We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Coming Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kandaburi Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kandaburi Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kandaburi Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Tewantin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just Like Coming Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our 3rd stay at Kandaburi Resort and when we arrived we said "It is just like coming home"
The friendly staff on arrival to the smiling faces in the restaurant and bars.
Good range of choices for breakfast including fresh fruit, 3 types of cereal, juices, a full range of salads, many types of fresh bread, eggs 4 ways and both Asian and Western hot selections, even a choice of many types of teas on request, nothing was too much of a problem for the staff.
The beach has the best swimming in clear calm waters and we noticed many guests from resorts further down the beach would come and swim and lay on the sand bars in front of the resort.
The beach traders are a lot of fun but if you are not interested a polite "No" is all it takes and they move on.
We will be returning next year........for sure.
Thanks to all the staff at Kandaburi..

Room Tip: Try and book a beach side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    201
    69
    29
    16
See reviews for
100
263
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Had a brilliant holiday here! Great location and beach. food was great. Close to everything u need. Rooms very Big and cleaned every day. Staff were all friendly and willing to help. The spa was a great experience too! We loved the restaurant called 'your place' on the beach

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The breakfast was great here,something different each day.Service was good but I found alot of people in thailand don't have the best english so was sometimes bit tricky ordering anything.The rooms were nice but the layout did not work.The front door is straight into the bathroom!We booked a beachside room thinking we might be on the beach or with views but it wasn't.only on the beachside of the road seperating from hillside rooms.We asked for a quiet room also which wasn't so quiet when woken up early with construction noise nearby.
Was a nice resort in a great location but may try somewhere different next time nearby because we loved Toby's company at the bar down the road "Hugos".

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Shocked by the last review the hotel and staff were wonderful it is as iff they are talking about a different hotel as the manager is a male. The rooms were wonderful and the bathroom was excellent. My husband and I went with friends for 12 days and we can not complain about a thing. Thank you everyone for making our holiday so good.
Cheers,
Margaret and Lionel

Room Tip: We were hillside with a view to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I am a seasoned traveller and have stayed all over Thailand. I have never come across such rude people who I think, go out of their way to make one feel uncomfortable.

We arrived, were seated and offered a cold towel and a drink (which was sugar and water and food colouring - undrinkable). We were not communicated with about our room or when it would be ready. When we enquired after 45 minutes in the heat (no air conditioned or fanned reception area) we were told we'd have to wait another two and half hours...this is fine considering we got there before check-in...but were they ever going to tell us?

When we enquired about where our room was they failed to be straight forward with us, instead they were rude and kept saying 'it's near the pool'. Neither myself or the other two women I was travelling with had ever been there so, where the hell was the pool?! There was a big fuss as we decided we didn't want to stay in the hillside rooms as they were a big walk to the beach and main pool. One lady (not a manager) informed us we could upgrade at a cost. When we approached the manager she informed us there were no rooms available and there's no way we could upgrade - paying or not. I find this hard to believe as during our 4 day stay there was a room on the beach side that was unoccupied for 3 of those days. After leaving the office, the staff in their started visibly laughing at us. We also requested a hillside room that was closer to the beach side. The manager informed us the hotel was FULLY booked yet there was hardly ever more than 15 people at the beach, pool or breakfast.

For the rest of our stay not one staff member engaged with us or even smiled. OH wait...the egg chef at break fast was lovely albeit spoke no English!

Breakfast was ok, lacked variety.

Pool on beachside was fine.

Beach vendors were very annoying and didn't obey the roped boundary around Kandaburi's section of the beach. The man selling ice creams was particularly persistent, loud and obnoxious.

No service for drinks around the pool or beach, you had to get up and grab the attention of a waiter. Empty glasses weren't cleared even when new drinks were delivered. At one point on of the pool bar waiters knocked my girlfriend's drink over (it was half full), we requested a new drink and he brought it back complete with the bill! Straight away we refused to pay.

Restaurant and drinks were very overpriced. A seafood and inter national buffet was 650 baht - there were a few small prawns, small squid, frozen fish and a few curries etc. Not worth it.

Day spa was very overprice considering there was a gorgeous massage shack on the beach for a third of the price!

On the plus side, the room was large although we were given a double bed with an extremely uncomfortable trundle bed as the third bed. Given the size of the room it would have been easy to place a single real bed in there. Bathroom was lovely but separated from the sleeping area by only a curtain. Shower drain clogged every time it was used.

Location was good as it wasn't right in the heart of Chaweng. I already knew this as I had been to Chaweng before. You're close enough to enjoy the shopping but far enough to be away from the rif raf on a Friday or Saturday night.

I'm extremely disappointed in this hotel. Service was appalling and I would never recommend. There's too many other nice places in Koh Samui that are better value for money. Left a bitter taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here request beach side rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great beach front location especially for family with younger children. Great friendly service.
We stayed at the hillside overlooking the pool. We had to cross the road to get to the beach but didn't think the 2 minutes walk through the front of the resort a problem. My children loved it and wants to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I don't know why some people are complaining about this resort, but for us it was the highlight of our trip to Thailand!!! Location is good, the grounds are soooo beautiful, beach is quiet and safe, the breakfast is really good... When we arrived I asked to an upgrade, and we were given a hillside room with our own private pool!!! It was sooo nice!!! And our room was just next to the breakfast area which was convenient. And it only takes 3 minutes walking to the beach.. There was an employee there helping us crossing the road, and he was always smiling!!! One morning we arrived for breakfast at 10:15 thinking it finishes at 10:30.. We were so hungry, so the waiter brings us toasts, coffee and fruits for us even if the breakfast was over!! What a great gesture!! The pool is sooo beautiful with a bathtub in it.. The only complaints I have is that the food at the hotel is expensive compare to other places in Thailand, so we ate almost everyday at a restaurant called Your Place right on the beach (2 min walk south from the hotel) where you can have a complete meal for between 3$ and 10$ and it was so good!!They have specials every day...Even for glasses of wine very cheap!! There was a band there playing nice music at night and we watched fireworks on the beach!! And another thing: the maid service at the hotel was below average,,, I had to call several times the reception because the maid forgot to give us towels and bottles of water.. They said it would be coming but it didn't so I had to call again 3 times and ask again for the same thing.. That bothered me!!!!Overall we loved this place and we'll be back someday... Koh Samui was the place we loved most during our trip to Thailand and next time we'll stay longer!!!!

Room Tip: Take a room on the hillside with a private pool access.. It's cheaper than beachfront and more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandaburi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandaburi Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kandaburi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kandaburi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Kandaburi Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandaburi Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.