We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach; non-smokers will be outnumbered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Fan Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Fan Sea Resort to your Saves list
Banana Fan Sea Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach; non-smokers will be outnumbered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed five nights at the BFSR. We enjoyed our time at the beach very much and stayed in a garden side bungalow that was pretty quiet. The rooms are not super flashy, but they are clean and the beds are comfy (we asked for softer pillows after the first night and we quickly got some). The beach club a few hotels over does play pretty loud bass music at night that was heard faintly in the evening, but not enough to prevent us from sleeping. We were comfortable in our room and the air conditioning worked quickly and efficiently once it was kicked on. We were also surprised by an elaborate flower display on the bed for our 10th anniversary and they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine, which was an incredibly thoughtful gesture.
The breakfast was okay-- not terrible, but not wonderful. However, the coffee was A+ and your room price included lattes, cappuccinos, etc. at will in the morning (--which was a very nice touch since other places we've been that's an upcharge).
The beach is fantastic, very clean and a good enough reason to stay here.
The main drawback to this resort for us was that we felt that we were one of the only non-smokers staying and we were surrounded by cigarette smoke at every turn, all day long. In the morning, people were puffing away in the restaurant even though there were "zones" marked for smoking/non smoking, they were not separated enough to make a difference. Also, on the beach, it got old very quickly. The resort does advertise itself as a non-smoking resort and when we asked, we were told, yes, they were because smoking was forbidden in the lobby and in the rooms...But it is a little misleading. The staff said they couldn't really ask people to stop smoking and suggested we ask people to move away from us if they were bothering us. We wouldn't feel comfortable doing so.
The staff were all geuninely friendly as well. A pretty nice hotel overall that would be great if they could work on accommodating smokers and non-smokers alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    230
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
191
387
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We came back for the second time (after 5 years) and stayed in a garden bungalow. We were greeted like family and felt very welcome. The bungalow was very small so we asked for another bungalow and they gave us (complementary) a bungalow for 3 persons, just for the two of us. That was nice and we had therefore more space. The exterior of the hotel and the garden look amazing. On the other hand I must say that the bungalows are a bit outdated from the inside. That goes for the room and the bathroom. I would only come back if they renovate the bungalows because it is really too old. If you have a high standard I would not recommend it.
But besides that, there are a lot of pros;
the location (in Chaweng but not at the busiest place)
the staff (very kind and polite people who like to make a conversation and are interested in you)
the beach (soft sand and the sea is lovely and in my opinion one of the best in Asia)
the beautiful garden
the restaurant (good quality, looks nice in the evening, on the beach, and the red curry with duck is amazing!)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I had reserved a deluxe thai village which turned out to be a superior room ( I know what the definition means).However it turned out to be a room off the lobby above a garage/kitchen/staff meeting place facing the street. At 2.00am I heard glass bottles being dumped.
I was offered a upgrade at $40 more to a garden suite amongst the palms, if you have to have lights on during the day then to me it says move along.Which is exactly what I did.

Breakfast service- Rates a big fat zero, is that hot at 8.00am to ignore the farang?
This is an extremely old establishment, there are more modern places such as KC Beach Club next door and Ozo and The Library in succession

Room Tip: Location location location, if in doubt email the hotel asking the room description
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a group of eight and we were looked after well, nothing was ever a hassle for them and every request was met with a smile.

They remembered our coffee orders each morning.

Its is a great location as it is walking distance to everything but at the quieter end of Cheweng Beach.

The resort is big enough to have an atmosphere but small enough that it is not overun by too many guests.

I recommend staying here as it is a great mid range resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Decided to take a week at the beach.....not really beachy people but it was nice all the same.
Hotel....we had room 206 + 207 as we had two kids with us and it was ideal, Large clean rooms both wth separate bathrooms....yes bathrooms a bit dated but clean.
Staff are very pleasant and very efficient.....Koh Samui seemed to be quiet...possibly due to the coup but we never felt threatened.

One negative....Hotel states non-smoking restaurant but fails to enforce it and having to inhale someone fag smoke at 7am is not nice! Either enforce it or do not advertise it!

Hotel restaurant is ok, food nice, but better to be had outside to be honest.

Breakfast was adequate and again staff very good.

Beach was clean with plenty of sunbeds.....although many folk seemed obsessed in claiming them at the beach and the pool...at the same time....glad we are not beachy people....some seem strange ;-)

Room Tip: 206-207 for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

have stayed here 4 times and the hotel staff never fail to impress. From the water and cool towels when being collected at the airport, to the clean and spacious rooms, the excellent breakfast, the massage at the beach, to the staff who go out of their way to make your stay fabulous.
The location is brilliant at the best end of the beach and close enough to the shops but far away enough to enjoy tranquility.
the rooms are older but always clean, good water pressure and everything works, and the wifi is also good. Traditional NOT modern, so if brand spanking new hotel is what your after this is not the place for you. But if a comfortable clean place that makes you feel special and valued, then banana Fan Sea is the place to stay

Will stay here again and have no issues recommending to others.

Room Tip: Massage on the beach - ladies there are fabulous and very professional. Across the road and up abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had our 4th family holiday in April 2014 at Banana Fan. The reason that we keep going back is that it is just such a fantastic hotel situated in the best site in on Chaweng Beach. The staff are incredible and really went out of their way to make our stay a memorable on.

The food is really great and it's worth having your dinner on the beach especially the Monday night buffet or the private dining on the beach.

The Maytham & Moir families - South Africa

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the garden cottages as they are much nicer than the rooms attached to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Fan Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.