We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaba Cabana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Chaba Cabana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chaba Cabana Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   160 Moo 2, Bo Put | Ko Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #38 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 290 Reviews
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“loved the resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

4 of us stayed at chaba for 2 weeks and found it lovely. The rooms were nice although there wasnt enough cupboard space but other then that it was excellent. The staff are really helpful and nice and the breakfast was especially excellent. The pools are great and the service poolside was top of the range. It is on a quiet part of chaweng which meant we didnt have hundreds of jet skis going up and down the beach which was nice. Its about a half hour into the centre of chaweng but you can walk along the beach both ways so it isnt so bad. We did our laundry at the little internet place up the top of the driveway for 30 b per kilo which is cheap as. It has been 10 years since we went to Koh samui and things have changed heaps. We would easily go back and stay at chaba and probably will in a couple of years. Thailand isnt as cheap as bali though. Thanks chaba for the holiday of rest and relaxation.

maggie

  • Liked — breakfast and atmosphere
  • Disliked — not much cupboard space
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    119
    46
    23
    8
See reviews for
53
159
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband & I stayed at Chaba Cabana Resort from the 24 September 20 to 1 October for our honeymoon. We loved the resort, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we were overall very happy with everything. The breakfast was great, especially the view over the beach. The pools were clean and well maintained. Our room, although pretty basic, was clean and spacious and to be honest - how much time do you spend in your room while your are on holidays. The location is excellent, a romantic 20 minute stroll down the beach to the main part of Chaweng at sunset. If you are looking for a good massage or beauty Aloe Vera A Salon on the street leading down to the resort is fantastic and very reasonably priced. We would absolutely recommend this resort to anyone wanting a laid back relaxing holiday. Taxi down to the main part of Chaweng cost between 100 and 200 baht depending on the time of day or night. The beach at the front of the resort is beautiful and very clean (contrary to other reviews). It is tidal so some days you would have to walk out quite a way for a swim but the water was clear and clean. Food at the resort was probably a little more expensive than you could get at some of the other restaurants but very yummy. We will go back for sure!!!

  • Liked — Location & staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Qld
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

My wife & I and our 2 sons - 15 & 19, stayed at Chaba Cabana Resort for 10 nights and had a fantastic experience. The location, staff and facilities are of a very high standard.
The entire resort has an open air cabana theme - from the breakfast restaurant/cafe, the beach cabana, the magnificent gardens and the pool. This really suits the climate. During our visit we had days mainly around 33 degrees C, with 1 day hitting 38.
The guest rooms rooms continue the Cabana theme - some people may find them a little dated but they're well maintained and very comfortable.
If you're looking for an unbeatable tropical island holiday, I reckon this is it. For us, Sumui is everything other islands attempt to be but don't come close.
Here's our typical days program:
We start each day at breakfast in the restaurant cabana with the ocean lapping only 10 metres away. There are sweeping views down the beach, with the mountains in the background. Incoming aircraft against this spectacular backdrop are most impressive.
After a break follows a swim in the large resort pool or the ocean, with beach games or just lounging around reading and relaxing.
The beach hawkers are friendly - most don't hassle you - "maybe later" works well, but we got to know some of them well: Gair, the bat & ball game vendor, and Sexy Man the icecream vendor, who can sell his icecreams in 7 languages.
Around 1pm we'd wander down the beach towards Chaweng and select at random one of the dozens of beach cafes or restaurants for lunch. or take a simple snack at the Chaba. None of this is expensive by western standards.
The Chaba runs happy hours in their beach cabana and pool bar twice each day, so it's a good deal to be there for the 2 for 1 offers. They have a highly talented duo that plays most nights- not just regurgitated stuff but quality songs over a wide repertoire.
Many nights we'd hop a taxi into Chaweng or Lamai for dinner - massive selection of low priced restaurants, then back to the Chaba. We also got some great fireworks (sky rockets) along the beach for bargain prices on nights when the mood took us.

This was our first visit, but we met a number of guests who were back there for their 3rd visit in 3 years, etc.
We had no unhappy experiences at the Chaba Cabana, which can be unusual over a 10 day period.
Samui is a beautiful island. Our weather was superb. There is lots to do if you want it. Other than the island snorkelling trip, we didn't do any of the standard tourist stuff - temples, monkey shows etc. - the Chaba resort occupied most of our days easily.
I realise this review is not tightly confined to the Chaba Cabana Resort, but what I've described is what we experienced with the Chaba as the hub of Koh Samui for us. If you have as much fun as we did then you'll truly enjoy your time here.
We will go back for sure.

  • Liked — The staff,facilities and outlook.
  • Disliked — Nothing of any consequence
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Me and my partner stayed at the Chaba in june,this was our third visit to this hotel,we find it a lovely place to stay its has a friendly
atmosphere and the staff cant do enough for you.The hotel it self is clean and the rooms are good.The hotel is about 5 minutes taxi ride from the town in a quiet area which is good because if you want peace and quiet during the day you have it then if you want some where at night you can go into the town,there is never a shortage of taxis to take you into town.The only thing i didnt like about the town is the people trying to get you to go into the tailors for suits its ok at first but get a annoying after two weeks.
You can eat good food all day long,you can eat cheap or a bit more expensive,Red snapper is our favourite place its a bit dearer that some of the places but te food is fantastic and the restaraunt is done out lovely,if you want a cheap meal value for money you can go to tropical murphys you wont go wrong there.
Koh samui is a great place to go the island has some stunning places and i dont think you would be dissappointed with your visit.We will return to the Samui again and stay at the Chaba

  • Liked — The layout of the hotel,and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

