We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on Chaweng Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Talay Resort to your Saves list
Baan Talay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location on Chaweng Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Baan Talay Resort, was what we expected. Nothing more and nothing less. Friendly staff, clean and big rooms. Nice Breakfast to suit everybody. Swimming Pool and sandy beach. Close to all other locations.
There are to buildings been under construction at the moment, so it could be noisy at times. On the main road trucks advertise different events on loudspeaker, so that can be noisy as well, but that you get on anther hotel as well.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are nicer, but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    130
    35
    18
    21
See reviews for
31
120
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spend 4 nights at one of the three rare beach-front units on Chaweng beach. On our casual walk along the 5 km Chaweng beach, I counted no more than 6 units having the luxury of beachfront room like ours. The beautiful beach fronting the resort is isolated from "Chaweng's actions" and thus not so crowded.
Simple, clean and tastefully furnished, this not so luxurious room was comfortable.nn
Good varieties on the breakfast spread and will rate a 6.5/10 on the food.
Ms May at the small reception is ever helpful to make our stay comfortable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was worried before my visit, as reviews were very mixed. I read that bathrooms where bad, it's a really noisy near the road and that there where loads of cats!

I can assure you the hotel in picture perfect. Immaculately clean and I never saw one cat lol. I booked the standard garden bungalow style room and was concerned as on arrival we were positioned in room 153 nearest to the road.

I can't understand any of the other reviews. I can not recommend the hotel, pool, staff more.

This is my 4th time to chaweng and this is my favourite hotel by far.

Beautiful definitely go here!

We are 25yr old couple and 53yr and men.

Room Tip: Any room would be good choice. I went for cheapest garden view and these are most private. Pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The only advantage of this hotel is that it is at Chaweng beach, although for me it is better to stay at another place, Mae Nam for example.
According to the official photos, the hotel has tidy modern simple rooms, with "only necessary" furniture. Probably when the hotel was new, it was ok. But now the room is very tired and really in need of renovation, the furniture smells and looks awful. Front panels are dirty and shabby. Tables are in stains from cups, etc. But this is not the worst. The worst thing is that we haven't seen clean towels at this hotel during all stay. Yes, they were changed every day, but they were in stains of different kinds, they were also threadbare. Gladly, we have our owns just in case and use them.
The positive sides- a lot of sunbeds on the beach, but they had never been cleaned from the sand. Also. they gave 2 bottles of water every day per room. That is all.
Hope the hotel will do a renovation in the nearest future, cause it really needs it. Today, it seems too expensive for that kind of accommodation and as to me, they set such prices, only because it is popular Chaweng Beach.
I would advise to choose a better 4-star hotel at another beaches for that price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Surprisingly expensive! Luckily we only stayed 1 night and did not extend our booking.

First of all, Mercure Tana is way better than this Resort which is half the price from Baan Talay.

We checked in by a lovely receptionist (Ms. If) she was very nice and helpful, but the first we entered the room it was not very clean, floors were still wet did not had it dry before we checked in. Bathroom cleaning was terrible and toilet were blocked on our first use, then it happened again in the afternoon.

Not very comfortable room, air-condition is a mess! The next day there was a block of ice fell down from the air-condition, you've got to be careful if you have any kids with you.

Not to mention the breakfast, not worth the money.

I will definitely not recommend to anyone. We are also a hotelier so it's really a shame.

Room Tip: Only Beach Front looks good. But you gotta be careful booking this Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma, lazio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I went for a day (thanks to good just 1) to baan talay before my trip to Koh Tao.
The room was very dirty, the position of the resort is in a bad location, the breakfast poor.
Doesn't male any sense reach the other part of the world ( i' m italian ) to go to a place like this. AVOIDE!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A friendly resort at the quieter end of South Chaweng, easy walking distance to main shopping area. I had a pool view villa. Was 10 paces from the pool. Surprisingly was very quite after dark. It may have been that there weren't groups of young people staying. Rooms very clean bedding changed daily, spacious, after all who stays in their hotel room in KS. Buffet breakfast plentiful, a couple of the cooked items changed daily which was a nice touch. Eggs cooked to your preference. Right on the beach, the restaurant has a good menu and the food is very good. I only had Thai food, deserves better support. Friendly staff. Recommended for famillies and those seeking a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Talay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Talay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.