We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a quieter area of cheweng” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a quieter area of cheweng”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here in February for 6 days, the hotel is situated at the quieter end of chaweng with plenty of restaurants and shops on your doorstep, anyone complaining about the situation of the hotel obviously hasn't done their homework! Lets face it this is chaweng and if you want peace and quiet go to a more secluded resort! We arrived at 10 am and were advised we were upgraded to a plunge pool suite for 1 night and despite check in being from 3pm we were escorted straight away to our room which was very much welcomed after our long journey. Next day we moved to our 1 bedroom suite which was very large and decorated in thai style with a lovely view over the gardens and sea. The sea breeze restaurant is situated right on the beach and hard to miss and the food was excellent and very competitively priced. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the wait staff very attentive and totally charming. There was no problem getting a sunbed either on the beach or in the grounds, although I have to agree they looked very grubby and really not suited to a 5star hotel, In regards to the room the coffee, tea and shower gel were not replenished daily which was disappointing as you shouldn't have to chase for basics like this. We were invited to a welcome cocktail party which was very nice with canapés and drinks and thai dancers and a chance to meet the senior staff. Also a big issue for me was paying premium rate per night I really expect to get free wifi, if I can get it outside the hotel in a bar free of charge then I can't see why the hotel can't provide this, other 5 star hotels we have stayed at in koh samui and Mexico provide this without charge and the hotel should seriously look at this as I don't want to have to go to the lobby in order to contact family at home. All in all though this is a lovely hotel in lovely grounds and with a bit more attention to detail as mentioned could well be a genuine 5 star resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    423
    120
    53
    31
See reviews for
301
599
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Arrived at the Centara hotel following our stay at The Santhiya Resort on Koh Phangan where every one was polite and courteous and all the staff where local.
On arrival asked where the loo was and had an arm flung out to indicate walking the full length of reception down some stairs and basically find it your self. Not impressed
Arrived in our ''deluxe'' plunge pool room the outside area was more than filthy it was black as where all the other similar areas that we could see.
We had some fruit left for us in our room which we thought was a nice touch unfortunately when we came to eat some we picked it up turned it over and it was black, rotten and slimy,why put that in someones room?
The Centara is almost twenty years old and tired it could be located anywhere in the world as there is nothing Thai in its design.People who have stayed at the Centara three and four times before have said the standards are going down which is a shame. This is a big hotel in a prime location and could do better but is being let down.
The staff at the Centara are not all Thai but many come from bordering countries and don't have the same lovely caring polite natures as the Thia people its a shame as it shows....
One member of staff who stood out was Kung who looked after us in our room, she should be employee of the month every month and promoted to employee training she is a credit to the Centara, also the Deli at the Centara was very good as was the staff in the deli.

Room Tip: take plenty of insect repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Centara in Chaweng is older than some of the other Centara group, but has been well maintained. The grounds are lovely and the pool, although not particularly large was spotless. The staff are all very helpful, especially in the pool area. There is no problem asking for fresh beach towels or to have a sun umbrella moved. The food is excellent with a very wide choice for the breakfast buffet which was constantly replenished even just before it closed, there was no shortage of anything. We stayed in building 6 on the second floor, the rooms on the floor above had been refurbished but the only difference was that they had a bath in addition to the shower - it's not worth paying the extra money as all this has done is made the rooms smaller. All rooms have a sea view. The beach directly in front of the hotel is magnificent, but beware of the currents - warning signs and red flags are posted when it is dangerous. The Spa is not cheap but uses good quality products and the staff are very well trained, resulting in a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor - we were in 626 which had a lovely view of the garden as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived at the Centara not to a Thai smiley face or a friendly greeting, but a rude young Comrade who retorted sit there, then 5 mins later she demanded we move by sitting over here. We finally had a demand of "Passport an Credit Card " so abrupt I could have walloped her, We then were treated to what I can only describe as a glass of dentist mouthwash, foul green coloured drink of some sort. We were then allowed to find our own room, not escorted! the room was OK a little tired a little small with the front door lock hanging off. But through the trees we could see the sea, so as we booked a sea view technically, we had one. The windows are loose fitting so it was always noisy day and night, with the streets to the side of us and the wind straight on.
We ventured down stairs and walked to the pool and beach area, never anywhere in the world have I ever come across such dirty sun beds, they look as if they have been dipped in sump oil, they are filthy yet if rubbed they can be cleaned. We tried to find the restaurants and requested many times in the 1st 3 days and yes, I agree with previous comments only one person on reception speaks very good English it is pot luck. To the previous travellers comment about the pool light, it is still not fixed and the wire is still there, to pull. All week dirty litter was in the same place! Around the pool! It took 6 days whilst we were there for a Japanese Tourist to eject a Comrade family and its tots from the adults only Jacuzzi, it was for 6 days I was there, it was their and only their private facilities. The road behind the hotel is noisy and tacky but rest assured no girly bars or night clubs. Breakfast was a little like watching animals eat from a trough as our hotel was 80% comrades, not known for manners or etiquette but rudeness and aggression. If you have children the beach and sea are treacherous, not safe for adults let alone kids, we were all banned for swimming in it for 3 of the seven days we were there, and good on the Thais for policing it as there are rip currents.
Now the good bits. After 3 days by accident and persistence we found the Hotel's restaurants Sea Breezes Thai, also Hagi Japanese, they were both a delight and top class food what a shame we had to endure the mediocre food in the street behind for the 1st 3 days. It seems where ever you go around the area the meals are the same, they are with drinks about £30 per head. We also visited Zicco the Brazilian restaurant as per a previous comment on this place give it a miss mainly raw food and a bun fight, the dancers were awful. Centara Beech has a charm and apart from some of the reception staff the restaurant staff are a delight, in all it could be top class but with the dirty areas, dirty sun beds, noisy rooms, shower doors that do not stay closed, front door lock hanging off, lack of information, the manager needs to get to grips, he lost money with us and we will not return, neither will we be recommending this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Location:
The hotel is on completely south-sandy part Chaweng beach. No rocks. Staff is friendly but little or no concirege services. Walking distance to shopping, entertainment and dining on Chaweng road.

