We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from two weeks staying at Centara grand beach Samui and we loved every minute of it. We found the staff to be very friendly and gracious nothing was too much trouble for them, and the beach was fantastic and pool was good to the days with sat round it and had no trouble getting a sunbed even when we come down late. The location of the hotel is great to just walk out and your straight into restaurants and bars(I must just say the bar right across from the hotel the happy all night bar run by three sisters they will make you so welcome and you will have a good night in there we finished a lot of good days in that bar )back to hotel and we found a breakfast was a great start to the day anything you wanted, but the only thing the last three days we see a lot of mosquitoes in the restaurant but that might have been after the rain but overall we found this hotel fantastic no complaints whatsoever and the icing on the cake was a lovely cocktail evening with the management where you could have any drink you wanted from cocktails wine spirits and staff walking round with food it was one lovely evening and it was all free we would really recommend this hotel and we are definitely most definitely going back next year thank you Centara grand beach resort Samui for giving us some lovely memories

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Graham S.,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your holiday experience.

It's a great pleasure to read your kind comments about our fantastic beach, friendly staff and breakfast with a variety of choices.

The location of the hotel does allow you to explore the surrounding areas as well, and we’re glad you enjoyed the neighboring establishments.

Thank you for recommending us.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    423
    120
    53
    31
See reviews for
301
599
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband, 5 kids and I stayed at the Centara for 2 nights. We loved the pool, beach, breakfast buffet and the private plunge pool in our suites. We had read all the TripAdvisor reviews in which people talk about not being able to find beach chairs. So when we arrived we walked right up to the towel counter and asked them to help us find beach chairs and within 5 minutes they had put 7 together for us. The staff is excellent and very accommodating for such a large place. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Pick one on the ground floor so you have easier access to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear MisoPiso88,

Thank your for sharing your review. We couldn’t help, but notice your impressive status with regards to reviews, contributions and wonderful photographs!

We’re gratified for your positive feedback particularly with regards to beach chairs. There are plenty for everyone.

We’re thankful that you’d give us your recommendation and hope that we’ll have pleasure of welcoming back soon.

All the Best,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

myself and wife loved this hotel with its with its big open reception and lobby area.the pool and gardens are very nice but the big plus is the access directly onto the sort white sandy beach.the breakfasts are very good with lots of choice.they have happy hours at there bars at different times,so there is always time to get the two for one offer.we liked our bedroom which had a balcony looking out to the gardens and pool.overall a gtreat hotel in a great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear 61Tatty,

Thank your for sharing your review. We’re so glad that you and your wife loved our hotel, pool and gardens.

We’re appreciative that you also mentioned the variety of choices at breakfast.

You are correct about the Happy Hours. Its 2 for 1 and the promotion moves from one venue to the next as the day unfolds.

Thank you again for chiming in. We do hope that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming back soon.

Kind regards,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed in December with the family, not only was the weather perfect during our stay, so was the overall experience at the resort. The rooms we occupied were not large, but just right and very comfortable. Considering the age of the resort, the room maintenance was very good, as well as the cleanliness. What one often encounters is less perfect plumbing and a noisier AC, but it was all acceptable. The arrival experience was excellent, so was most of our encounters with the staff, always very professional, helpful and forthcoming, and special kudos goes to the Guest Relations Team. The reason for a less favourable 3 1/2 Star rating is mainly due to the rather poor Food and Beverage experience. Restaurants were often empty, and that probably was for a good reason. Apart from Breakfast, which was just good, all other meals we had were below par in terms of service and food quality. Something easy to fix and the hotel deserves better. Again, our stay was in December and things may have changed since. The Centara is in a perfect location, right in the middle of Chaweng Beach, surrounded by the 'madness' of this very busy stretch of the island, however once you step into the Centara you are surrounded by amazingly lush gardens and a truly lovely beach front. I would still recommend this hotel, especially for family stays as it is so convenient and the activities on site for the younger ones are also plenty and you are only steps away from many outside dining options.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear 1984DST,

We’re so glad to hear that the weather was pleasant for your holiday. Generally speaking, Samui is still getting a shower or two in December as the monsoon season dissipates.

Thank you for the encouraging remarks on your experience with our Guest Relations team.

