We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Fan Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Fan Sea Resort to your Saves list
Banana Fan Sea Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights. While Koh Samui isn't top of my list for fave Thailand destinations as is def geared towards those there to party rather than a family, the resort was comfortable and after I was bitten by a monkey the staff were very helpful and kind in tending to my needs and ensuring I got to the hospital for follow up treatment. Our first night we were placed in one of the front rooms that was very noisy and as we were travelling with a child it wasn't ideal, but the staff kindly relocated us that night to room further out the back. So def recommend staying out the back of the resort for quiet if you're not in Koh Samui to make the most of the party life. Pool was good. Breakfast was included in the accommodation cost and was standard expected.

Room Tip: Down the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    230
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
191
385
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife, infant son and I stayed 10 days at the Banana Fan Sea Resort we had a very relaxing holiday. This resort has a rare combination of excellent location on beautiful beach along with staff that possessed a strong spirit of pride and happiness in their work. It makes a huge impact when you stay at a place where the people are happy to have you around and care about your well-being. This in many respects is a reflection of great front office and restaurant leadership. Further, the resort facilities and services were very well thought-out. We were very happy with breakfast and resort restaurant generally, and the restaurant in located at a beautiful location by the beach. The menu had a great diversity and was priced reasonably. Finally, our infant son was treated as a jewel by every category and rank of staff everyday at the resort, and we could see how this love toward him by so many different people made his vacation an occasion for personal and social growth. Our greatest thanks to a wonderful place and a distinguished team of professionals. Banana Fan Sea Resort provides many lessons in the true spirit of hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights -- friendly staff, nice room, and right on the beach! We ended up sitting by the pool as it's close to the beach but you don't get hassled by the vendors trying to sell you stuff.

Close to good night life but far enough that you can unwind and relax. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Such a lovely hotel in a great location on the main beach. Lovely pool and very clean rooms. Restaurant staff were very attentive for drinks and lunch around the pool. Many great touches e.g. every night the beds were turned down, a flower on the pillow and a citronella candle lit. They went out of the way to celebrate my friend's birthday and the front of house staff always knew our names and were so kind. A very special mention goes to "Pop" the activities lady who told us where to go for dinner every night and was never wrong. She also organised all our activities and really talked us through in detail all the options. A very lovely lady who really made our stay. The market at Fisherman's village on a Friday night is a must. The only slight complaint was that our room bordered the main road and was fairly noisy but it didn't wake us up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was a fantastic experience. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in December. We had a wonderful time. When we arrived at the airport a staff member came and picked us up from the airport and gave us water and cold face towels. The staff were great, it was my boyfriend's birthday during our stay and without any mention from him or myself, there was a mention of this in the daily newsletter, a birthday cake with singing at breakfast and a happy birthday song from the reception staff! The staff would go out of their way to help you. The restaurant at the hotel was brilliant, we ended up eating here every night of our stay as the food was so good! The pool is lovely, and of course the hotel is right on the beach and close enough to the main street etc so that is great too. The rooms are bungalow style and were cleaned once a day and at night the staff would turn down the bed and then light a citronella candle, which was a great touch. Overall a brilliant stay, hope to go back one time soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

this was my third time and for my husband the second at Banana Fan Sea. As a repeater you usually will find in some Hotels little mistakes but not at Banana Fan Sea. Although the weather wasn't as fine as in May we enjoyed every minute of our 22 days stay. And again it is the wonderful gentle staff which gives you the feeling not really to be a guest but a member of a big familiy.Everone has a smile for you and takes always care you feel comfortable. Never had this in other hotels and we have been all over the world.
Nice houskeeping, very good serving staff at the restaurant and the reception, management perfect, all the busy other staff people always working with a smile on their faces.
The rooms clean and comfortable, all near to the wonderful clean beach, the best part of Chaweng beach.
Nice buffet parties on Mondays with a good Poynesian entertainer Edgar, a very nice guy.
Banana Fan Sea is one of the rare Hotels in the world you come, see, feel and will return sure because this hotel has heart and soul. Thanks a lot for being a Little Paradies in this world.

Room Tip: would prefer the Deluxe rooms because of the nice terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is absolute gem. I booked following reading the reviews on this site. I was travelling alone and meeting friends in Thailand.

This hotel is one of the best value for money I have ever stayed in. Its tight on the beach and whilst not a 5 star quality the rooms are very nice and extremely clean. The pool and beach areas are well kept and the restaurant serves a varied and nice menu.

What makes this hotel extra special are the staff. They are a real credit to Thailand and this hotel. I will definitely be back in the future.

The only advice (if the manager reads this!) I would have is to move your 'shower room'. I turned up at the hotel at about 9am having travelled directly from London. The room wasn't ready which was totally fine but wanted to get changed and go sit by the pool. I was shown to a little shower room which seemed more like a staff quarters. It was full junk and not the tidiest of areas. Given its the first impression most people will get of the hotel I really would think about doing something different. A little detail and more friendly advice than a problem with my stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Fan Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.