We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Got Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Got Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Centara Grand and had a great time. The hotel was lovely and friendly staff. We stayed in Block 8 on the top floor which had a wonderful view. The beach was really nice as was the pool. The venders on the beach are great. I used to get corn on the cob at lunch time. I used to tell them what time I would like it and they used to bring it over. There was always plenty of sunbeds so did not have to worry about what time I got up. Breakfast was good and all different types of fresh bread was lovely. The room was ok and bed was comfy. Maybe in need of updating to get 5 star standard. The location of the hotel was excellant. In walking distance to all resturants and bars but still in a quieter location so not to hear all the noise from the street. We did eat in the hotel resturant twice which was nice but expensive. There is loads to choose from outside. The market stalls for eating is so cheap and really good food so worth a try. We went tried loads of different places and just loved it. I went to the gym at the hotel a few times which is good and had treadmills, cross trainers, bikes and weights. Go to the managers cocktail party on the beach as this was really nice and also got to meet other guests. We would definately return to this hotel. Happy holidays...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    423
    120
    53
    31
See reviews for
301
599
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

just got back from this hotel we stayed in a seaview room (just see it through trees) and our room (321) was right on the corner above breakfast area and reception so got a bit noisy at times. balcony was not very private felt like people could see us . also needs a little bit tlc . decoration needing just little touches here and there but overall great room nice clean comfy bed ,did not spoil our stay (but i could understand that some people might moan!) breakfast great staff very friendly,
pool area was lovely lots of shade from the palm trees , beautful beach , no hassel from the beach sellers , they will show their wares from a distance and if you are interested you call them over (remembr to haggle) ,
great little portable bar on beach they would arrive every morning set up their bbq cool box and fruit , and you can go up and get a chang for £1.20 and a nice buttery corn for about same price really friendly .
you can also book your trips from the beach .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmondsworth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed for 14 nights at the Centara Grand Beach Resort Chaweng Beach Koh Samui in May 2012. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. The hotel was lovely but the bedrooms a little dated. Breakfast was amazing with so many choices. The beach was great and was away from the main Chaweng Beach so was in a quieter location. The food and drinks was a little expensive. We mainly had drinks in the happy hour as drinks were more than double the price from bars adjacent to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good size rooms, bit dated, clean, excellent breakfasts. Great hotel owned Deli in the shops next door. The gym has good cardio equipment bit limited in the loose weight section. Pool area was clean, not sure about the jacuzzi though, felt a bit grimey when we got out. Very expensive to eat in the hotel. This isn't a problem though as there are plenty of places to eat at. Try the Ninja Crepe restaurant, fantastic food.
All told a not to bad of a choice hotel to go back too from the hussle and the bussle of the town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from a 16 night stay at centara grand resort koh samui . The hotel was excellent had massive comfy kingsize bed within a large bedroom , pool is better than the photo's and the sea was crystal clear with powder white soft sands . Dont know why people put bad reviews of this resort as thought it was beautiful , and location was brillant and staff very friendly .

This was our first visit to thailand and will definately return .... hotel was located in the quieter south chawang but was only a short walk from the very lively nighlife , there were loads of restaurants and bars to choose from . You can easly get lunch for £4.00 for two people and we usually spent £20.00 for two for dinner and drinks , although if you wanted to the hotel restaurants were excellent but a lot dearer.

We throughly recommend the walking street market in chaweng and friday night fishermans village in bo phut which was great fun , we also did a trip for elephant trekking and elephant show and we even got a photo taken with a real tiger . we took a boat trip to koh tao and nangyuan, the island was stunning and well worth a visit .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you dislike large properties and walking then this hotel is not for you.
I found this hotel just gorgeous. It has obviously been kept very well with lovely landscaped gardens on such a nice piece of land. Yes it's huge and you do need to walk up and down stairs, but there's no harm in that. There are numerous pools which cater for both adults and children. The kids area is great and there's always plenty of activities and things for children to do. Outside on the grass area there are daily activities e.g volleyball and yoga. I would opt for a room with an ocean view rather than a garden view room (not actually sure the names of the room types). Rooms are of a reasonable size and are modern and well furnished. This hotel is located in the HEART of Chaweng but staying here makes you feel so secluded as it's such a lovely surrounding. This property is for everyone! Lovely beachside restaurant/bar with delicious food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Generally a great hotel. Can't fault the friendliness of the staff, the grounds and rooms. All top notch. What did irritate us was the fact that there were zero kids club activities. I saw a board advertising certain activities but they never materialised... Whilst it might have been shoulder season the hotel could have still asked if we would like to have the Kids Club activated. (There were other Kids at the hotel...)

Another irritation is the fact that one pays an exorbitant amount of money for a greek salad when ordered around the pool but the salad arrives with two olives and two small chunks of feta. Complaining to the staff doesn't help because they most of them can't speak English! Small gripes I know... But irritating nonetheless.

A great hotel and a wonderful location. Wonderfully friendly staff. Great Beach!! Make sure you sample the BBQ'd corm from the vendor on the beach!!

Room Tip: Stay away from the end of the hotel that's close to Zico's or you'll hear the Samba musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.