We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bananna fan- tastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Fan Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Fan Sea Resort to your Saves list
Banana Fan Sea Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bananna fan- tastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

just back from samui, we stayed at this hotel for the second time our first visit was interuputed by a family problem and we had to return home after 4 days.so this time we booked for 8 days and had a great time, the staff lead by supit the general manager were great and made us feel safe and relaxed we have travelled in asia for many years and this hotel with all its excellent staff is right up there with anywere we have have stayed, cant wait to go back next march and hello to all the people at the bannana, from joe/jan brand

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    203
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
173
335
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the banana with my husband and 2 kids, thoroughly enjoyed it, left feeling relaxed after a great holiday.

Location is bang on, a couple of minutes walk from the stalls, bars and restaurants but no noise at the hotel. Only 15 mins from airport too.

Hotel is very clean, staff are lovely and very friendly and efficient. The only thing I would say is that the rooms are smallish and a little dated and would benefit from a bit of a spruce up. This isn't the type of holiday you spend in your room so no problem.

The hotel is on the beach which is fabulous and do clean. You can get a massage there, fresh fruit, spring rolls you name it. The pool staff are fab and bring you bar drinks at the pool and also on the beach, couldn't fault them.

All in all, would we chose somewhere different if we had our time again, nope and would we go back to the banana fan sea, definitely

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Banana Fan for 4 nights in March 2013 and really enjoyed the resort. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the whole resort was extremely clean. We were in a room nearest to the reception and were worried it would be noisy, but that worry was completely unfounded and we slept peacefully every night. Another highlight of the resort was the lovely stretch of beach in, which is far enough south to avoid to blasting music and riff raff from the central Chaweng strip. Last but not least, all staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We organised some drinks for 25 people at the hotel bar and they made sure everything was just the way we wanted. The only slight issue we had was that the bathroom was of a relatively low standard compared to the room and could use a refurbishment. Other than that, the resort was top notch!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a great resort we stayed here for 12 days with our two children aged 3 and 5. We had a villa by the pool which was lovely, ver clean and well appointed. The pool area was great and the kids spent many hours in the pool, it was no problem to get a lounger. Tip for younger kids is the main pool is deep I.e. they can not touch the bottom so handy to take some floatation devices if your kids can't swim (as mine could not). We had breakfast included and it was delicious every morning there was lots of variety yum, yum. The resort is really well located, step outside and there is a good variety of restaurants, shopping and beauty parlours for Thai massage, pedicures etc... The beach is fantastic and the resort is on a really good part of the beach with nice sand and good swimming. Also have to mention how fantastic the staff were my son hurt himself and required stitches at the local tourist hospital (also top notch if you do need it) the hotel arranged for our transport to the hospital and sent a staff member with us to help with any language difficulties, the staff member waited with us for 5 hours and then hotel picked us up...all at no charge.... They then also provided transport to the hospital for a couple of follow up visits...certainly much appreciated and so typical of the wonderful Thai people..thank you thank you if we are lucky enough to a make it back to koh Sami I would definitely stay at the banana fan again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We loved ther Banana Fan Sea Resort. We are a family of 5, with 3 boys. We stayed in Villa's 328 and 329 and felt like we had our own piece of paradise. The rooms are literally on the beach, with a jacuzzi on the front deck that we sat in and watched the waves roll in. Their were lots of envious looks from people walking past on the beach. The rooms were lovely, with plenty of room for the 5 of us.The staff were AMAZING. Nothing was too much trouble. The happy hours went for hours and the staff would come to find you to offer drinks, even when sitting on our villa's deck. The pool was very clean and large. The beach was very clean. It was walking distance to everything along the main street. We viewed other accomodation during our stay as we attended a wedding and visited friends in other resorts, but we must say Banana Fan Sea Resort was fabulous in all aspects. We all loved it and if we were to visit Koh Samui again, we would definitely choose to stay here again.
Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: All Villa's are nice but Rooms 328 and 329 are on the beach, and for a family they inmterconnect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The resort was very nice, very good services and the appartmens were clean and nice. The resort have good safety quality. Nice pool and their own beach. The wifi reaches down to the beach. The restaurant have ver good services and good food

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I had read reviews about banana fan resort claiming that the rooms and facilities were dated and that it's ridiculously overpriced, I thought these reviews must be written by pretentious tourists with overly high expectations and decided to stay as it was rated one of the top hotels in chaweng beach.
You tell locals you are staying at banana fan and they say "ooh nice hotel"
We often prefer basic accom and a real island experience but decided this time to lash out and spend the $180 a night for 4 nights.
The rooms and facilities are dated which we don't usually mind at all, but for the price, I can see why people feel let down by the quality if the rooms.
The staff were brilliant and lovely considering a lot of locals and staff at other hotels seem very jaded by the mass of tourists. The breakfast was great and pool area was nice.
Fantastic location, walking distance from party central Ark Bar, not too far, not too close to it all and heaps of trendy bars along the walk there.
Overall initially I was disappointed and felt very ripped off but after exploring the island I found that this is one if the nicest hotels available for this price range.
Koh samui is not so much your cheap cheap thai experience when it comes to accommodation so don't expect a bargain unless you're happy with basic rooms and facilities.
Chaweng beach is a mass tourist experience. No local culture unless you go elsewhere.
Next time I would stay on the more chilled out, smaller hotel bungalow vibe Lamai beach, much cooler and hip vibe over at lamai.
Overall, nice hotel, great service, great location, mass tourism area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Fan Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.