We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and even better location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value and even better location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed at Baan Chaweng for 7 nights in early June after coming from Lipa Noi on the other side of the Island. We stayed with friends and we had about 5 or 6 rooms altogether.

We found the hotel on Agoda.com and got a great nightly rate (from memory, it was about $75 per night for a double room). The rooms are well appointed, clean and include evrything you need. Rooms are made up daily. The rooms are located in a lush tropical garden and there are balcony rooms as well as private villas. The resort is right on the beach front and you can see the beach from the pool area. The pool is clean, warm and never too busy - most people preferring to swim in the crystal clear ocean waters! The beachfront is one of the better beach spots in Chaweng - the water is crystal clear and beautifully warm.
Breakfast is included - a great spread of western and Thai food. Absolutely no complaints on that front.
For the price, the hotel is absolutely fantasic. We would definately stay again and would recommend this resort in an instance. The staff have been very helpful.
Location is A-grade. The resort is located right in the thick of the action only a 2 minute walk from the very popular Ark bar and Green Mango. Despite it's central location, the resort is surprisingly quiet. The clubs pump music all night, but we have not been able to hear anything from our room. What more could you want!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are more private & more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    136
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
74
127
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa had plenty of good points but also had a few not so good points.
Rooms were always clean and well presented. Breakfast was nice but not special. The gardens looked to be well maintained giving a natural feel.
Maybe the best part was the location, all the shopping, restaurants and coffee shops you could want if that's what you desire. The hotel location for me was the beach. Right on it with plenty of lounge beds for your use. The beach here is very shallow and flat so it would be great for families with children.
The pool was always clean but a bit on the small side.
Out on the beach they had 4 off the ground structures were you could comfortably lay and enjoy a massage. We had one every day at a reasonable cost of 300 baht for one hour.
For the not so good points which by the way is a personal thing that may not be a concern for you.
Fireworks, seems that the Baan Chaweng Resort & Spa enjoys fireworks on the beach every night. That's ok but they let them off at any random time up to 11pm. Because they're so close it scares the heck out of you when you've just nodded off to sleep. They are loud.
The other thing was that you are directly below the flight path from the airport, we got used to that but don't expect a sleep in.
So to summarize I'd say it's probably worth the money, it is what they advertise it is but for me I there's plenty of other hotels to try before returning here.
As far as recommending this hotel to a friend it would depend on their budget and what they liked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights after been backpacking to the Islands outside Koh Samui.

The hotel in itself is nice but not really worth the money. I've been travelling to Thailand 4 years in a row and mostly stayed in bungalows at the beach that cost 1/4 of this hotel and that's more my style . It is a very busy hotel and you are greeted everywhere by the staff which at times can be a little too much. Even before setting the foot into the restaurant in the morning the staff yells "Goooooood morning, Sawadee Kaaaaa" and serves you coffee before you have had time to get any food (resulting in a cold coffee when returning from the buffet).

The pool is small and surrounded by trees so it is very often in the shadow. The sunbeds on the beach are also under trees and it is not allowed to move the sunbeds further out on the beach so you only get a couple of hours in the sun during the morning. Also, it is a battle each morning to get a sunbed. Seemed like some had an agreement with the waiters working on the beach, because towels where laid out on the best sunbeds from early morning and reserved for people who woke up and came to the beach at around 11. Extremely annoying!!!

The restaurant is expensive (for being in Thailand) but most restaurants are pricey on Koh Samui compared to Koh Tao and Koh Phangan. Also, on the mainstreet it seems like there is only European style restaurants which is not really what I want when I am in Thailand.

Our first night there was an incredibly loud firework that went on just outside the hotel for hours so it was impossible to sleep. A part from that I think most nights were quiet.

However the location is great and the rooms are quite big and clean. I guess this is a perfect hotel for families with children and older people who wants to relax.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011 via mobile

Most amazing hotel ever!

It is perfect right in the middle of the action, but so quiet once you have gone down the 20m path to the hotel. Friendly staff, lovely people, and just really welcoming.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I had a lovely time.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Pros: nice rooms, nice staff, nice hotel gardens, well located at the centre of things for nightlife. Cons: Chaweng beach is horrible, crowded and has been altogether spoiled by mass tourism. The beach and pool area at the Baan Chaweng were crowded and not even in the sunshine due to buildings, trees, etc. Don't stay here if you like the sun as there isn't a spare spot or sunlounger on the whole island available for sunbathing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This was a first time in Koh Samui and the location is excellent and was quite surprised at how good the surf was out the front of the hotel.

The food was great and the ladies in the spa were wonderful and extremely friendly (i completely recommend having a spa massage)

We were upgraded to a deluxe bungalow and even though it say deluxe its not what I would call deluxe but very neat and accommodating on the inside. Great place for families and couples and close to the action.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

One of our top hotels we stayed at on this trip. From the moment we arrived the service was detailed and personalized. Dare I say that the Birthday Cake and beautiful flowers in my room on my birthday was the perfect cherry on the top! Unlike many other resorts, the terraces here are large and spacious. As with many of Chaweng's resorts, this hotel is right on the beach and this makes it ideal for evening strolls and breakfast runs.
Their rooms are spacious with pleasant decor and the bathrooms, although a little stuffy, are also large and accommodating.
The food here is not their strong point. Such a pity. After 2 meals there, we preferred to eat out. Breakfast is average.
This is a resort we will be back to. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chaweng Beach Hotel Chaweng
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort And Spa
Baan Chaweng Beach Bophut
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.