We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living the life of Paradise :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Bungalow Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added First Bungalow Beach Resort to your Saves list
First Bungalow Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4/6 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Living the life of Paradise :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well l must say how impressed we were with this Resort this time round, as we stayed here 2 years ago and had a couple of horrible issues that were not good, The manager at that time was not nice at all, he was just very rude to us and also to his staff,,,,but he has gone ,thank goodness and the Resort has improved immensley,so this time round our response is ..Pom La Koon :)Loved this Resort. The location is perfect, just a short walk to the city centre (about a 10 to15min walk)
The staff were very friendly,the lady that cleaned our rooms ,was just amazing,always very helpful and did a fantastic job ( her name was Jae Jae).The buffet breakfast was very good, the beaches were just amazing.. The only complaint l had was that the mattress was a bit tooooo firm, but we managed to get some sleep.... We had a fantastic time there, only wished it was longer, we spent our time there with our family members, who also loved every minute of their stay..
We will be very happy to return again, and hopefully soon :)

Room Tip: The seaside units are just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    97
    55
    23
    16
See reviews for
32
71
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Loved this Resort. We have stayed here before and will be back again. The location is perfect,away from the noisy main drag. Just a short walk to the centre (about a 10 to15min walk) Most of the staff were very friendly,especiall the cleaner we had (Jae jae was her name) who did an excellent job.The buffet breakfast was very good, the beaches clean. The only complaint was how hard the mattress was,but it was soon rectified and an underlay was put on the bed.. We had a wonderful time there with other family members, and I think it is the way you treat them is the way you will be treated. We would say good morning to other patrients and a lot of them didn't respond to us.Even if they couldn't speak our language , a smile would have been nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The rooms are small though, and there are stray dogs going around the beach, as is the case around Koh Samui. One of the reception ladies was very tense and rude.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candolim, India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Its a very nice resort the rooms are ok the one's on the beach are nice. Its value for money you spent. The basic category rooms are also nice and has a great location. I was there during new year when the whole Samui was sold out at cray prices and we booked this property. The basic room service or other services are very poor but not lot of people are going to spend time in the room with amazing beaches around. The breakfast was manageable with not to much option for the vegetarians. The compulsory gala dinner on the new yr was bad. Totally rip off but thank god it only happens once a year.

Room Tip: take the beach villa its amazing view frm them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for the last 2 nights of our four week Thailand trek, as we were flying home from samui. The locaton of the hotel was very good - right at one end of Chaweng beach, but a short, cheap taxi ride into the more lively end.

We booked a seaside bungalow/villa but should possibly in hindsight booked the beach bungalows. The seaside ones were clean and very big with a good sized, but dated, bathroom. A large wardrobe, dressing table, spare bed? tv and fridge with complimetary water and tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was so uncomfortable, literally did't move when we sat / lay down on it. We used the duvet from the other 'spare' bed in the room and slept ontop of that for a little bit more padding but they were extremly uncomfortable! The seadside bungalows do feel very seperate from the rest of the 'resort' and we did not enjoy the insecurity of being directly next to the fishermans hang out area.

Breakfast was very good - with a large selection. We ate early one day and the food was far better than eatng later the previous day. The pool very nice with plenty of sun loungers,althought the pool bar serving food and drink highly inflated - so we chose to eat elsewhere.

The beach was very good, clean again with plenty of sun loungers, mostly in the shade which we prefer, and the sea absolutley beautful.

Worth noting the only rooms that have safes are the beach bungalows, otherwise a 20tbh locker can be used at reception.

Transfer back to the airport was expensive for such a short drive. the receptionist offered for us to ride with another couple at a discount

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I am quite surprised at the number of consecutive negative reviews. I was here mid March 2012 and was actually surprised and quite happy with the hotel. We were staying at a different hotel and left because we were not happy. A friend recommended this hotel because he had previously stayed there.

This hotel is right on the beach so I am not sure why people are complaining about the location. The beach and seaview bungalows are meters away from the water. The staff were very polite and did everything we asked - even at 4am when I asked them to call the airline and ask a few questions. The porters are extremely helpful and always on the ball.

The rooms were very clean and each day the ladies did a great job cleaning the room.

It is about 5ks from the Action but we are talking about 1 street. It is a 2 minute drive so I have no problem with the location. We were on a bucks week and it was good to be able to get away from all the noise.

Breakfast is ok, they make egg omlettes and the usual stuff.

I would recommend this place to families or even couples. They offer excellent value for money and there is Money Exchange, Spa and a Tailor all within a few metres. There are also several great restaurants which are walking distance.

If you are something a bit more exclusive, then maybe this is not the place for you. For everyone else, its worth giving it a try.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here in in the beach bungalows with 2 small kids. And for that kind of holiday, the hotel was great value. First two nights we stayed at the a standard room - not that nice - but hey they are also very cheap. The staff not as "on their toes" as other places, but the feel in the hotel is friendly, honest and no frills. It does not attempt to be something it is not - and i like that.
The beach is not good for small children - for swimming - because there is a steep slope - but for playing in the sand it is perfect - because of shade from trees. We were very happy to stay here.

Room Tip: Beach bungalow - first row are very nice. Would not choose garden - beacuse of mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Bungalow Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Bungalow Beach Resort

Address: 4/6 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First Bungalow Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Bungalow Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Bungalow Beach Resort Samui Hotel Koh Samui
1st Bungalow Beach Resort Samui
First Hotel Beach Samui
First Bungalow Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Bungalow Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.