We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beachside paradise without the pricetag” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papillon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Papillon Resort to your Saves list
Papillon Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“beachside paradise without the pricetag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just spent 4 nights here, and everything was brilliant. We got upgraded to the premium sea front villa as the restaurant was undergoing renovations, (not sure why we got this bonus, but it was the 1st time we ever got a free upgrade so we were rapt), I am sure we would have been just as happy in the room we booked. It's located at the quite end of Chaweng beach, and it only takes 10 -15 mins to walk into the main town area (some people have said it was too far out but we didn't have any problems with the location at all, a nice walk before and after dinner helps work off all those extra cocktail calories) it was nice and quite for sleeping and relaxing. While it is ocean frontage there is only a tiny beach at low tide, but if you chuck your belongings in a dry bag you can walk or swim around the corner to have lunch on the main beach, the sea never gets higher than chest height, this was a 1st for us, we have never swum to the pub in our lives and we loved it!! The room was spotless, with everything you need, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we booked a scooter rental through the front desk (knowing full well it was 50 Baht more than on the street, but with the scam stories you hear we were happy to pay a little extra for less hassles), and the front desk organized our transfers back to Krabi (which worked out wonderfully). Breakfast had a variety of off the menu choices all of which were fine and the mini bar was reasonably priced. We never got charged for wifi, it was a little patchy from our room but if you went to the reception area it was fine ( I have been charged for wifi in other hotels and had to sit in the hallway under the signal and still got worse reception than here) the dogs were not an issue for us at all, they were all friendly and only barked at you of a night when you approached (just doing their job), but not in any sort of threatening way. The renovations were no issue at all for us ( you have to do them sometime, and low season is the obvious choice), I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, it was just lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    61
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
75
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If only this hotel was slighty closer to Chaweng then it would be almost ideal. If you just want somewhere to laze around then won't be a problem but it's a little too far out of town in order to pop back during the day. It may look walkable on a map but it isn't really - and those taxi fares do start to add up.

Otherwise, the resort is very peaceful and I slept better here than I did anywhere else on my trip around Thailand. The bungalow rooms are pretty much what you would expect at this price level in Thailand - fairly basic but perfectly adequate.

The other downsides were that the resort is currently a building side as they extend the restaurant and the owners allowed their dogs to roam the side which is quite disconcerting when you arrive back late and find them barking loudly at you. It was also disappointing for an hotel in this price range to charge for WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Ive stayed in the resort for 5 nights on August 2012.
The place is nice,the staff is very friendly and helpfull.
The room is nice ,a bit simple,we got a room with a second floor where the bed is, the downside is that the tv is downstairs.
Breakfast is nice too, many nice choices and the restaurant has nice choices during lunch and dinner too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 5 nights and it was great, the room was the best thing... Quiet efficient air con, fridge and comfy bed. The room was nicely furnished with enough 'nice things' to make it feel more comfortable than a generic hotel.
It was a bit more expensive than some of our other hotels at 1860THB/ night but it was clean, pleasant and breakfast included.

The breakfast is a choice of 6 options, the french breakfast I has each day consisted of a slice of toast, a croissant and a toasted piece of baguette with jams. The other options mainly involved meat and dairy which I don't eat. My partner had the American which had fried eggs, toast, and bacon and it looked ok, but the eggs seem a bit suspect as they generally come a bit too undercooked, with the white still very runny.

The loungers were lovely and plentiful, pool facing and beach facing with umbrellas. The pool was a bit small, a length was about 5 strokes, and the jacuzzi was a cosy fit for 4 people.

In all it was a lovely stay, we never ate there in the evening instead we walked into the centre of chaweng. Its an easy walk of about 1km to the main street. You can get a local bus (songtaew) in for about 50THB per person.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Papillon Resort for 3 nights, and loved our time there in Koh Samui! We stayed in one of the cute bungalows, and it was a room with some funky interior decorations and art work.

The hotel is run by French management, and the majority of the guests seemed to be French. The staff were excedingly friendly, and helpful to us for all of our needs; they arranged for a scooter rental for us, which was delivered promptly to our hotel.

The included breakfast was quite good, with a few different a la carte selections available. We had dinner there the first night, and enjoyed some yummy Thai dishes off of the menu which featured typical French fare as well as local Thai cuisine...

Overall, a great experience, and a lovely place to stay in a more quaint setting, rather than at one of the larger resorts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the papillon resort 5 times & every time was the same 1st class for the money plus the staff have become good friends & the manager Ning is the best I had my 50th birthday on samui & she worked very hard to make shore every one was looked after. I read some of the other reviews & all I can say is Wow what a great plase.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Papillon Resort during the last stage of our two weeks trip to Thailand. From the multiple readings and reasearch I made, it seemed like poeple agreed on Chaweng beach as the best, and the North part as more quiet but still close enough to the action. The Papillon Resort was great choice regarding location (although we are a young couple we avoid as much as possible very turistic areas). Although we did not start with the best foot when they did not go to pick us up at the airport as agreed, we were upgraded (without asking for it) to a superior room ( and they were there in 10 minutes as soon as we called, free of charge). The bungalow was very clean and comfy, with two floors and I must say a terrible bed (what seems to be normal in Thailand). Breakfast was nice but a bit small if you like eating properly in the mornings, with unlimited toasts but not the usual open bouffet we had seen so far everywhere else. Pool was small but fit for the purpose, and the beach view right in front was amazing (not very suitable for swimming, though). The hotel did not have many guests at the time we visited, but most of them were French and had a lot of fun hanging out there day and night. We rented a scooter for the 4 days we stayed and drove all over the island. If you are planning to move around you will need one, otherwise you will have to get taxis all the time or just stay at the Resort). We booked a daily trip thorugh the hotel to the natural marine park that ended up being a great experience. Despite of the ridiculously high prices in the island (this trip was double price as the Phi Phi islands, not to mention the diving, more than 100 Euros for 2 dives!!!!!) we decided to go for it and I must say it was great fun and beautiful scenary. I would recommend this Resort for those people not in strong budget that want to stay near the action but rest at night. Good, quiet place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papillon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Resort

Address: Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Papillon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Chaweng
Papillon Hotel Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papillon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.