We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenery, Space, Relaxation.... it has it all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kandaburi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kandaburi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kandaburi Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scenery, Space, Relaxation.... it has it all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rooms by the beach very spacious! nice and very comfortable!! easy access to all amenities.
Only 5-10 minute tuk tuk ride to the main shopping strip in Chaweng.
Very Quiet and makes for great night strolls on the beach.

Room Tip: Choose a room closet to the beach! bigger pool and of course the Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    223
    74
    32
    16
See reviews for
109
284
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in Kandaburi for two nights. We didn’t choose this hotel. It was booked by the travel company we had booked our entire trip with.
It was booked for our first and our last night of our two week holiday to Koh Phangan – since there were no transfers offered at the time of
our flights in Koh Samui. We would have never booked this hotel but again it was booked automatically by our travel company.

Our first impression from reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and the pictures in the catalogue didn’t give me a reason for concern. It all looked
very nice.
We were greeted friendly upon arrival but not in the warm and charming way you expect and know from the Thais.
The Thai Style architecture looks impressive at first sight but taking a second glace at the facilities, its actually run down and not taken care of.
Our first room was across a busy street in a whole different complex with a separate pool, separate breakfast area and with a view of a run down
deserted hotel ruin.
The room was decent sized, actually quite big. Although I’m not very picky, there were small things that I could not leave unmentioned such as the remote
control from the TV that wasn’t working. The towels that were either grey or fuzzy because they were just old. The waters facets were dirty with water
stains. All in all, OK for one night.

Next day we moved to Koh Phangan and returned after two weeks. Our hotel in Koh Phangan has a branch in Koh Samui which we learned during our
stay. We tried to change our stay from Kandaburi to this other hotel. As this didn’t work out, we instead got an upgrade at Kandaburi to a “Family Room”
on the beachside.
The family room had two bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen area. The style of this room appears older and more run down then the room we had before.
And same thing here, water stained facets and old fuzzy towels. In addition to that, our shower flooded the complete bathroom, although it’s supposed to
be a closed shower. We found a cleaning detergent bottle next to the sink in our bathroom left there from housekeeping.
The safe in our room didn’t work. We were told to use the one in the other bedroom. We would have if we would have found it. This worried me as the front
door was a joke. One kick against it and it would have been open.
Door knobs from drawers and wardrobes were missing. Sometimes they were just laying around.
The worst thing about this place, we both woke up in the morning with puffy eyes. I’m 100% sure because of some insecticide that was sprayed in our bedroom.

This hotel seems to be a happy destination for all believing to have book some luxury but are really too drunk to notice it’s not. At least that’s how it sounded
when some of our neighbors got home at 3 in the morning.

We didn’t use the pool or beach area but did have a look. The pool (on the beach side) was surprisingly inviting. But the pool bar staff were
all bored and didn’t seem to care. If you want a beautiful ocean, well, don’t book here. On both sides, there are water drains that go directly in the ocean.
I don’t think I would want to swim there.

Breakfast is presented very nice. But I think that’s the only nice thing about this hotel. If you travel to Thailand for the party in Koh Samui, you like to sleep
all day and enjoy a dip in the pool every once and a while. Then go for this place. But if you are looking for anything authentic, then don’t go here.

Don’t be blindsided by the pictures. We looked a bit closer and found that this place is not what it seems.
Its obvious that no cares here. The management doesn’t even take the time to respond to any reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a short stay in a 2 bedroom appartment on the beach side of the hotel. The appartment was massive and clean. Our 2 young daughters enjoyed the pool area and i enjoyed the massages by the pool. Breakfast was nice - lots of different types of food, though it did involve walking up some steep steps and across the road (crossing man available to assist). We did have an issue when our room was not available on the first night but we were provided with a perfectly adequate room for the first night, given assistance with moving and also a decent reduction in the price without having to request one. Hotel is close to other restaurants and bars and close to the airport. I managed to leave my mobile phone on the bed when we left - i called the hotel when i returned to Australia and it was located and couriered to me for no charge - fantastic service!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom appartments are massive and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed hillside for a week at the Kandaburi. Everything was perfect the entire time. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and make you feel right at home. Rooms hillside are nice and big and we had a room overlooking the pool. This is a great location in relation to Chaweng beach where you walk out the back of the resort and are only steps away from some great places to eat and drink by the water.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a great stay at the Hillside. Has pools, restos. Staff is super friendly. Rooms are huge. Shampoo and soap smells great and leaves hair and skin soft. Breakfast buffet has great selection of food. Beach front is good too. The only complaint i had is that they do not provide toothbrushes, and sometimes room service is slow. Gym is old, smells funny, and has limited equipment. Koh Samui is overall a great place to have a vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at Kandaburi Oct 2013. Was there for 5 nights and loved every minute. The Hillside rooms were super spacious - you could hold a party in the bathroom!! Only drawback to the Hillside rooms was that it was a looonngg walk back from the beach - you had to go through the beachside part of the hotel, up through reception and across the road and then up heaps of steep stairs to our room. Would be a challenge with small toddlers or for the less mobile. Having said that the rooms are enormous and nice and clean with decent size balcony. Breakfast was great by the Hillside pool. The hillside pool was a lot quieter than the beach pool. There are sun lounges on the beach and plenty by the beach pool. We found the staff to be great.
The resort is at North Chaweng - about a 1.5km walk along either the beach or the road to the main part of Chaweng. I quite liked not being in the thick of things - there were enough restaurants around that you didn't need to go into Chaweng if you didn't want to. There is also enough transport going past if you don't want to walk (50Baht) per person.
Loved the resort - but don't know if I would stay again. Maybe something on flatter ground!!

Room Tip: Not for the less mobile!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Second visit to Kandaburi stayed hillside this time. Thought the room was better than beachside huge bathroom with a bath and a great shower. Very nice room with tea coffee etc, fresh beach towels every day and a welcome fruit basket. There is a lift if you need it too.
Bathroom lighting is poor as mentioned in other reviews.
Breakfast was good with a wide selection of things to choose from.
Pool area on hillside is lovely- quieter and very relaxing but just as nice as the beach pool.

Good happy hour and food in hotel is good although not as cheap as the town.

Free wifi in the restaurants and while poolside, none in the rooms though.

Staff in hotel are efficient but not very friendly. Some looked positively grumpy especially at breakfast! Someone split his head in the pool while we were there and the staff could not have cared less. They were more concerned at having to clean the blood up. Hotel does all the right things welcome drink and cold towel etc but when staff are not interested it does make a difference. It's the little things like having to ask twice for coffee at breakfast.

Hillside is definitely a better option as long as you don't mind some stairs.

May stay here again but think I will check out other hotels. Wouldn't rule it out and it is good value hillside. Friendly staff would make a big difference to this hotel.

Room Tip: Hillside is better value and rooms excellent as long as you don't mind some stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandaburi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandaburi Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kandaburi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kandaburi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Kandaburi Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandaburi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.