We choose this hotel because of the location, 5 star modern facilities and for its sandy beach. All three expectations are fulfilled. (rooms need to be renovated)

Rooms:
Every room enjoys a great view of the ocean with good size balconies. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are quiet. I add a photo of my suite room at second floor. Rooms are not bad, but management needs to consider to renovate the rooms soon.

Beach:
Excellent sandy beach with very nice pool, tree shades and beach service. During our 6 days of stay Chaweng beach's sea was wavy and there is a reverse current time to time.

Choeng Mon Beach( 10 minutes ride- north of Chaweng Beach) is the beach protected from the wind.

Restaurants:
We eat on the beach restaurant (twice) and the sandwich/cake house (twice) our experience is above the average.

Spa:
Quality service much better than the ones on the road but 5 times expensive. Just ask for discount. They will give you %30 to %50 depending on the availability.

This is NOT a tropical resort hotel, Centara Grand is a clean cut, 4 or 5 star hotel with a good beach and lively location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks during Jan 2013 and will never return to this place again.

THE STAFF DO NOT SPEAK ENGLISH AT THIS PLACE.
There is no concierge at this hotel.

The travel agent at the hotel speaks very little English and could not give us any information about a very famous authentic Thai restaurant – which is on the Hotel’s book /brochure and around the corner from the hotel – literally 5 min walk.


This place is really tired and in a serious need for a makeover.
All the false advertisement about the room being freshly renovated, it’s very misleading.

Too crowded and the buffet breakfast is below ordinary. The flies are hovering over the smoked salmon, condiments and fruit sections.
Food at the hotel’s restaurant is overpriced, considering Thailand’s average prices.
Room size is reasonable.
The bed is comfortable.
Bathroom has a 60s style with a miss match tiles and floors...!
Curtains are ugly and dirty.
Extremely crowded, a lot of screaming kids, particularly around the pool area, the kids go in the Jacuzzi after 6 pm despite the sign saying this area is not for children, and no one is monitoring this.

This was booked by our travel agent, we did not have time to do our research and booking, so we left it to the travel agent (Flight Center) in Sydney. Apparently Chewang Beach is a very crowded place (which the travel agent failed to tell us).

We had booked a superior room with a balcony with an ocean view. When we arrived late at night, tired from a long flight, we were given a garden room..! We refused to check in and requested they honour our booking for a room with an ocean view balcony. We were told they are very busy and they will try and do this the next day. But we did not what to have the garden room and when they realised that we are serious, they said they just found a room but we have to wait for half an hour till the housekeeper clean it.

Room Tip: just avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for ten days in a one bed suite with two kids. The hotel is split into a number of buildings, each of which has three levels. We stayed in building 7 , which is probably one of the nicer blocks and appears to have been renovated or at least of a higher standard than the rooms in blocks 1, 2. The room itself was very spacious, well-furnished and clean. See attached picture of the resort layout with buildings 8 to 1 right to left. We saw rooms in other buildings that were not renovated and which were very small and grubby. The water was discoloured, and I have seen this in Koh Samui before but not at every hotel. The daily breakfast buffet is not that great and the food is left uncovered despite the proliferation of insects. The western food in general should be avoided unless you particularly like stodgy fatty food covered in mayo and sauces. The Thai food on the other hand is very good and worth trying if not just to avoid the madness of main street Chaweng on the odd occasion. The wine is worth avoiding as it is not stored properly and goes off. Beer as with everywhere else is the best bet. Beach is great and pool is in reasonable order. Staff around the hotel are very friendly but there is a real language barrier (and not just in the hotel) that makes for a little frustration (but I don't speak Thai so what can I expect) as requests for things can sometimes be met with a polite smile and nodding that generally means "I have no idea what you just said". Location is a little away from the bustling part of the street but there are still restaurants and bars within walking distance. The hotel is not a luxury resort but it is not a dump either. Lots of Russian, Israeli and German tourists stay here so some of the service and food appear to be geared towards their tastes rather than the average Australian, UK or American. Kids club is practically non-existent and is just a couple of rooms where kids are dropped off to play with some old toys or video games. Supervision is minimal and duty of care is really with the parents. The daily activities are not well managed. We opted for a daytime babysitter for a lot of the time instead. Used the Spa a number of times (including the aftersun treatment which was great when I got burnt) and this was about the level you can expect for a good tourist hotel.

Room Tip: Building 7,8 have been renovated and have a good outlook. If you have young kids then go for the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.