We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thats not what i payed for...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chaweng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Resort and Spa
Save
You added The Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162/21 Moo2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thats not what i payed for...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I understand that I'm on a tropical Island and right on the beach but the standard of this place was well below avarage.
While it pretty much rained the whole time my partner and I payed about $70.00 aus per night and were given a crappy little room which had 2 single beds pushed together. They were sitting in the middle of the room as there was usually a bed side table seperating the beds but because it was glued to the floor they pulled the bed away from the wall to put them together.
The bathroom was tiny and dirty and the toliet was in the shower and there was no shower curtain. So if you showered the toilet would get all wet as well as the entire floor of the bathroom... so if you needed to use the toliet you had to dry it everytime.

Unhappy with the room we asked to see a private hut which was closer to the beach. This had a seperate shower but it was covered in grime and mold and looked as though it has never seen bleach before, as the toilet wasnt in the shower we took the room and paid an extra $13.00 aus a night... which brings our total to $83.00 aus per night. The room was also swarming with mosquitos and i had to go on a killing spree before bed everynight out of fear of being bitten and catching malaria.

Now if we were paying about $20.00 a night for this room i wouldnt care that it was dirty because thats what you pay for... but $83.00 a night is just a joke and ive stayed at budget places that are way cleaner than this dump!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    87
    44
    37
    18
See reviews for
6
28
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We departed on our trip to The Island resort with some trepidation because of the negative comments on trip adisor about the resort. Well I'd like all of those ungrateful, spoilt brats to wake up and smell the roses.....for the price you pay there, what on earth do you expect - 5 star???? We thought the place was absolute paradise, clean rooms,friendly staff who bend over backwards for their guests - even running to the nearest store to buy their hotel guests Jack Daniels to drink at the resort bar - that is service!!! Unbelievable breakfast, beautiful gardens and swimming pool and close to all shopping and bustling nightlife - for a bit of everything all in one - the Island resort is the place to stay - rustic, warm and NOT 5 star which is what you pay for!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Firstly, I'd like to say that thiis not a bitter review of this establishment, as the staff were actually okay, if not helpless.
this review is about the sheer gravity abnd disgustingness of the accommodation

I hope the pictures i post can only do it justice, (when you see lizards in your hotel room, you gotta take a picture of it).

So here we go:

having paid 1699 Bart (Thai money - Baht) for this place, i booked the room for 4 nights, having been lured by the attractive pictures on booking.com

The reality is - The rooms are unbelievably poor, and dirty...so much so, that i am up in the hotel lounge at 4:am writing this review because i CAN NOT sleep in this room.

i booked the 'deluxe bungalow' for 1699 simpsons (Baht). and after a long ferry and drive, i was expecting luxury.

What I got, when i opened the rickety door was far from it. The place was festering with Mosquitos and other bugs...


My first impressions were the main door - a cheap plywood 'front door' - the sort one would by from B&Q or other DIY store for an internal bedroom door - this was used as the main front door, and posed a serious security risk. The door was actually rotting so one discreet kick to the door could easily allow a burglar to enter.

There is a big gap between the front door and the floor - so creepy crwalies came in undertneth the door... Cockroaches - BIG cockroaches !

The mini bar is extortionate to extreme, (as mini bars are) but the main complaint is they charge you for simple bottled drinking water (there is no tap for drinking water, so they make more money by charging you to drink the bottled water from your hotel mini bar)

Security is a nightmnare. do NOT leave your stuff in this place. The room 'safe' is a joke! a rickety rusty old thing which if locked, one cannot be sure it will ever open again.

The bathroom was disgusting, cobwebs everywhere, and there were these wooden slats/air vents near the ceiling which, with the humidity and moisture were rotting, it is these air vents that the mosquitos got through, and also a Monitor Lizard


Bed sheets were stained and dirty. THe TV is an big old-fashioned box with dodgy reception and no international tv channels (which for an international hotel is very bad!).

everythigns i hate about his place:

- no free internet (100 Baht, and even then it is still slow!(
- cannot bring a guest/friend back to the hotel, despite booking room for 2.
- Big bay windowsa and cheap nasty curtains make it easy for anyone to look in your room.
- beach area is disgusting
when querying with the receptionist and asking to speak to the manager, the manager said 'There is nothing i can do about it'.

Well, Mr Manager, if i hope you are reading this, as i will show that there is something i can do about it - by warning fellow travelers of the real condition of your hotel, posting pictures of the condition of this place, and let prospective customers vote with their feet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed at The Island for 6 nights , the hotel & resort is very shabby and in need of some major refurbishment....not worth the 30 english pounds per night i paid. Breakfast was very poor limited myself to toast & cup of tea. Used the dressing gown provided one night and when i took out of the bag it was in it smelled terrible as though it had never been out since the hotel had opened. Had a big strip light outside my room that was on untill about 4 or 5 in the morning which lit the room up so hardly any sleep and the bathroom was very shabby with a very cheap shower .
On a good side was ideally locatedfor nightlife & amenities .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I always approach my new accommodation with great expectations & this one was the same. I booked on the internet and price was ok. The gardens, resort area, location, food and resort amenities were great, however my room (superior bungalow) did not match the standard! The safe was old key safe and tiny. Having a key is not convenient on holidays especially when replacement of a lost key is about $100 AUD The bed was ok, good size but the front door was not. It had gaps around that allowed mosquito's in (see picture) the bathroom was of very poor standard and not clean(again see pictures)

Enough of the bad, now for the good! Location was excellent. Very close to nightlife and some great eateries. A market right at your front door, 7/11 a little way up the street, great outdoor coffee bar directly across the road. Close to many of the awesome Thai massage places and abundance of food vendors who stroll along the beach. The resort restaurant was great but i only ate breakfast there (included in my hotel price). I prefer to eat in the smaller local restaurants as I like the Thai food there more. The staff were fantastic and security was great. If you had a guest stay they had to check id in at front gate with guard and there was no problem. The Resort is located right near the start of the one way street and very close to walk to many of the bars & nightlife. Its absolute beachfront which is great for sun baking but the water in this location is inside the breakwater wall. When tide is out the water is extremely low, not deep enough to swim in but the main beach is ok & swimable. The water in this area also maintained a very high temperature whilst i was there. Outside was 30 celcius, in the water was 33 celcius. The main beach is about 5- 8 mins pleasant walk along the foreshore.

Samui is by far one of the best islands, its "real" unspoilt thailand and the people are fantastic. This was my second trip to Samui (first staying at Maenam) and will definately return.

I would stay on the main beach next time ( not in the area enclosed by breakwater wall )

For you Aussies, this hotel was recently shown on Getaway 30/9/10

For singles, couples and families who want absolute beachfront at cheaper price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES(UK)
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Chose The Island Resort from comments on Trip Advisor, was working to budget for 9 days on Samui for 4 adults, The bungalows had all the basic requirements, but needed updating, they were looking tired, having said that, the staff, food, pool area, bar and location more than made up for any disappointments with the room, absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were sorry to be leaving at the end, not often we say that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights during our holiday in Thailand and were more than happy with what we paid for. The room was nice and clean, the staff were fiendly and helpful, took our luggage to our room, booked us a coach to the peir and rang us when our tour car had arrived. Loved the location, pool area is right on the beach and the surrounding bars/restaurants were excatly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Resort and Spa

Address: 162/21 Moo2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 6220
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Koh Samui
Island Hotel Koh Samui
The Island Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.