We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, perfect beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi + Free ABF
Ranked #16 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, perfect beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Friends told me to book this hotel as it has the best beach access and the best swimming beach and they were not wrong! Beautiful large lawns and magnificent swimming pool lead onto a wide beach frontage whereas most other hotels have just 50m! The restaurant under the trees just off the beach is a great place to have Thai food and Sushi. We had the room on the ground floor which had its own private pool which was an added bonus. It is close enough to the nightlife but just far enough so quiet at night. Great family location.

Room Tip: Room with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear TwinAbuDhabi,

On behalf of the management team, we’d like to express our thanks to you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind words regarding our facilities are received with great pleasure.

You’re so right about the beach. We boast the finest beach frontage (over 300 meters long!) of any hotel in Samui. If soft, white sand is what you need to make your holiday complete, we’ve got you covered.

Thank you also for the kind comments on our restaurants. They are your best bet if you want to the unsurpassed view of the beach and the shining blue sea.
We’re so happy to hear that your holiday was a good one for the whole family.
Keep us in mind when in the middle of the Abu Dhabi summer you feel the need for some cool sea breezes.

We do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    455
    134
    57
    33
See reviews for
320
668
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed with the wife and two children (a 2 year old and 1 year old) in the middle of Dec 2013, the good points - the hotel is located in an excellent location, near all the shops, restaurants within easy walking distance. The beach is fantastic albeit the waves were quite high for our children! The hotel grounds are very nice and the staff in general were very friendly.

To the bad points - as some of the previous reviewers remarked, our room was rather dated and in need of some refurbishment. Condensation on the ceilings, mold permanently stuck to the grout in the shower area, chipped basins and generally a bit old fashioned. To be fair, we did not ask to be moved as we were located right next to the lobby (perfect for us having to drag two children!). We came to the conclusion that there were only 3 high chairs available for the whole hotel, which led us having to fight for them at breakfast time. A shame that a small issue like this can not be resolved by management.

Finally, the food at their restaurants was good in general, we had one evening where the curry we ordered tasted distinctively bad (we both tried it). We made the waitress aware and ordered a different curry - to amazement, this tasted bad as well! The explanation of the chef for this was that the coconut was fresh and this was a distinct taste of this specific coconut. Did he not taste his food???

Lastly, Kids club is not really a kids club... there were hardly any toys and the whole place was in dire need of some investment. Let's just say that TV is not the answer!

In conclusion, I rate this resort a solid 2 our of 5 as in comparison, the Grand Centara in Hua Hin is a definite 5/5. There is no comparison!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Globetrotteruk77,

Firstly, we’d like to express our thanks to you for taking the time to offer your review following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects (location, grounds, beach, staff etc.) of your stay with us.

Thank you for your recommendation on additional highchairs at breakfast. We have added supplementary equipment to alleviate this challenge. We also reminded our breakfast team that guests with very young children already have their hands full at breakfast and require extra assistance.

Please accept our apologies for the experience you describe with the curry. We do get consistently positive feedback on our Thai menu so this is a bit puzzling. Still, the exchange was conveyed to our Kitchen team.

Lastly, our Kid’s Club has seen steady improvement recently and we have plans for new equipment (both for the playrooms and playground) for 2014. The Camp Safari to which you refer is open to ages 4 and up so its true that there is probably less there for families with toddlers. We’ll certainly explore this aspect as we expand the offering to be more family-friendly. By the way, we welcome the comparison with Centara Hua Hin as we consider their standard for quality a benchmark that we should match or surpass.



Apart from the points you rightfully mentioned it does seem that overall you did take pleasure in your stay and we thank you again for sharing your review.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you here (or to our sister hotel in Hua Hin) again.


Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Centara Grand Beach hotel in Koh Samui from 21st to 27th of December.
We paid a premium,as we booked our hotel room at the last minute and it is a peak time for holiday makers in Thailand. Our deluxe room was nice although not very big. There wasn't any bathtub but the bathroom was big enough for 2 people. The swimming pool was very nice and big. the beach was lovely and there were plenty of loungers for the hotel guests. The fitness centre is great, there are 2 rooms: one for weights and another one for cardio exercise. My only negative comments would be that we paid £170 a night and breakfast was not included which was an extra £12 per person. Plus we were told upon arrival that if we wanted to stay over New Year we had to pay about £100 each to attend the NY gala dinner, and this was compulsory.So we sadly had to leave the hotel as we could not afford to pay for this very expensive gala dinner.
I would say that overall the Centara is a nice hotel but don't stay there at peak hols time as they'll be out there to get you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Deborah Goldweis,

On behalf of the management team, we’d like to express our thanks to you for taking the time to offer your wide-ranging review following your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our facilities are received with great pleasure.

Your assessment on the various tariffs is also well-received. We realize that some travelers during the peak holiday season are expecting the pricing structures normally associated with low season travel. The reality is that prices do increase during the second half of December through the first week of January. That is true of travel destinations throughout the world.

Apart from the points you rightfully mentioned it does seem that overall you did take pleasure in your stay and we thank you again for sharing your view.

We look forward to welcoming you again.


Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Loved everything about this hotel, fab location right on the beach and near markets for browsing. You can hire a jeep for dirt cheap nearby across the road too to do some exploring. Spa pricey, but again across the road there are many other options. Gym decent enough, staff friendly, overall really pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Christian W.,

It’s great to hear that your stay with us was a good one and you enjoyed the beach, gym and nearby markets. We think it’s brilliant that you hit the road in a rental Jeep too. It’s hard to go wrong with a leisurely drive around the island –keep the sea on your left and it’s all good!

We do hope your family will come back for a repeat visit someday.

All the best for 2014!

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was my first visit to Samui on December 30, 2013 and Centara was a place I stayed. The Check-in process was incredibly fast. If you plan to go checking out around don't even claim up to the bed, your plan will certainly fail ha ha ha, as the bed and pillows are soooooo comfortable, and you will be bond into it. The hotel staff were so naturally nice, I could feel that they are like that themselves. They are local people there who are so kind and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Punchy M.,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your (short) stay with us. Maybe next time you can come for a bit longer and enjoy some sightseeing…or perhaps just more time to relax!

Whichever it is we do hope you’ll make you way back to Samui at some stage.

All the best for 2014!

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

we stayed here in august 2012,it is a beautiful hotel,plenty of sun loungers around the pool and on the beach.The hotel is near to the main town which has lots of lovely bars and restaurants..We went to James Bond island which was lovely although it was raining hard the day we went and the sea was very choppy,they gave us all sea sickness pills.Koh Samui is beautiful and we'll worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Karen S.,

Thank you for sharing your review with the readers of Trip Advisor. It’s been a while, but I trust that means you still have fond memories of your Samui holiday!

Please do come back to visit us again. We’ve got a fantastic new sea excursion partner and they can take you to some really incredible places.

All the best for 2014!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed there on 24-27 Nov 2013. During my stay, it's raining every other day.
The Ko Pha Ngan can't be operated. So most of the time, I stayed in the hotel & that didn't make me bored. Centara is a big hotel & have got big pool, big garden & gym.
For me, I enjoyed a lot with yoga practicing.
It's my first time to practice yoga under the coconut trees & in front of the sea. Great experience that I was really relaxing & closing to the nurture.
Thank you so much for all staffs especially Joe Clasby who lead me 2 times /day yoga lesson.
I love it very much & for sure Centara is my first choice in Samui.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ratto H.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re sorry to hear that the weather during your stay wasn’t all sunshine and blue skies, but really November is the traditional rainy season for us. It’s generally pretty wet that month, but on the bright side it does keep everything green and lush for the other months of the year.

We’re happy to hear that the yoga classes and resort facilities made your stay an enjoyable one.

We hope someday you can come back to visit us in a ‘sunny’ time to really experience a full Centara holiday in true tropical splendor.

Thank you again for your positive comments.

All the best for 2014!


Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.