We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kandaburi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kandaburi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kandaburi Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Recently went to Koh Samui for our wedding. A lot of our guests also stayed at this hotel. From the very first day we all received nothing but outstanding service. When I checked in with my older children we were allowed into our rooms at 10am!! They had given two of my children an upgrade to a beachside room. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. At breakfast after the first day, I didn't have to ask for my pot of English Breakfast tea, it was brought straight to my table. The hillside rooms that my friends stayed in were as good, if not better (they had bigger bathrooms) than our beachside rooms. Heaps of deck chairs around the pool and more out on the beach. And a beautiful seabreeze that came through in the afternoon as it is so open to the ocean. And about a 15 minute walk along the beach to the main shopping area of Chaweng Beach. A great place to stay. But the beds are hard.......as they are in all of Koh Samui....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Kandaburi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Michelle J,
It was great having you and your friends here, thanks for being such nice guests, and thanks for the kind review.
When/if you return, kindly note that we have toppers for our beds. They can be requested before or after arrival, and are perfect for those who need a softer bed.
With thanks and best regards/JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    201
    70
    29
    16
See reviews for
100
263
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my second visit to kandaburi and as I am known to be fussy - this speaks volumes!
Rooms and bathrooms are very large - but what also makes it special is the welcome and the staff. My Son has Hugos Bar which is on the road a few shops from the hotel which is why I choose it initially. I have stayed at more upmarket hotels on the island but not felt the need to re-visit! The staff could not do enough for you and believe me - give the theme night buffets a go. Excellent value for money and the food is both plentiful, delicious and varied. Why go into Chewang with the noise, heat, crowds etc. when you can have all this - plus entertainment in delightful setting with a glorious breeze keeping you cool. Thank you to John Gill the Manager who goes on the list as a Special! There was a bit of an ecological disaster with crude oil washing up on the beach. Not the Hotels fault - but dealt with effectively and sympathetically with Staff stationed to clean guests shoes and feet. They couldn't have done more and this did not spoil my 3 weeks there.

Room Tip: Beachside is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Kandaburi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi Maureen,
Great to see you here again, and many thanks for the kind review.
You'll be pleased to hear that the globs of oil are no more and the sea is back to its sparkling best.
You can certainly come back.....as often as you like. First one at Hugo's Bar is on me.
Very best regards/JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a nice, but average, resort right on the beach. The rooms were plenty large for the two of us and very quiet and clean. We stayed on the hillside but didn't mind having to walk an extra minute to the beach. There was always someone there to stop traffic and help you across the road. We preferred the pool on the hillside during the day anyway as it seemed to be less busy so always had plenty of lounge chairs, though it would have been nice to have someone coming around offering a drink menu every so often. When we wanted to walk into Chaweng it was just a short walk along the beach (10-15 minutes). The food at the resort was okay but plenty of better, less expensive choices along the Chaweng strip. The breakfast buffet had plenty to choose from. Most of the staff was not overly friendly but always answered any questions we had. One guy, Ward, who was always around during our whole stay was very nice and friendly every time we saw him. Overall the resort was nice and seemed to be slightly less expensive than some of the other beach side resorts in Chaweng. However, with so many choices in the area we would probably opt to try something new if we were to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Kandaburi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear snzander,
Thanks for the nice review. We're happythat you enjoyed you're stay. Slightly bemused by the heading of your review, and noted that you'd probably choose somewhere else next time. If this is the case we'd be pleased if you'd return here the time after next.
With best wishes/JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I went back and forth on many different properties in Chaweng Beach. This was a great choice because it was right on the beach, which was our main priority. Bathrooms were beautiful (random I know, but they were)! Sort of an interesting crowd at this hotel, a little alternative I might say. It was perfect for a vacation with my friends. One piece of advice is that you probably want to make sure you are beachside when you choose a room. Some of the rooms are really cheap ($100 USD/per night) but that's likely because they are sticking you in the properties up the hill and across the street. In order to be near the pool/beach, we had to upgrade. Also, it is not walking distance to downtown Chaweng - which is something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Kandaburi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear mlfish07,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay.
With regard to walking to central Chaweng, a taxi is about Bht200, however many of our guests find that the 15-20 minute walk on the beach is manageable.
Hope you can return some day.
Best regards/JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I admit I wasn't sure about booking Kandaburi. There are soooo many great looking resorts to choose from and the location maps aren't always accurate in showing where the property is.

