We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it - best hotel on Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi + Free ABF
Ranked #16 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love it - best hotel on Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We went back to the Centara Grand and loved it - we previously went in 2005 before it was taken over - although i dont think they have changed anything they have just updated decor etc.
Main areas in hotel are well designed and modern and always impeccably clean - room was lovely - i agree with other reviews that the rooms do not quite match the rest of hotel but ours was nice, clean and spacious. Nothing at all to moan about - plenty of wardrobe space, bathroom was big (slightly dated - yellow tiles!!!) but all in all comfortable - although the bed is slightly too hard for my liking.
Pool area is excellent and always lots of loungers available. The best we found were next to the jacuzzi as they had really thick mattresses...also the beach - it really is heaven! We visited the Caribbean twice last year Antigua for 1 with supposedly amazing beaches) and the beaches here are the best in the world. Perfect for little ones too with warm shallow waters and always lots of shade if you require.
Drinks in the hotel are very expensive - that would be my complaint! We went across to the 7-11 over the road and stocked up daily on drinks etc...
You can get the most amazing fresh fish if you wander down the street....a shared platter for 2 is def worth it if you like your fish.The hotel Thai restaurant is very good but again the drinks spoil it as so expensive - but as a treat def worth a visit.
Staff always friendly. (again compared to the caribbean this made such a nice change!)
I think compared to Phuket and other Thai resorts we have visited Samui is still noticably poorer and the infrastructure just isnt there yet - not the easiest place to navigate with a pushchair but we saw lots of people with their children and pushchairs so cant have been too bad.
Not much in the way of "fancy" shopping and expect to barter lots - you can get pretty much fake everything.
Some nice bars and restaurants and you dont have to go to the nicest looking to get fab food at excellent value.
I have heard the spa is wonderful but we found that we were happy with the massages and treatments on offer at a fraction of the cost down the strip.
We would def go back again and again if we go back to Koh Samui..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    455
    134
    57
    33
See reviews for
320
667
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed here with another couple and were slightly disappointed by the hotel. The hotel transfer from the airport turned up quite late which was not a good start to the holiday.

The room was large with a nice sea view and was a club room. The bed was probably the biggest I have ever seen - like 2 doubles pushed together. The air conditioning seemed to struggle to keep up with the heat outside. The main complaint with the room was the bathroom. There was a very flimsy louvered door between the bathroom and bedroom and a window between the bathroom and bedroom also. This did have a blind but one that did not close very well so privacy was an issue. It also meant that the strong light out int the corrider was visible at night through the blind which was irritiating.

The service in club lounge was generally excellent with glasses being constantly topped up. It was very busy during the free drinks in the evening and we always had to either sit outside in a sort of corridor or in the library were the air conditioning never seemed to work very well. Breakfast was slightly limited in the lounge but generally quiet. The restaurant for breakafst was well located by the sea but staff were too eager to start to clear away the buffet well before the closing time of 10.30am We had the same problem with the Japanese buffet at the hotel where they cleared away the buffet before 9.30pm. The food was also very overcooked in this buffet and not worth the price paid.

Situation wise the hotel has a great location at the quieter end of chaweng beach but within walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants. It was easy to get a songthao to the other end of chaweng for about 30-60 baht. I would recommend Poppies hotel for dinner which is a few minutes minutes walk.

Drinks were expensive in the hotel but you could get soft drinks and beer from the beach sellers cheaply during the day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

This hotel was excellent value just under £100 per night, with access to the club room every day for free drinks and snacks. Our room overlooked the beach and poolside, with a partial view of the sea. We met a couple who had been to Bali and they mentioned that Chaweng was the nicest beach on their travels. The sea was an amazing colour ideal for toddlers and non-swimmers as the water reamins shallow for 60-80 meters from the shore.

We were most impressed by the standard of service, which beats anywhere we have been in the past. The majority of Thai people we met could not do enough for us.

There was a small bar across from the hotel, which we went to most nights. The 'Happy Bar' is family run and the catered for those wishing to drink long into the night. Its ideal if you fancy staying close to the hotel and enjoy a game of pool. the staff let us have access to the stereo system, so this led to a sing along most evenings.

On our last night we went to the Samui Paradise for dinner. It has to be the most romantic setting we have experienced on holiday. The only negative was walking to it from our hotel. About 5minutes into our walk and we were almost attacked by barking dogs. My husband had to calm me down as I was terrified, but I suppose we should have walked down the beach instead. The broken pavements and electric cables let the resort down, but the transport is cheap enough to get up and down the main strip.

