We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaweng Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chaweng Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chaweng Villa Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Moo 2 | Bophut, Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I had a great week here at the end of October after taking pot luck when deciding on a hotel. The location is ideal as it is close to all the action and eating houses and the facilities in the hotel are of a very good standard. The room I stayed in was in the new block and I couldn't fault it. The gardens and pool were well maintained and set the whole place off. All of the staff were friendly and professional and made me feel at home. The massage ladies attached to the hotel were great fun as well as giving a really good service. I shall certainly return to Samui and stay at the same hotel. The airport has to be the best in Thailand!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the gardens or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    19
    11
    13
See reviews for
3
18
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I initially booked online to get the wooden bungalows. These were cheap, but upon arrival we realized the stairs could be a problem. We negotiated a change of room and upgraded to nice villas. We ended up extending our stay. The rooms were airy and well maintained, with good access to the beach and nearby central Chaweng. The staff were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We LOVED this place in Samui. Kind of expensive, but way worth it! Would stay again and again. Have your own bungalow/villa, right off the beach, Also walk down the beach and find a place to eat right on it. So awesome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I've had excellent service here and the standard of the facility is very good. It has an excellent location if you want to be near the buzz of Chaweng Beach Road, which is the central restaurant, pub, club area of the island. I heard almost no noise from the road in my little villa (201).
You'll need a transfer from the airport and it costs 300 Bhat, which is what you'd pay if you organised it yourself so let them do that for you.
The villa has a shaded veranda to relax on, with a view on the garden. One minute away is the beautiful pool, with different levels in which to soak and swim. The beach is just down the steps from there. It's a nice beach but few waves and the water is almost sickeningly warm.
The room has a King size bed, with cable TV and air con. The hard wood effect distracts from the dated wallpaper and curtains. The bathroom is basic but clean and there is a safe in the room.Maid service is excellent.
Drinks and food are very reasonable compared to the prices on the main road. The breakfast has continental/fruit and Asian style stuff, both in great quantity.
I'm here on my own and there are a lot of couples, which is a bit tiresome but guests and staff have all been very pleasant.
1700 Bhat per night (35 euro) incl breakfast: great value, I think.

Room Tip: Garden villa away from the pool is very calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I found this hotel online. It was one of the few places I could find a vacant room in at a short notice over the phone.

It was absolutely disgusting. Dirty, sleazy and the staff where uninterested in catering to any of my requests.

I couldn't stay in the hotel, I tried to spend as much time away from it as I could. My room was so dirty that I only slept for 2 terrible hours and woke up early in the morning to find another hotel to move to.

I can't name a single good thing about this hotel. I totally recommend Montien House (check my review on it), it costs less and provided a completely different and warm experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We book the hotel day in advance for 3 night stay.
Reservation taken was polite and helpful. Got some minor discount.
Rooms are oldy and not very clean. Toilet have no window and have smell.
Shower is very old. Bed is so-so. ABF is good.
Food is ok but nothing very special.
All in all it is ok hotel for it's price range.
Samui is very expensive destination and not sure it worth the cost....

Room Tip: Samui is expensive. However as this year is
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This place is pretty run down and tired. For the money you pay (during peak season anyway) it's definitely not worth it, as there are MANY other choices, even if you don't see them all online. As some others have stated, this place needs a good refinishing/remodeling/repairing. I don't think the owner has put any money into it in years. Stayed in a 2 level bungalow. It was pretty moldy and full of mosquitoes. My god it was noisy! Australians that apparently functioned on zero sleep were up at ALL hours yelling their fool heads off. And the walls are so thin that even if someone was out there trying to be quiet you would still hear them clearly.
Most of the staff are friendly enough but i get the impression that even they don't like being there.
Do not rent a motorcycle from here!!! Or else look it over carefully and point out any marks or scratches no matter how small. They ripped me off big time for some "scratches" on the bike although i could barely see them and i definitely didn't put them there...i'm sure they had been there for a long time!
Wi-fi only works near the reception, so don't expect wi-fi in your room.
Overall this place is a rip-off and not worth staying at with so many other good options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaweng Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Villa Beach Resort

Address: 157 Moo 2 | Bophut, Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaweng Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Chaweng Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Villa Beach Hotel Chaweng
Chaweng Hotel Beach
Chaweng Villa Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaweng Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.