We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good as any time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just good as any time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We are a Family with two kids and we enjoy our stay like any time!
The rooms in the superior Building are nice, clean spacy and very calm!
The Staff do anything to make our stay very pleasant! What a beautyful and nice and calm resort in the hearth of the busy and loud chaweng city...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    136
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
74
127
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our second stay at this resort. We booked for 2 families, and as the resort was fully booked, we did not get the deluxe bungalow we stayed in last time. This time we stayed in one of the superior rooms just behind the reception area. A bit away from the beach, but room large enough for our family of 4. Large bathroom with enough room for all our clothes. A small tv in the room, but we did not use it.
Only negative I can say about the place is that the beds are too firm, and its time to buy some new towels.
The rooms are abit worn, and but clean - which is most important. We do not spend much time in the room anyway.
The resort is just on the beach - perfect. It is in the last part of the beach where it is actually nice...further north the beach gets abit muddy.
Breakfast buffet had all we need - eggs in all kinds of shapes and mixes. juices, fruits, thai food, and some sweets of course.. Restaurant good location next to the beach.
The beach chairs is also abit worn, and some of them broken. Free beds both on the beach and around the pool area. Waiters from the restaurant came down the beach and served us both lunch and drinks during the day.
Spa - did not try, at is more expensive than the massage huts on the beach - which as always had perfectly good massages.
Pool, abit small, but ok when the kids need a break from the sea.
All in all - will be back! good value for money

Room Tip: prefer the deluxe villas - closer to the beach and probably newer than the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

When booking this 3 1/2 star resort we had geared ourselves up for a "very average" stay, after having stayed at a Boutique hotel the previous year, Well, we were very pleasantly surprised. It was over and abopve what we had anticpated. The grounds were lovely and kept immaculate. The pool area was great and never any problem of missing out on a lounge by the pool - or on the beach. The breakfast buffet was great - sometiomes hard to please teenagers (15,16 & 17) but they loved it. Also the buffet dinign area was over looking the beach was was just lovel each morning. We stayed in a "Sperior Building"room which was on the first floor - really nice. Balcony and you could have connecting rooms. Cleaned daily. Only thing I thought the mattress was a bit firm but we were only there a week. I think the main reason it was only 3 1/2 starrs was that they did not have free wi fi! That did not worry us and our kids just bought time for Facebook at reception! Would definately stay here again. Good location too and not noisy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Koh Samui was absolute heaven after the business of Patong and Baan Chaweng was as delightful as we could possibly have imagined. So so so pleased that we took the advice of a good friend and elected to stay more days in Koh Samui (particularly Chaweng) than in Patong Phuket. The absolute beach-front location on the picturesque golden sand beach of Chaweng, the scrumptious breakfasts overlooking the blue sea, the extensive and delicious dinner menu, the free entertainment provided by the fabulous Thai musicians and dancers on Saturday evenings at the restaurant, the immaculate tropical gardens surrounding the rooms, the beautiful pool and ample sunbeds for all, the exceptionally close proximity of #1 massage therapy 'on the beach' (right at the steps from Baan Chaweng pool to the beach) and the extremely polite and professional staff - made our holiday in Chaweng one we will never forget!! Good weather is definitely a key ingredient to a magical holiday but all the a fore mentioned points added the icing to the cake. My husband, I and our three adult children (25,23 and almost 21) all thoroughly enjoyed a RELAXING and FUN holiday. We will DEFINITELY be back!!!! A HUGE Thank you to Baan Chaweng Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 304 and 305 right up front near the pool and opposite the dining facilities. My h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Baan Chaweng. We had interleading rooms in the Superior Building and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. The bathroom was spacious with a nice big shower. Having read reviews about possible noise from fireworks, music and overhead planes, I had warned the family what to expect. It did not bother us at all. The air traffic is infrequent and we seldom were disturbed by loud music from the Ark Bar. The breakfast had everything we enjoy eating and despite the hotel being quite full, there were seldom queues. The staff were all very friendly. We never struggled to get loungers when we wanted them. This hotel is brilliantly situated on a beautiful part of the beach and we found it brilliant for people-watching. The swimming pool was also a bit bigger than I had expected based on the photographs. We moved to another part of Koh Samui (Tongsai) for the second part of our holiday and our whole family missed Baan Chaweng very much. We will definitely book here again when we return - and this time for our whole stay. The children (11 and 14) loved being so close to the markets, shopping on the beach and watching the jetski action.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

With a family of 6 and a need for inter-connecting rooms, our choices were limited for our holiday in Koh Samui. This hotel was great, from pick up at airport to check out. Our rooms were fairly basic but clean and balcony area was lovely, bed firm and comfy. Breakfast was good, nothing like looking over the beach on a beautiful morning in Koh Samui while eating breakfast. We ate in the restaurant on the beach a couple of nights as food and drink prices were pretty good, food was lovely too . The hotel is in a great area to just stroll out and shop and be amongst things but was quiet and tranquil in our rooms, although we did hear fireworks often. The 3 yr old didn't wake so that was fine :) Staff were great. Only negatives of our stay is no free wifi and pool lounger hoggers..people who think its ok to leave towels on loungers in the morning and return in the afternoon to their so called 'booked' loungers, oh that was frustrating but probably hard for the hotel to control. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich norfolk gt britain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

found the staff very helpful littlle cabins with verandas very clean,yhe breakfast was great plenty to eat right on the beach staff loked after me good and the food in the resturant was excellent and cheap and the resort is right in town really handy for shopping and a good choice of resturants,overall good location good food nice staff

Room Tip: all the rooms are in good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chaweng Beach Hotel Chaweng
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort And Spa
Baan Chaweng Beach Bophut
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.