We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday/wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Holiday/wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

A dream come true, everything was perfect, nothing was problem, staff very attentive! Hotel grounds absolutely gorgeous! Wedding package arranged by hotel was a dream come true! Would highly recommend! Thanks to all at centara grand! Cu next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    376
    108
    51
    26
See reviews for
258
523
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is the best...staff very helpfull......and most of all happy and always smiling...very clean resort and the food was wonderful . Loved this resort, my friends had their wedding there...and let's just say...it was a true dream...red carpet....lovely flowers and great service....even had a wee man carry my handbag around for most of the day...while i took photo,s...would go back to this hotel or other centara hotels any time..it was that lovely

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A dream come true .From first contact with centara grand with a room request which far exceeded our expectations to small things like a corkk screw to be bought to the room nothing but nothing was a bother.Our room in building one was clean modern , fresh and bright. The view over the beautifully manicured gardens to the white sand and crystal clear water was uninterupted. Many a lazy hour or two was spent on the comfy lounges on our balcony gazing at the constantly changing beach activity.Every staff member greeted us with a polite word and smile which really touched us The house keeping ladies (one inpaticular palm) were just fantastic and really seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Breakfast and bar staff treated us like royalty,many a time at the breeze bar we were greeted by someone with cool wet towels to freshen up before enjoying our half price happy hour cocktails with a complimentry selection of nuts ,avery nice touch.The pool and surrounds were lovley but a little busy at times with sun lounges being occupied early in the day.The beach out the front was the best we saw on the island on our 12 day stay .It was safe got deep very slowly and was crystal clear with some beach food and trinket vendors about who to be honest gave us no problem ,werent pushy and if you wanted a cheap snack of fresh cooked pineapple ,corn on the cob or a cold drink they were actually a blessing.whilst at chewang we got around the island and its many atractions by a scooter we hired which was great(for a smallisland there is so much to do)
including excellent small beach huts to fine dining restaurants. The food and beverage service is excellent reasonably priced clean and tidy no tummy bugs at all no ice problems infact no problems at all.Enough of my raving I CANOT RECOMEND CENTARA GRAND HIGHLY ENOUGH we will be back next year we loved it David and Sue Atkin

Room Tip: i hate to tell you this because you might take my spot but room 124 building1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Loved this hotel, in such a good spot, not right in the hustle and bustle but close enough that you can walk. The hotel has great restaurants and bars. The facilities can not be faulted. The pool and beach area, well kept. If I had to say one negative was the room may have been a little bit old fashioned, but to be honest that didn't impact our stay. It was a great hotel, would recommend to others and would go there again.

The beach was great, and would recommend you buy all drinks all the beach as it is much cheaper, however happy hour is worth while and the bars make great cocktails.

Breakfast is vast with lots of choice too. Very good hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower swanwick
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel on arrival has a wow effect ,we were then shown to our room thats was a long way from lifts ,We asked for a lower floor room and were told it would cost extra but it was still a long way from receiption ,We settled on a ground floor room only to move after 3 nights as we were below the bar and next to the billiard table and it was so noisy at 3 oclock in the morning ,The hotel is lovely but the bathrooms need to be renovated they are so tired .We had one evening meal in the hotel it was called the market place and was stalls set up on the lawn you could try all types of Thai food we had a lovely evening .We would very much like to say a big thankyou to Danielle ,she was so helpfull nothing to much trouble even brought her large pencil sharpener from home to sharpen my eye pencil (thankyou again from sue X) Yes i would recomend the hotel to friends it needs more entertainment in the evening allow the singer and hotel band to stay on later and also please update the bathrooms .

Room Tip: Rooms near the lift are better as hotel very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had 10 nights here in mid June 2012. Have stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 times over the last 5 years. Hotel is great and right on the beach. My only complaint would be that the rooms are starting to look a little tired. What shows the hotel up, is that following staying here I moved to the Centara in Hua Hin which I have to say is head and shoulders above this hotel in service, food and by far in room quality. Still dont let this review put you off as sure it is still one of the top hotels on Chaweng. Hopefully some investment to upgrade the rooms wont be too far away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great hotel located on southern end of the strip. We stayed in a pool suite and although quite large and comfortable I found that it really needs some cosmetic attention. There was a bubble in the imitation timber floor and the paint work was faded and cracked in places. The enntry sliding door to my childrens room (805) had a big gap at the top which allowed mosquitos in they eaten alive. I bought this to the attention of management who after some debate moved them to another room. The next morning new guests were moved in and the door had not been repaired. Right outsde the Pool suite is a stagnet large water feature which is a great breeding ground for the mosquitos. Breakfast is great and there are plenty of restaurants outside the hotel and many more within walking distance. As for things to do it is a great hotel for the kids with plenty of activities throughout the day. This end of the beach is much better than the northern end of the strip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the large stagnet water feature. It is near the HAGi restaurant side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.