We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Quiet!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Island Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162/21 Moo2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

After 2 nights in Bangkok, my husband & I got a flight via Bangkok Airways to Koh Samui. Were made very welcome on arrival & provided with hot towels & drinks. Our bungalow was clean & made pretty with flowers etc... placed on the 7ft bed. A burner was burning essential oils & there were beveridge facilities/stocked up mini fridge/computer with full access to internet/social network sites etc.. There were both indoor & outdoor showers & a fair size balcony. The hotel is located at the end of a dirt track & is great for unwinding on the lovely beach & gardens. There are restaurants & shops in the vicinity, however, we hired bikes for 200baht a day from the hotel & explored the whole island. You can get the bikes a bit further up the lane for 50baht cheaper. The breakfasts were amazing & on the first morning, the food just kept on coming. The staff were all very friendly & could not do enough for you. No "tip" appears to be expected. There was no pressure from shop owners to purchase their goods as in some other countries. Fantastic massages can be arranged for in front of the beach/your room/salon etc...The masseuses appear to be well trained with impeccable manners. There is lots to do on the island. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms appear nice. Look on the internet for a half price "hot deal", as we would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    86
    44
    37
    18
See reviews for
6
28
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fót
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent six days the blue beach bungalow. The accommodation is clean, the breakfast is good, the beach is nice. Once a gecko found in the room :-)

Room Tip: Blue beach bungallow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

in front of chaweng beach and in the center of the town!value for money hotel!take bungalous...not superior room!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

Unfortunately we read the reviews after booking so hope you read it before.
There is nothing good I can say about this place besides the location and the nice beach next to it.
Stayed in so called "deluxe bungalow" for a 'super low' rate of 50% off for 'just' 1500 Bhat, not including breakfast and no free Internet! If you need those you'll end up spend over 2,000 baht / night and this just if you get the promotion,Wow what a deal!
The mattress is in very bad condition and smell very terrible so couldn't get a sleep at all, the bathroom small and disgusting and even the water was smell very bad.
Customer service is far from being good and not a standard thai service, one of the receptionist is always on phone and not really friendly, she'll give you a 'hand stop sign' when entering office and continue speak a friendly conversation by phone before willing to help u.
I won't recommend anyone stay at this place, for a little bit extra $ you can stay in beautiful resorts nearby like 'Dara Samui' or 'Chaweng Regent' which will also include free Internet and breakfast and if you're on low budget you can find much cheaper places and in better condition.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

There's quite a few bad reviews on here so I wanted to give a review of my experience of Island Resort and Spa.
We initially booked 2 nights in a standard room for £20 per night. It was really lovely but room was a bit dark. We upgraded to one of the bungalows for £30 per night. Bright, white, clean room with air con. Approx 50 metres from the sea. Bathroom not '5 star amazing', just standard shower but great for what we were paying! Room was cleaned thoroughly daily with clean towels left and bed made. The bed was very comfortable. Cable tv inc.
Reception very helpful. They even posted our postcards home for us.
Breakfast was a selection of breads, cereals, fruit, and whatever we wanted from the kitchen. It was 'all you can eat' style and was approx £5 each (which is cheaper than going to a cafe).
The pool was lovely and clean and great to cool off in. There is a shower next to the pool.
There's even a smaller pool for the little ones.
The bar does some cool cocktails with happy hour running until early eve. They did play a lot of The Eagles and Red Hot Chilli Peppers but this became the soundtrack to the holiday!
They have wifi that you have to pay for (can't remember how much but it was cheap) and they have internet in reception.
They also have safes in some rooms but they have lockers in reception for 20 baht every time you use it.
The Spa overlooks the beach and is quite basic offering about 10 different types of massages and pedicures and manicures. Massages start at approx £4 for AN HOUR!! It was lovely. The beds you lie on overlook the beach. The ladies are professional and very good.

Also, you're slap bang in the middle of Chaweng with everything you need on your doorstep.

My only issue with the holiday was how touristy the island was. I was imagining an island paradise full of tropical flowers and wild monkeys. In reality EVERYTHING that goes on on the Island is to serve the tourists and it can get tiresome.

In a nutshell... We had a great time on Koh Samui and this place was great to base ourselves from. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow - it's worth the few pounds extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at this property for 4 nights from 1st October. Let me describe you about this property in detail.

When we entered this property we were shocked to see there was no lobby or nothing. The reception was made in a hut on the gate and a very small one. After getting into it we were alloted our rooms the rooms was ok types not very great and the entire resort seemed to be empty. We requested for a free upgrade but the lady at reception was in no mood to give us as she knewed that 95% of the resort was empty.

All rooms were in cottage types and the was no building at all. Toilet was small and very ordinary. Airconditioning was good and the room was chilled everytime we enter.

The location of the resort was nice nd it was on beach only. You can go directly to beach at the end of the resort. The resturant and swimming pool was on the beach and it was sea facing. You can enjoy sea view from both restaurant and swimming pool. Swimming pool was not very big but it was cleaned but no shower beside pool.

Breakfast was really very bad. It was a la carte as resort was empty and the menu selection was also not very good. We had only juice fruits and breads. But the view from restaurant was nice. They should really think about the menu.

Location was good and happening place Green Mango was near by walking only. There is a seven eleven very near by.

Koh samui is a quiet place compared to other places in Thailand but it has it's own beauty.

Galaxy bar is the place you should go for. Amazing guyzz. You will feel as if you are in one of the Russian bars lol.

Overall I don't recomend this place to stay but if you want to just relax and don't need major attractions in hotel then it is ok.

For Indian Travellers there is one Indian restaurant Noori India. The food is ok types but in kohsamui you won't get better then that.

Massages are good and quality of masseurs are very nice compared to Phuket and pattaya. Lol. We enjoyed our four days stay in koh samui but I think we won't repeat this destination again.

If you want any more enquiries then you can mail me at sanchitagarwal@yahoo.com

Cheers and happy holidays !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

we stay just a night 2 superior room with 1 year baby room is ok got everything you need ,bed comftable ,cable tv works fine but bathroom is too tired ,there was kind of hole in the shower ...i mean the draining hold am so scare of some not invited animal out of that there are everything you need and everything work fine ,the worst thing about our room is ,its next to the house keeper room so they are so noisy talk loudly and all the banging but other room should be fine. swimming pool is nice good size ...beach is fantastic for chaweng its the quieter part .the location was perfect short walk to night like and far enought also therare lots of shops front of entrance anyway ...love the most is breakfast even better than some 4* i think and better that all hotel we stay in that trips many selections

Room Tip: not close to housekeeper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Resort and Spa

Address: 162/21 Moo2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 6220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Koh Samui
Island Hotel Koh Samui
The Island Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.