in our bed which I had to spray every night. Locks on the rooms are no means of security, they can still be opened even when 'locked'.
Housekeeping was not existant, we were called once to see if we wanted our room cleaned, I asked for new towels and they did not know what I was saying so we were using our supplied beach towels. The jacuzzi was filthy which was not used once.
Room service did not collect dirty plates, they had to be called or had more ordered to take time away.
Little beachfront which looks very dirty, further to the left is very clean.
Reception were friendly but did not follow up the weather for the week and call like promised which prohibited organization.
Very quiet resort, quite lifeless, no staff to serve at the pool bar, the bar or the beach front which left us no choice to go elsewhere.
Maintenance staff were very friendly and appeared hardworking.
If this can all be fixed and promote to target young adults this will put some life into the place.
Hopefully my boss has a more present experience in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Porada S, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments N. I deeply and sincerely apologize for your bad experiences. We will use your comments to improve the service of our staffs. We will make sure that your boss's stay will be a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Cervo, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at this resort from the 3 jan to the 5 jan 2012, we cut the stay short as the hotel was so bad.
hand basin was in the bedroom and had connection only for cold water.
we had a room with pool access this was a room with the pool at waist level to the veranda, a nice idea if it were not for the kids and adults playing ball in the pool all day and jumping in and out of our private? veranda. told the staff twice and no effect.
the hotel is split in two with a traffic road in the middle useless if you have chirldren.
we had an electric motor keeping us awake all night and despite having a fight with the manager on two occasions nothing was done the management could not care less. They have your money and thats all that is important to them.
In the shower the soap was in a glass tray I have never seen any thing more dangerous.
The chain door lock we could not use as the first time we tried it took 5 minutes to get the chain off -great if there is a fire.
in short do not bother going to this hotel there are many nicer in the area.
we tried to down grade to another room but the price they asked for downgrading was about the same price as we had paid. after two nights we left and lost the cost of the third night

Room Tip: do not choose a pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Porada S, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The Briza Management team would like to extend our apologies to you and your traveling partners. We will use the comments to improve our services in the future. Please accept our sincerest apologies from all of us at the Briza Samui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I travel a lot and are generally quite accepting of minor travel irritants that are a part of travelling. However, our experience at Briza was so poor that I feel compelled to write this review. At $300 a night, this place is not cheap. The property is well laid out and the rooms are spacious. It goes downhill from this point on. Housekeeping is non-existent; we had to make multiple calls to plead to have the rooms cleaned. We were luckier; our traveling companions did not have their room cleaned even once! There were bed bugs to deal with, no hot water for three days, and broken plumbing. It was impossible to communicate with hotel staff as hardly any staff member could speak in English. Towels were torn, plates and cutlery never picked up after meals despite calls to housekeeping. The property has a TINY Beachfront that all but disappears during high tide, but never cleaned. The neighboring private beaches were cleaned every morning and Briza's tiny beach stood out as dirty. 70% of the beach chairs were broken and guests lay on them at strange angles. The resort lacked the concept of "service". Although we had paid upfront for 7 days, the hotel front desk had decided to check us out a day earlier and had booked the room for another guest. When we advised them that they had made a mistake, instead of addressing that problem gracefully, they told us " we cannot help you as we already have assigned that room to the next guest". Then they wanted to charge us $80 for a key that broke as we had attempted to unlock our room. All of these issues did get ultimately get resolved, but only after considerable effort was expended. The property manager was great and we always ended up asking for him. If it were not for him, we would have been at our wits end. I will also note that the staff are very nice and hardworking, but Briza is fundamentally lacking in services that one rightly expects at this price point. The issue is not the staff on the ground, but training and policies. I will not recommend Briza to any friend of mine traveling to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Porada S, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi Manish and Sonika,

This is Paul from the Briza Samui. I am so sorry that you felt that strongly about the bad experiences that happen during your stay. I am not writing to give any excuses, but I just wanted you both to know that I am truely and sincerely sorry. My staff and the management team extends their apologies. I just wanted you to know that I tried my hardest to correct everything that went wrong. You saw me every day since dawn to late late night. Please find it in your heart to forgive us.
Paul
EAM Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Very good hotel in an awesome location, local girls and staff are hot!!! Although in saying that there is a lady joiner fee of 3000 baht, which is probably the only downer, but for me it was a very big downer.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Porada S, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you so much for spending time with us. I am glad you had a great time. The Loy Krathong event was a lot of fun. I hope to see you and your friends again on your next trip to Samui. I will see to it that you won't be charged for a joiner fee on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Briza is excellent for families, especially if you want a room that is split from the kids, i.e. upstair and downstairs. While is was a little further away from the hussel and bussel of Chewang Beach, the tuk tuk was only 2 minutes away for 100B. Having the pool at our front door was awesome, the food was very good (highly recommend the omlette for brekky with a bit of chilly!), and Paul is the person that made us feel the most comfortable and welcome! The team at the front desk were great and our little man loved them... Thanks Briza!

Room Tip: Go the split level suites... i think there is only 7 of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Porada S, Manager at The Briza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words guys. Everyone here misses you and the little guy very much. I hope everything is okay with everyone. Love to see you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Briza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briza Beach Resort

Address: 173 /22 Moo 2 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Briza Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
”Briza Beach Resort, Srivijaya in Samui” Inspired by the great Srivijaya Empire, which flourished along the shores and among the islands of Southeast Asia a few centuries ago, the resort is a haven of ease and tranquility. Here, on idyllic Samui Island, The Briza recaptures the spirit of Srivijaya, the lightness and grace of its art, the security and serenity that springs from a civilization moulded by the gentle Buddhist faith. This heritage of a rich and glorious culture is complemented by the splendour of nature. Set against a lush backdrop of palms and forested hills are Samui’s superb white sandy beaches and quiet coves bathed by the clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand. All is a wondrous celebration of the exotic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Briza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briza Beach Resort And Spa
Briza Beach Hotel Koh Samui
Briza Beach Koh Samui
The Briza Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Briza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.