We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“- and + of the hotel & review of Thai massages in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nora Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“- and + of the hotel & review of Thai massages in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I booked the hotel for 2 nights out of the 5 days in mid Dec right before the Christmas rate hike at most of the hotels. It's our first time to Koh Samui and want to stay at a hotel that's close to the airport as we will arrived late and located with plenty of spas and massages stops outside of the hotel.

From reading the reviews on this hotel we were expecting this hotel to be dated and we will look for other hotels after 2 nights. We check in their standard deluxe room in the ground floor room in the main row of buildings. And we were not pleasantly surprised that the pluses of the hotels out weight the minus.

First the minuses:
-rooms are dated
-no window in the bathroom
-shampoo and conditioner are in jars, have to use fingers to scoop out(personal sanitation concern since it's not replace daily, just refilled)
-no full size mirror in the room( important for ladies)
-door is not sound proof can hear people talking walking by if you are a light sleeper
-no ocean view in any of the main building rooms except the the bungalows by the beach

the pluses
+locations, locations: less than 15 minutes from the airport. if you hate long rides to hotel after a long flight like me, this is a good choice
+room is slightly dated, but it's clean
+friendly and efficient staff with fast check in and delivering whatever you call in fast
+beach side breakfast buffet: the breakfast selection is good, what we love the most is the restaurant by the beach. we went to almost every hotels in Chaweng later and could not find better breakfast location than Nora's restaurant. For us the morning view and time spent by the beach is the deciding factor to stay there the rest of our trip.
+price value is good

For those who are into thai massages, we here's a general price guide and tips.
-traditional thai massage 200 bht/hr for most shops in Chawang and most of the shops along the island's ring road
-oil massage massage 400-500 bht/hr (fyi most of the oil massage is not worth it if you know the tradition art of thai massage actually focus on the muscle and joints. oil is just a addition just for the tourist)
-hotel price 800-1200 bht/hr is the average for thai message, the main different is you will be in a much better sound proof rooms
-almost all shops have price list posted in English

tips
try to go to shops with older ladies who are more experience and serious, we felt the difference after getting 5 different tries.
I recommend "Glory" almost at the end of the strip at Chawang, but absolutely stay away from Preeya Massage and Spa which is located off the ring road at Bo Phut Beach area. The owner was rude and more interested in ripping for customers than providing real service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Nora Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nora Beach Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

I have noted your overall experience and feedback regarding to your minus points. I think your comments are fair and everybody have the rights to express their opinion.

With regards to our dated room, kindly note that it is in line with our design concept and the whole idea is to bring traditional Thai culture and design, however we are fully understand that some of guest prefer modern design. But I'm happy you have pointed out that our rooms are clean and with line of 4* hotel standards.

No Ocean View: I would like to inform you that all of the rooms on 3rd floor and some of them on 2nd floor are ocean view and have very nice view of our bay.

Talk about renovation, Please note that I have personally passed your comments to our GM and we will discuss this during our ordinary monthly meeting.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback. It is most important to us to guarantee that all our guests recieve a truly memorable experience whilst visiting our resort.

We do hope these little minuses will not deter you visit Nora Beach in the future.

Meanwhile, If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
om@norabeachresort.com

Yours Sincerely,

Matus Valent
Operation Manager
Nora Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    182
    80
    28
    20
See reviews for
95
331
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed wih my wife for 5 nights over the Christmas break.
The resorts is generally well maintained although the Norra Villa we stayed in is looking a bit tired but it reasonably large with a deck overlooking the pond and large bathroom (with large bath).

Points to Note:

1. We arranged a pick up from the airport to the hotel, (which is literally a 3-4 drive), The cost was THB 500 for 2 people. On the way back it was THB300.
2. Pool is large with swim up bar that gets quite busy during peak season, alhough there always appeared to be enough deck chairs for everyone. The beach is really small.
3. Breakfast was included in our rate and the selection of hold and cold was OK, not fantastic, but it suited us fine. There are guys making eggs anyway you like but it can get quite busy around 9am+.
4. The hotel arranges free transportation to the Cheweng beach during the daytime (including returns from a pick up point). In the evenings (from 6pm) they charge THB50 per person. If you are a couple this is reasonable. If you have a group of 4 or more then you may as well hail a Tuk Tuk that come past every minute or two. The going rate by the Tuk Tuk Mafia is TBD200 to and from Chewang beach to the resort. It is no more than a 5 min ride, you could walk it but the road does get hilly at times.
5. We rented a car (Suzuki 4WD, it was pretty gutless but suited us fine) for one day. The place is about 40 m to the right across from the resort to the left when you come out. We were charged THB700 for the day (they keep your passport as security). Another guy at the resort got a rate of THB per day for 4 days so do negotiate if you rent for more than one day. There is ample parking near the entrance of the resort.
6. There appears to be a lot of comments re the small tv in the room which is tiny and not lcd/plasma. From looking into the std rooms they have larger LCDs but not the Vilas where the tV is part of a wooden unit so I suspect they will not be upgrading the villas.

