We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better for this price range” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza to your Saves list
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90/13-16 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could be better for this price range”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Location is very good, and if you want to stay in Chaweng relatively close to nightspots but in a quieter place this might be the spot for you.

Hotel is beautiful, rooms are nice.

Drawbacks: checking in rather slow. Not enough electric sockets in the room.
No one to take your luggage from the reception to the room.

For this range if prices I would expect more.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    104
    32
    12
    11
See reviews for
21
104
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ibiza
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

- mattresses are on the floor
- we left one hair on the bathtub to check if they clean properly and after 8 days it was still there, the cleaning lady doesn´t seem to use any detergents and she is too busy with using her cell phone instead of cleaning
- Towel service is a joke, first day we had to ask for them at the reception and after the beach you are supposed to take them to the room and they will replace them with new ones, this almost never happens so every day you have to ask for new ones. they threaten you that if you lose them you have to pay
- shower: no water pressure, leaking tub. the floor is soaking wet after a shower
- Breakfast is poor, except for the bread and eggs
- mattresses of the sun loungers full with stains
- staff can´t be bothered with complaints or with anything for that matter. the laundry brought back a new shirt, never been washed before, with a massive hole in it.
- the beach boy was friendly, but maybe cause we tip him every time we also saw him be less friendly with others

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Friends and I stayed here in an ocean view suite. It was gorgeous and very reasonably priced considering there were several hotels in the same vicinity that were not as nice and just as expensive. There are plenty of restaurants/bars/etc within walking distance. The beach is more of a quiet lagoon, but if you walk a bit down the beach, the water is very blue and clear (this seems to be the more 'partying' type atmosphere). They had a buffet in the morning, that was great. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is ok, location is great. some of the rooms with shower problem (the water runs from the side of the bath to the batroom floor turning into a big pool.
Some of the staff were not very friendly (in thailand you are always very welcome regardless where you stay) I felt that the lady at the reception was not bothered with us there...
It just lacks a bit of attention to details... rather than that it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed oct/nov which is low season. Our stay was pleasant we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was on the ground floor and had views of the pool and sea. (This was due to reception renovations. We were not disturbed by the work and could not hear it in the room so sound proofing was good)

The room was large and spacious. Aircon was a little loud however so was our friends in the Chaweng Regent. The bath room had a shower and separate bath. Bath was deep and big and could hold two people but took ages to fill. House keeping were good and added the nice touch of lighting aroma oils when they turned the room down.

Mini bar and restaurant reasonably priced. There was a decent variety of choice on the menu and had everything I may want from a breakfast. Fruit, variety of bread choices, cooked breakfast, cereals and pastries etc.

Good location as not loud and noisy but in walking distance to all of Chaweng.

For the price we paid $88aus per night Iyara was good value and a pleasant holiday location. I would recommend to people who want to stay in the heart of chaweng be on the beach but don't want to spend more than $100 a night. If the hotel is asking a higher rate in peak season you maybe disappointed as the rooms are not as new as other resorts.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly
The hotel is located close to the restaurants and bars.
Unfortunately, the rooms were a bit disappointing..
For summarize, it worth the money but if you want to pay a bit more you can find a better place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

we were two families with kids (total 9 persons) and stayed there for a week.
Very good hotel, private beach, decent pricing, good food, nice staff, good location
If you book this hotel get the rooms with view to the pool and to the sea.

Room Tip: take the rooms with view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza

Address: 90/13-16 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iyara Beach Hotel And Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand
Iyara Beach Koh Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.