One of the other highlights was the beach party at the Ark bar (Brilliant D.J's and excellent food with a chilled out atmosphere) and H.O.T restaurant opposite the banana fan hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Let's say briefly that Centara Grand Beach was a top place and included incredible garden and swimming pool area. Hotel staff was second to none.

I booked 8 nights via their internet site for special offer about 90 euros per night including one free massage, one free dinner for two and round trip airport transfer plus some other offers I don't remember.

Swimming pool area was beautiful and included two large pools, children pool and pool bar. There was plenty of sun beds available in the garden and in the beach. Beach with white sand was very suitable for children.

I stayed in the hotel with my 5-year old daugher and both of us would definately like to come back soon.

Very much recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed at Grand Centara for 7 nights in June 2009 in Club room. Hotel in itself is very elegant large building. All common areas are stylish and well maintained as you can expect in a 5 star hotel. Service was first class by whole staff from reception to security men (security man by the entrance of the Chaweng road was absolutely great).

Our room was on the 3rd floor with nice view to the garden and sea. Room decor wasn't quite equivalent to other parts of the hotel but was well cleaned, always tidy and had neat furniture. We enjoyed very much about the evening happy hour included in the club room. They serve nice tasty snacks and drinks daily. Club staff was great! We think it is worth to pay little bit extra for this service.

Hotel beach is great and pool area nice though it might be bit difficult to find sunchair at noon. But, as always staff if happy to help you. It was nice to have the afternoon drink at the pool bar! I recommend hotel Canvaree spa; it was so relaxing and athmosphere was luxurys and peaceful.

Hotel is located just next to the Chaweng main road. There isn't so much to shop if you're looking for quality stuff. But Samui has other things to offer so we didn't care so much about shopping. There are few great Thai restaurants close to the hotel: 99 pieces just opposite and Ninja within about 5 minutes walk. Both serve good food but Ninja's was just great. They don't show off with the fancy furniture but are concentrated in serving super good Thai food! Place was fully booked every evening so that probably tells something about quality.

As a whole we enjoyed hotel very much. Though Centara is a big hotel there is calm and relaxing feeling.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We had a great trip.......every one was friendly, the rooms were neat..........they cleaned it very nicely every day....... and I would go back any day

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stay at the Centara May/June 09, when we arrived at the hotel the lady at reception asked us to pay for our room, but we had already paid for everything up front via Kuoni so we refused, then she requested a deposit of 200 euros and asked for our credit/debit card again we refused!!!!!

We were finally shown to our room and yes it looked lovely after spending 20hours on the go, we had booked a sea view room (but the view was obscured by trees) we had a few problems with the room: the TV had terrible reception, the toilet roll holder came off the wall, the shower didn’t work properly and what is the story with the yellow wall tiles in the bathroom??? We did go and see the hotel manager and explained the problems with our room and he did offer to change us to a ‘club room’ but when we went to see the room I was surprise to find them nice and spacious but very dark and an odd shape. So we stayed in our room and all the problems were fixed.

The hotel has a fabulous beach which has numerous beach traders on which sell food and drinks so much cheaper than the hotel and they all give you a big warm smile, the hotel gardens are well kept and worth having a walk around.

The breakfast was ok, buffet breakfast with all the usual things going on cereals, hot fried foods, bread and fruit - no real wow factor and after the 1st week all a bit boring.


BE WARNED-On our first day in the hotel we decided to check out what was outside all we had was hassle from timeshare people driving up and down asking where we were from and trying to get us to take put in the ‘scratch cards’, and see what we could win!!!(Nothing) I told them that we weren’t interested.

Down the road from the hotel there are lots of bars and places to eat, a lot of the restaurants were overpriced and not that tasty, we ate most nights at the NO1 it has a welsh flag as you go in, its not welsh, it’s real Thai food, served by real Thai people, with real Thai prices.

Overall opinion of the hotel: the hotel is very overpriced, it’s never a 4* maybe 3.5 on a good day, the reception staff need a lesson in customer services and maybe learn to smile at the guests a bit more.
We won’t be going back to Samui, having been to Thailand several times before Samui is a big let down.


There is an older gentleman who is a security guard on the second street entrance he was fantastic! And worth going into the hotel this way to see him smile and give you a big warm welcome back to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.