7. The dinner food menu looked pretty average and quite expensive. We only ordered lunches by the pool and had dinner in Chewang Beach and other nicer restaurants.

We have stayed in Koh Samui twice now in the past year (last time we were at the Meridien, which is much nicer resort, but also much more expensive, especially at Xmas time). If you can get a reasonable rate I do recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Nora Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nora Beach Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay.
I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

With regards to point 6 and 7.

No. 6: We would like to inform you that we are in process of changing our wooden cabinet, so the new LCD TV would be able to fit inside. After all this will be done, there will be no Old Tv's in our resort.

No. 7: The new lunch and dinner menu will be launched next week. We hope it will bring positive changes.

Thank you once again fror sharing your feedback and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Meanwhile, If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me:
om@norabeachresort.com

Yours sincerely,

Matus Valent
Operation Manager
Nora Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Nora Beach Resort and Spa recently, (mid December 2012) and had a wonderful stay. The staff were constantly freindly and helpful and we got the feeling they could not do enough for us on most occasions.We particularly enjoyed the peacefulness of the resort and although there was over 100 villas occupied, it never felt like there was that many people there.
We hired a scooter during our stay and that made it easier to get into Chaweng which is about a 15 minute walk from Nora Beach but some people may not mind the walk.
The beach at the resort is very clean and tidy and the biggest decision of the morning was do I swim in the ocean or the pool.
The villas are very clean and comfortable and had all facilities we expected.
We would not hesitate in booking here again.
Thank you staff and management of Nora Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Nora Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nora Beach Resort & Spa

First of all, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Nora Beach Resort & Spa. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey and Happy New Year 2013. We wish you all the best.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time here and you had such a wonderfull experience with our hotel. I will personally share your feedback with entire team.

Meanwhile, If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards

Matus Valent
Operation Manager
Nora Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here Feb - Mar 2012.
A very nice hotel in nice surroundings. A pristine, but tiny, white beach which is cleaned regularly sits right next to the hotels restaurant, pool and spa facility. I never tried the spa facilities myself but heard good things from other guests.
The beach was much better than Chaweng beach which was full of the regular sales people and drunk teenagers, here you could relax without being disturbed every 5 minutes.
The breakfast was Ok, not fantastic like I have had in other countries. The rooms were also nice, clean and service was good. The one gripe I have with the rooms was the rock slab of a mattress they used. Apparently it ties into the Spa and Wellness concept. It is NOT uncomfortable to sleep on, but not a mattress to lay on and watch TV.

Room Tip: I would not choose bungalows due to the mosquitos, I would prefer a Superior room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Nora Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nora Beach Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor. It's very nice to see that even after several months you didn't forget us.

With the regards to our beds and hard mattress I would like to inform you, that we are providing extra soft mattress on request and in very short time every room will be provide it with small layout so guests be able to contact reception in case they need softer one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Nora Beach Resort & Spa.

Meanwhile, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
om@norabeachresort.com

Yours Sincerely,

Matus Valent
Operation Manager
Nora Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Spent months looking over pictures and reviews of this hotel and when we arrived it didn't disappoint! We booked around 9 months in advance so we got an excellent price for an Ocean Villa - it was worth every penny!

The room, pool, restaurant, staff, everything about this resort was first class and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Nora Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nora Beach Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor. I hope you had a pleasant return journey.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we're hope to see you again very soon. Wish you all the best in 2013.

Best regards,

Matus Valent
Operation Manager
Nora Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful resort from November 16th until November 24th. We researched Trip Advisor and finally chose Nora Beach Resort and Spa. The things we were looking for; Not too close to the main shopping hub but not too far away either, a resort which was not too large, something which had direct access to the beach, must be clean and with friendly staff. Nora Beach Resort and Spa did not disappoint in any of these areas, in fact, we could not fault one thing about the place. One of the most pleasant aspects about this resort is the staff. By the end of the first day, they all know your name and warmly welcome you each time you arrive at the restaurant. Speaking of the restaurant, the food was magnificent and could not be faulted for either breakfast or dinner. The manager Mat, was also most friendly and approachable. We stayed in an Ocean Villa which was simply amazing. When we return to Koh Samui in the future, we will be staying at this resort. Thank you to all of our "special friends" at Nora Beach Resort and Spa for making our stay such a memorable one, we will see you again one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Nora Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nora Beach Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Nora Beach Resort & Spa. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit. Your positive feedback has been shared with entire team in the hotel and everyrone is delighted to see that their efforts are greatly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable holiday.

Best regards

Matus Valent
Operation Manager
Nora Beach Resort&Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a variety of different hot dishes every day. Rooms and whole resort was very clean. The staff were 10/10! Very friendly, polite, helpful and always smiling. A very peaceful and relaxing resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Nora Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nora Beach Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I hope you had a pleasant return journey.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit at Nora Beach Resort & Spa. Your positive feedback will be share with the entire team in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable holiday.

Best regards

Matus Valent
Operation Manager
Nora Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nora Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.