As we were travelling to KS for a friend's birthday (and their hotel didn't accept children under 12 - the Akyra) I finally decided on Kandaburi with a beachside room based on the proximity to the Akyra

I was really pleasantly surprised and our entire stay was wonderful. The rooms are definitely older style but not in a bad way. They are enormous!! And so are the bathrooms and this was perfect for us to fit in a cot for a 15month old bubba. They are also very quiet so you don't hear other people in their rooms!!

We had friends staying elsewhere & they couldn't believe how lovely our resort was for the price compared to where they were staying

The gardens are lovely and the pool area is gigantic. The large adult pool has individual jets for relaxing and the kiddies pool was awesome!! It was a perfect depth for our 15month old with the water coming up to just under her armpits and is also quite large. The pool area also has lots of lounges. There is a very shallow spit of sand located outside the resort so great for the kiddies to paddle in if you want to take a dip in the ocean

The restaurant food is good too - we ate here a couple of evenings and even had our friends over from the other resort - nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the Beachside rooms & i would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Kandaburi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Bridget M,
Thank yo so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you can return sometime.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at Kandaburi for 10 days for our honeymoon in a hillside room. The room was massive and immaculate. The bathroom especially was impressive. When we arrived we were not in a great mood since our baggage had been left in Singapore(!) so when we arrived to see rose petals in the shape of hearts on our bed it was a welcomed distraction. We were also given a bottle of wine and a cake to celebrate our honeymoon. The staff have various level of English but that’s fine, it is Thailand after all! There was always someone around that would be able to help if there were any language barriers. The rooms were cleaned when were requested (by sliding the sign by the door) so we knew when someone was going to be going into our room. Breakfast was varied and very nice. Having to walk across the road to go to the main hotel was not a problem as they was always a man there to help you across if you needed it. A nice touch I thought! The grounds are gorgeous! Huge ponds and that are maintained every day and frangipani trees!
Both pools are lovely. You might find that you use them earlier in the day while the tide is in, as they is not as much beach to sit on! The food available at the hotel was tasty but quite limited and expensive, especially when you compare it to some places further along the beach. This was mainly because they add service charge and the local tax. From what I can gather from eating at other restaurant and bars, standard service charge is 10% if they charge it, and the local tax is 7%. The hotel however charge 10% service charge plus 17% tax. I wonder if anyone else wondered about that! We did eat there a few times, mainly for convenience and while we used the free wi-fi.
We used the spa for massages once. It was nice, but overpriced when you can walk along the beach or down the road for a third of the price!
The location is good. Not being stuck in the centre of Chaweng is nice, and you have the option to wonder in if you want to. We generally got a songtaew for 100baht for two of us and walked back along the beach. It is a lovely walk, and you don’t notice how long it is (only about 15/20 mins) because there are so many little bars, restaurants and hotels to have a nose at! There is definitely something romantic about strolling along a beach holding hands after having a nice meal.
It is easy to eat well for on a budget in Koh Samui. A main is generally about 150 baht, and of course it’s cheaper to eat Thai food – not a problem!
Something you need to do when in Koh Samui is a Friday night at the Fisherman’s village. We got a taxi which cost us 400 baht and took us right there! There are stalls to explore, food to eat, takeaway cocktails to drink…! It gets busy, but the atmosphere is great!
So, I would recommend Kandaburi and Koh Samui. Good value, nice setting and lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Kandaburi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear AmazingG,
Many thanks for choosing to honeymoon with us, and for the nice review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed Koh Samui and Kandaburi. One small clarification, as with all Thai hotels, we charge 10% service charge plus 7% VAT.
Hope to see you back here some time.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is located a little way from the main Chaweng strip but only 10 mins or so. I did this walk every day while we were here and it never seemed too far. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, especially the staff at the beach restaurant. I loved that the beach was right out the front of the hotel and its a nice beach too although quite shallow.

We were in a beachside room and the rooms were really big. The bathoom is probably the biggest I've seen in any hotel! Breakfast was pretty basic for a Thailand hotel but good enough. I expected the pool to be massive from the pictures but it wasnt at all.

Overall a good stay and would most likely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Kandaburi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear samwk,
Thanks for taking the time to post. We are haappy that you enjoyed yor stay and indicated that you'd like tto return.
With thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandaburi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandaburi Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kandaburi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kandaburi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Kandaburi Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandaburi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.