We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel on our Thailand trip :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kandaburi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kandaburi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kandaburi Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel on our Thailand trip :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Kandaburi Resort and Spa in a beachside room in September for 4 nights and I cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay here!
The location was great ( a few steps and you are on the beach where you can wander down to Chaweng and shop ) but it's still relaxing and quiet enough if you are looking to read a book and lie in the sun.
Breakfast selection was extensive and there are so many great restaurants a short walk down the beach ( our favourite was "Your place" ).
The rooms are huge and the beds are comfortable.(Our room was made up in record time, even when we popped out for a quick wander!) Add to that the friendliness and efficiency of staff and you can't go wrong.
Definitely value for money. We loved it so much we are already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    223
    74
    32
    16
See reviews for
109
284
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am currently staying at the Kandaburi Resort beachside & can recommend it to other travellers. The rooms is spacious & the staff very friendly & helpful although some do have trouble keeping up with the way I talk. Only because as an Aussie I've been told we talk too fast.
Plently of lounges available around the pool & along the beach although that may have something to do with the place not being fully occupied at the moment.
It's an easy place to get to & from with Changweng road running right out the front.
The only thing I struggle with is the hard bed (like a plank) & really soft pillows - not my cup of tea as at home mine are the other way around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from our second visit to koh samui .having previous stayed in fisherman's village we decided to stay in chaweng beach at the kandaburi.on arriving we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a pool access hillside room.there are only 4 of these rooms 210-213.the rooms are a good size with a fantastic large bathroom.The hillside rooms have their own restaurant where we had breakfast each morning.breakfast was always plentiful with a good choice.there was also a pool on this side.The staff were very friendly and always smiling.Across the road was the beach and along the beach there were a lot of eating places.A few evenings we ate at the other place which was always busy and nice sitting at the water edge some nights they had a guy singing.The centre of chaweng was a 15min walk or you can get a pick up truck from outside the hotel.It is more livelier in the centre.On Friday evenings there is a street market in fisherman's village this is worth going to as there is lots of food stalls and lots of shopping.we would highly recommend this resort and hope to return.

Room Tip: We found hillside rooms excellent and in particular the pool access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a wonderful 10 nights here the hotel,gardens and staff are lovely.Good location but far enough from the centre of Chaweng a 15 minute walk along the beach.We stayed in the hillside rooms which are comfortable with a great pool nearby.Would recommend this resort the outlook from the hotel to the beach is stunning.Very enjoyable stay in Koh Samui will be back

Room Tip: Hillside rooms are very spacious we were on the 4th floor overlooking the pool but lift available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband & I have just returned from our 3rd trip @ The Kandaburi & everything about our stay was just as incredible as our 1st trip. Great location, amazing staff who offer top quality service to their guests & very comfortable & large rooms. We both would highly recommend any travellers to choose this resort as it has everything possible to provide a relaxing, enjoyable & memorable vacation. We would not hesitate in returning for yet another trip to the Kandaburi & hope to do so again in 2013.
Well done John in maintaining such an upmarket resort with very friendly & obliging staff members.

Room Tip: We have also stayed on the beachside which is worth the extra expense & a stones throw away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I have been travelling to Thailand for about 15 years now and have stayed in many resorts. Some good. Some not so good. The Kandaburi was excellent.
It's a four star resort and doesn't pretend to be anything more. There are a few things which made it a standout for us. First, the location - the beach and ocean the resort fronts on to is beautiful. The water was perfect for swimming and the natural sand cay was just magic (especially for romantic holiday pics!).
Another thing about the location is that we were just far enough from the party district - about a 10 minute stroll down the beach, but surrounded by terrific 'feet in the sand' beach bars and restaurants.
We also loved the resort restaurants and bars. The view at sunset was superb and the staff were a delight. We don't usually make a habit of eating at resort restaurants but dined there 3 nights out of 7. Well done guys!
There are plenty of other things we were impressed with. The staff were friendly. The rooms are clean and very spacious. Huge bathroom which would be a relief for families I'm sure.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay. We're already planning a holiday for our extended family early next year and can't wait. See you in 2013!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for a week in the middle of our two week holiday. Overall I had a great experience, the facilities were good and the swimming pools were very good. The hotel is located at the top end of the beach which means its nice and quite, but still only a short walk to the main centre. There are also a couple of nice and cheap restaurants nearby - your place in particular is nice. We enjoyed the breakfast each day and found the staff very pleasant and helpful.

For improvement, I would suggest more shuttles into Chaweng (there were only 3), a wifi service in rooms or at the hillside pool, a separate room for the toilet and adding a DVD player for the rooms. There was also some sweeping at around 7am each morning which was loud enough to wake us up (possibly heard because of the room layout)

Note that hillside rooms require you to cross the road to get to the beach side and the hotel is of a significant size.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandaburi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandaburi Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kandaburi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kandaburi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Kandaburi Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandaburi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.