We believe you might be interested to hear that since your stay we’ve welcomed a new executive Chef. He’s Australian and his presence has been fundamental in freshening our culinary offering. We’re confident that you would notice the improvement should you decide to return.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner was booked to stay there for 4nights, but ended up leaving after first night. When we first arrived we was sat down and given welcome drinks, my glass had lipstick on it so the first impression wasn't great. But everyone makes mistakes and the welcome drink was changed when I told them about it. After we checked in we was shown to are room, which was a premier delux room. The room was shabby, the bathroom was terrible and the tiles had mold all over them, the hinge for the showed door had broken away and the tile was hanging off, one of the fresh towels had a pink stain on it. The floor tiles in the doorway had brown stains on them, the main step by the door had a big chip out of it. The room its self was dirty like they didn't clean it properly, the furniture had stratches and dents all in them, the bed had wood sticking out the side with a nail in it, the lights had all dirty finger prints round them, the kettel was so dirty I would throw it away. The balcony was rundown cracks everywhere and broken air vent. The place was just horrible. We decided to have a look round the hotel to see if it got better, so we walked towards the pool, everywhere you looked there was a cat, I like cats so it didn't bother me but you shouldn't have cats everywhere in a 5* hotel. When we got to the pool it was so dirty I didn't dare take a dip. After seeing most of the grounds we went back to the room to think about what we was going to do, on the way back there were kids laying a sitting blocking the steps to get up the the floor of our room. When we got back me and my partner decided to go to reception and upgrade are room to one with its own pool. When we spoke to the lady she didn't have any rooms and didn't bother to ask why we was unhappy telling us the room is nice. The next morning we went to breakfast and the variety was terrible we knew this because we had been in Thailand for 12days staying at 4 other hotels which were fine. When I was sat a breakfast I saw a cat wee on someone's chair leg which was disgusting. My reaction was to leave the hotel immediately so we when to reception and asked for the manager. We told him everything and he came to the room to see for himself. He left and offered to give us another room and a free nights stay for the night before, we told him no we want a full refund and we are leaving. We got are bags and booked with another hotel across the island.


For all people going to this hotel it is not a 5* I would give it a 3* rating so over prices for what it is.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Palmer372,

Firstly, welcome to Trip Advisor.

Happily, it doesn’t happen often, but there are times when, despite our best efforts, we are unable to satisfy a particular guest’s requirements.

Palmer372, throughout our interactions it was clear that the best solution would be for us to amicably (more or less) part ways. We hope that your second choice meets your needs.

Warm Regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Centara and would definately stay again should we return to Koh Samui. We stayed in a one bedroom suite (building 1) that was well worth the extra cost, the position and view from our balcony was just magical. We had no problems with the housekeeping service and cleanliness of the rooms, plus we found the staff very friendly and attentive.

However there are a few niggles that in our opinion makes this a good hotel if there were a few changes it would it could be a GREAT hotel. Prior to staying here we stayed 1 week at Centara Grand, Hui Hin, so obviously we were comparing the 2 hotels.
1. Guests reserve sunbed from 7.00 am, sad people I know but this could be prevented by adoptiing a different system and there being more pool addendants (maybe adopt system that is in place in Centara Hotel, Hui Hin)s we felt this was just perfect.
2. Breakfast in the Palm Court was very disappointing for location, quality and service, After our second day we discovered breakfast was also served at the Spice Island overlooking the ocean, The food quality was the same but surroundings and service were superb - special thanks to Tuan, Aoi and Mam who served our breakfast most days, these staff members were amazing, and nothing was too much trouble.
3.Check in had my reservation as a two room booking, gave me the wrong passports and credit card,failed to explain the features of the room and did not inform me of offers and discounts avaivable when I discovered the 30% cash back it was too late it had to be booked within the first 24 hours of check in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear BillogBob,

Thank you so much for posting your review after your recent stay. We’re delighted that you found Building 1 to your liking and plan to return.

Thank you for the suggestions. We’ll ask our friends in Hua Hin for their advice on the sunbed system.

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast by the sea. It truly is a great way to start the day. We’ll certainly pass on your kind remarks to Tuan, Mam and Aoi.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at check-in. The scenario you described is not acceptable and we’ll monitor this process more closely with the team at Reception.

BillogBob, thank you again for choosing Centara, we do hope that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The biggest pull for the Centara is without a doubt the wonderful stretch of beach it sits upon. For this reason alone I can recommend it. Check in was painfully slow, no welcome drink at all either. The downsides are that the rooms are exceedingly tired and not especially clean, the bathrooms are pretty horrible too and are in desperate need of upgrading. That said I did check out some of the suites with a view to upgrade next time and they are much better but still not really 5 Star quality. Food is just ok, breakfast not inspiring but fine, again not 5 Star quality really. For the most part we headed further afield for dinners but there are plenty of options close by if wanted as location is great if you want to explore Chaweng. The childrens play room is dirty and tired too which was disappointing for my young but exceedingly discerning 18 month old son soon forgotten with another swim in the sea though!. Staff are all sweet and pleasant. The spa is good and pretty good value actually. I would recommend taking up the “free money” offer upon arrival, basically you put down X amount and get a free percentage on top to offset your bill during the stay. To sum up, yes we will go back because the beach is wonderful and just hope we can a suite for a decent price or Centara would finally refurbish their other rooms! It’s such a wonderful location and they are missing out on making it a truly 5 star experience!

Room Tip: upgrade to a newer room or a suite, the standard ones are really not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear MatthewC655,

Thank you for sharing your review. We thank you for your positive feedback on the beach and spa.

Thank you also for mentioning our Baht Bonanza promotion which is a great way for guests to get more value for their money.

We do hope that you will return and perhaps look in to a Pool suite which we’re certain your young son would really enjoy.

Warm regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.