If you are planning on spending some time in Koh Samui then this hotel would be an ideal choice. The location is excellent, and the views across the bay whilst you are sitting eating your excellent breakfast are superb. We had no problems getting shady sunloungers, and the hotel does provide beach towels which are changed daily.
The hotel reception is small and the entrance to the hotel area rather disappointing, but the staff are welcoming and efficient. Our family room was spacious and we had plenty of space, but there was insuffiicient storage for three people. The colour scheme and room decor is slightly strange, and the rooms are obviously regularly decorated as our curtains were splattered with paint. The housekeepers are very efficient and the rooms are well cleaned. The cleaner was really concerned to find that my daughter was ill one day, and went and got staff from reception who offered assistance. We found everyone really friendly and helpful. It was my daughters birthday during our stay and the cake and card she received helped to make her day special. One member of staff told me that a new general manager had just been appointed and a number of improvements were being made around the hotel.
There are two swimming pools, but the courtyard pool is rarely used as there are on-going problems with the pump. We watched a variety of workmen on site over the three weeks we stayed and there still seemed to be no resolution when we left. It really isn't a problem as the main pool seems to be big enough for everyone, and is the place that most people head for.
We always used the beach when we walked in and out of the town, as the pavements were hazardous. We found plenty of excellent restaurants on the beach - if you choose the ones that aren't attached to hotels you won't find an extra tax charge added to your bill. "My Place" is a 2 minute walk away from the hotel along the beach front and is highly recommended, but if you stroll along the beach you'll find plenty of others. My family used the Blue Planet Dive School, just behind this restaurant and their bungalows, and were very impressed by their tuition and service.
For the best and cheapest shopping seek out the night market by the lake. This comes and goes, but is huge fun and you will eat very cheaply. All the hotel staff go there and they will tell you if it's arrived.
This hotel may not be the most luxurious in Koh Samui, but it is well worth visiting and enjoying.

  • Liked — pool, breakfasts and friendly staff
  • Disliked — expensive spa
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

just returned from the chaba cabana stayed 10 nights, August 2008 everything about the resort was lovely, all the staff very friendly indeed always very helpful, resort is about 15 minute slow walk to the town centre however you can jump in the back of a truck for a lift down there for 50 baht which we did and then walked back halfway all along the shops and then cut through one of the hotels and walked along the beach back to the chaba, beach was well lit with all the beach bars and restaurants so this was not a problem, beach was beautiful and couldn't believe how hot the sea was, would definitely recommend this if you want to be away from the noise of the town but close enough to get to if you want it. there was also use of the kayak for free this was great fun as the sea so shallow it was very safe.

  • Liked — clean and staff friendly
  • Disliked — no receipts for meals or drinks
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Me and a friend visited the Chaba Cabana in July this year, first impressions were good, we arrived in Koh Samui at night, the transfer time is very quick, only about 10-15mins at that time.At night the hotel looks beautiful.
The chaba cabana is located at the far end of Chaweng beach, and there are positives and negatives to this,the negative being that outside the hotel there is very little shops or restaurants it is less developed and not so well lit, so not the best place to walk around alone at night.The best way to get to the centre of Chaweng is by taxi, this will cost approx 200 baht in the evening, if you go to reception they will get one for you, there is a member of staff that also operates as a taxi driver by night who is very friendly and helpful.
The positive aspect of the location is the beach i would say that is on one of the nicest parts of chaweng beach, and you get the sun all day long unlike other hotels that get shady late afternoon.
The rooms are abit dated which was a shame, the bathrooms definately need the most work but they are adequate and liveable.Rooms are cleaned daily and water bottles are re stocked but check that you are using the complimentry bottles which are the glass ones, if not you will be charged the mini bar seems cheap but they add on the tax which nearly doubles the price.
We ate at the beach bar everyday at the hotel for lunch, there is alot of choice such as thai food, or burgers and fish.There are also beach traders that sell food along the beach such as corn on the cop or other thai dishes which is worth a try.
Outside of the hotel on the main road is a little shop that sells food,drinks,ciggarettes.This shop is very cheap so worth stocking up on drinks.
There is a nice pool that is located overlooking the sea and baech which is fantastic,make sure you grab your sunloungers there doesnt seem to be enough for the occupancy levels of the hotel.
Breakfast at the hotel is great varied and fresh and is open till late. The restaurant where you have breakfast overlooks the sea, fantastic view watching the sunrise.
This hotel is very much suited to all types of people aswell as families as it is away from the hustle and bustle of chaweng, if you are looking to be closer to the nightlife and action then this would not be the best hotel for you.
I throughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and Koh Samui, Koh Samui is definately well worth the visit, i have visited many countries around the world and nothing compares to this place.If you want a touch of luxury i would not reccomend this hotel maybe the Amari Palm Reef which is located just down the beach.
There are many tours on offer if you get the chance make sure you visit Koh Tao and Koh Nanguan,the sea is crystal clear and is one of the best snorkelling places.
Also Koh Phangan is worth a visit, locals say this is what Koh Samui used to be like before tourism took over.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaba Cabana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Cabana Beach Resort

Address: 160 Moo 2, Bo Put | Ko Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Cabana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located at the northern end beachside of Chaweng, Chaba Cabana Beach Resort & Spa offers a most picturesque view of Chaweng Bay from every position on its 150 meters of soft sand beachfront. Designed in unique tribal design to enhance your tropical island holiday with its tastefully designed rooms, Chaba Cabana meets every guest's desires. Chaba Cabana Beach Resort & Spa is a 4-star resort in Chaweng Beach Koh Samui. The resort offers 80 rooms and suites in combinations for Honeymooners, families and couples. Each of the rooms contained modern amenities to provide utmost comfort and convenience to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chaba Cabana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Cabana Beach Hotel Bophut
Chaba Cabana Koh Samui
Chaba Cabana Beach Bophut
Chaba Cabana Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaba Cabana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.