We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Talay Resort to your Saves list
Baan Talay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Chandigarh, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in Garden view room. Excellent location adjacent to Chaweng market. Beautiful beach, not much crowded. Had buffet breakfast, was really good (especially liked Pancakes....yummy).......

Hotel Staff was friendly & polite. Rooms were beautiful.

Would love to stay again whenever I travel to Samui.

Room Tip: As swimming pool is under construction, go for garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    147
    38
    18
    21
See reviews for
38
130
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We just left the Baan Talay Resort on Koh Samui and were very impressed. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are outstanding, and the beachfront is to die for.

The rooms each have a sitting area outside, giant sliding glass doors, raised beds, a tv/dvd player and a divine bathroom. The shower was the best we have had so far on our trip - and over a month in Thailand, we have realized how important a good shower is! The resort's body wash smells amazing, and they sell a big bottle for $4.

The restaurant was tops - great food. Our stay included breakfast, which was a huge spread of buffet items, including eggs however you want them, bacon, french toast, rice, cereal, yogurt, fruit, ham and pasta.

During the day, the restaurant has breathtaking views of Chaweng Beach, and the resort has tonnes of loungers and umbrellas on the beach. The water is fantastic, and the sandy beach is great for everyone.

The pool and a large portion of the resort was closed for renovations while we were there; and while it did not hamper our stay one bit, I wish I could see it when it's done!

All in all, I would highly recommend the Baan Talay Resort for a stay on beautiful Koh Samui.

Room Tip: The rooms are all bungalow style - if you can splurge for the beachfront ones, it would be totally w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel is now having inside renovation and the main pool is to be fixed. You can't use the main swimming-pool. I booked this hotel via agoda.com. The website and Baan talay resort website don't inform guests that there's construction and swimming-pool can't be used until I called them in Samui. The hotel website also have problem. You can't contact them by e-mail or even leave message or inquiry in their website. If you would like to stay in this hotel, think twice. It won't be peaceful and perfect holidays because no swimming-pool and the noise of construction during your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had a Garden View Room and it was a right size, with coffee/tea maker, small fridge, flat-screen TV, nice-smelling bath products and a cozy terrace. On overall, it looked like it was recently painted/built, so no scratched furniture, stained walls, and no mold.


Hotel grounds are very well kept, with several small ponds and lush vegetation. Swimming pool was there, but it's quite small and smelt chlorine like no other smimming pool I've seen in Thailand. Direct beach access and open-air breakfast with a seaview. Minibar drinks are way cheaper than the ones at the restaurant. Breakfast selection is OK.


Be mindful that this place is not adults-only, and it is full of families with small kids. Meaning noise, plastic toys all over the pool, angry looks at smokers and people drinking alcohol.


Plenty of restaurants around, but the party area (Green Mango etc) is about 30 minutes walk away (5 mins by cab).


I'd say it's a place for those who look for calm spot on Chaweng and those who come with kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I think I loved everything about this hotel. The rooms were pretty big, clean and had some proper AC. The pool was great considering at the time of our visit the ocean wasn't exactly fit for swimming. Service was nice, Katy was particularly awesome and the restaurant has a great spot on the beach.

My parents visited Koh Samui on their own and stayed at Baan Talay on behalf of my recommendation. My dad (who can be quite fussy) said that "I couldn't have picked a better hotel for them." They paid for one of the cabanas on the beach of which they said that "they must have had the closest room to the ocean on the entire island." It's far enough from the nightlife so that it won't cause you any bother but it's still close enough to stagger home to after a great night in Chaweng.

The only negative thing I do have to say is that the Muay Thai trucks blaring their advertisements from the road can be extremely annoying. However, I do believe that just about every hotel on Samui has the same problem- do your best and laugh off the cheesy Rocky-theme advertisement. Oh and if you plan on renting a scooter, do it here so you don't get ripped off on the street.

Room Tip: The further from the road the better. Muay Thai advertisements are incessant on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Just the right size hotel, while we stayed at the loveliest rooms at the beach front (only 3 of them, worth paying the extra for this). The pool is very pretty and relaxing, though the beach is so accessible, if the weather is nice you might as well be spending your time there. Very friendly staff, happened to be my birthday and had a cake delivered to my door. Only 'negative', slightly out of the way, but this is more the case in low season.

Room Tip: Beach front are 10 meters from the sea (a bit noisy though). It is true that there are certain rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Accomodation type: Garden View Bungalow

Good Stuffs:
1. This side of the beach is much more calm and quiet. If you are looking for a relaxing and less hectic beach, this is good and cheap(er) option and it is not too far from the center.
2. Their dining area is my favourite hang out spot. Great view and shaded. Good place to relax. You can spend the whole day here :)

So-so
1. I think the Garden View Bungalows are their first few bungalows as they are a little more worned out compared to Pool View and Beach Front Bungalows.
If your budget allows, opt for Pool View or Beach Bungalows, as they are newer and in better shape for a much more comfortable stay.

Extra:
- If you are staying here, best to know how to ride a motorbike. It's SO easier to travel around and saves alot of money from taking cabs/tuk-tuks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Talay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Talay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.