We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muang Samui Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Muang Samui Spa Resort to your Saves list
Muang Samui Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13/1 moo2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is maybe the most beautiful place in chaweng.There are trees everywhere and it is like you are in a jungle.Big pool, next to the beach, great restaurants, perfect breakfast. The rooms are very big with a beautiful tranditional decoration. The staff is very friendly and the spa is fantastic. A negative thing is that it was a little expensive for a hotel in tailand and the spa services are also very expensive for the area standards. Also the beach in chaweng is not good. But I would deffinitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    105
    39
    16
    14
See reviews for
55
187
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

it is at good location , hotel claim they are 5 star but in my opinion , they are 4 star hotel , front desk is good and cooperative , i have asked 2 room ,interconnecting but those were far from beach , initaly they refused and when i asked them to cancel booking , they were willing to give me , pool view rooms are expensive but room 1110 and 1109 have also step away from pool , so i will suggest to book garden view but with request of 1110 or 1109 room number , breakfast is also good not very good . next time i may stay or i may not stay there , beach is OK , we have stayed there 7 nights , pool is not like big one but just OK . in my opinion it is actual 4 star resort and good place to stay , i booked it 3 months early , price was OK , but 1 month before price vs property does not match

Room Tip: 1110 , 1111 or 1109 are garden view according to hotel but step away from pool and pool view from ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great welcome, fruit basket, big room. Travelling with my sister so enough room to put all our shopping! T.V in room was pretty old and terrible reception - remote old and kept falling apart! Only limited channel and no in house movies. There was a dvd player to play all our cheap dvd purchases! Wifi in rooms - but dropped out often. There was no full length mirror in the room either - which as i mentioned before - traveling with my sister and mirrors required! Beach bag and foot thongs supplied which was handy!
Pool was lovely but not much room around it for deck chairs!? Each table has a "call bell" for the staff - who were quick to respond!
The breakfast buffet was very good - especially the egg chef! No newspapers unfortunately and the staff were some what lacking in service - except when you were leaving! Oh and they allow SMOKING in the eating area!!!!!!

Location was the best part - close enough to shops and far enough from the noise! Great beach restaurants within walking distance!

Room Tip: All the rooms are far enough from the street, probably one not too close to the pool? (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the muang samui spa for two weeks of holiday with two small children. I read the reviews that were slightly more 'negative' on this website - and usually take them with a pinch of salt; but after staying here I must say that they are in fact all true.

Some of my comments:
- the level of service and basic understanding of the English language is below standard of what you would expect of an hotel that portrays itself as an 5* spa resort
- the beach beds are crappy quality and so is the responsiveness of the beach staff. I got better responses from the sales-people walking up & down the beach...
- the rooms are 'ok', but the airconditioning is either too cold or not cold enough, there's no in between setting
- the bathroom has two doors, both don't lock, which makes a great game for kids running around, but less attractive if you are having a private moment on the toilet
- shower is huge, but head shower doesn't have a lot of power to it
- the jacuzzi is yuk, so we didn't use it
- Mosquitos are a plague, but in all fairness not due to the hotel
- the housekeeping is good, rooms are clean. But don't try to call for extra towel, you'll air-dry quicker outside....
- breakfast is good, juices are not fresh
- half way during our stay they ran out of pizza

The location is great though, you walk out the front door (and to your right is a great sushi place, really quality stuff!) and you are on the main road with all markets and restaurants etc.
Get massages on the beach from OP Massage - one tenth of the price of the massages in the hotel spa and great view of the beach while you are lying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice cozy hotel in quiet surroundings located between main street and the beach.
Nice smiling staff allthough almost none of them understand even a few words english.
Clean big rooms but worn and tv is from last century. Wifi works OK sporadically.
You have to log in so many times that it is annoying.
Breakfast excellent dining direct at the beach.
All in all we had a pleasant stay at Muang but I am not sure if there is value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arriving on an early flight from Melbourne, I was relieved to have contacted the Muang Samui before I arrived (via email) to ensure an early check-in whichwas very much appreciated. Upon arriving at the hotel it was disappointing that the lobby area was not air conditioned or fitted out with fans as it was quite hot (which I found at various times during our stay). The rooms were huge, very spacious and well decorated (though may benefit from an upgrade) The room came with its own private balcony which was nice to sit out on after a hectic day at the pool! The pool was nice however there wasn't much space around it and not many sun lounges - a concern as I was travelling in a group of 11... and at times had to sit out on the beach (which I didn't mind as I could watch the passing parade - and shop at the same time). The pool service was at times a bit slow... not sure if we were supposed to order at the bar or wait for them to come around to us...What was missing was a 'towel bar' where you could get fresh towels each day. Upon arrival we were given towels in our room but they were never replaced and we had to hang out wet towels over our balcony each night (and they sometimes didn't even dry...) Also, where was the Happy Hour? Every hotel and bar has Happy Hour (that quite often go for several hours). We were having to take a walk along the beach and find another bar to get our cheap beer and cocktails (lots of money spent elsewhere). The ladies on the beach offering massages were friendly and cheap, very relaxing. There was lots of nice restaurants close by and good shopping.Staff were friendly (especially the cleaners, always saying hello). I suppose I was disappointed in the Muang Samui after staying at the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort which I feel is 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

A lovely place to unwind. Great food at the resort with friendly staff. Massages at your fingertips (recommend the ladies on the beach). Shops at your doorstep if you ever decide to leave the resort. Traditional looking rooms that feel very 'zen'.
The beach is pretty shallow out front of the hotel but a quick walk gets you to deeper waters. Overall fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Muang Samui Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Samui Spa Resort

Address: 13/1 moo2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Muang Samui Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the east coast of Koh Samui Island, Muang Samui Spa Resort is idyllically located on the white sands of Chaweng Beach, 10 minutes drive, or 3 kilometers from Samui International Airport, and 25 kilometers from Nathon City and ferry pier. Upon entering the Muang Samui Spa Resort, a feeling of genteel hospitality surrounds you, sustained by the welcome of tropical greenery, the impressive Southern Thai style decor and the gracious smiles of the staff; the temptation of this charming sanctuary will remain with you always and call for your return time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Muang Samui Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Samui Hotel Bophut
Hotel Muang Samui
Muang Samui Spa Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muang Samui Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.