We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent resort, would stay again but very lazy staff ..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Escudo Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Escudo Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Escudo Beach Club Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   168/8-9 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 62 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent resort, would stay again but very lazy staff ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I ask myself would I stay here again? answer is definitely Yes,

The location is spot on, like 100 yards from the Soi Mango the centre of Chaweng, just up from Ark bar which is now very overpriced, room was dated and old fashioned but clean, think we paid like £25 a night GBP for a basic room (with coffee facilities) and the place is smack on the beach, can not complain about that.

Pool area is really nice and modern BUT is already showing signs of degrading - green moss appearing on pool floor says to me it has never been cleaned, was not dirty by any means and i was in there every day just showing signs.Very nice Beds in between pool area and beach i will say :)

A Chang was 70 bht by the pool which i thought was good, lot of hotels charge 100 ish so was nice surprise.

Staff were friendly dont get me wrong, but the pool area was pretty empty only like 4 or 5 around pool , dont know why as its prime location but the staff just stand around the bar all day. I dont expect to be treated like im in a 5 star resort when im paying £25 a night but i swear there would be 10+ members of staff around the bar area but i had to go up myself and order just about every drink i had there. i just found it funny more than annoying - no idea who owns resort but if they saw how lazy they are i am sure they would not be impressed - but i do stress they were all very nice and polite.

We never eat at resort so can not comment on food

As previous reviewer stated looks like they going to do a full refit soon, lots of diss-used buildings and space being cleared.

If you on a budget stay here, its nice, clean and right on the beach - just be prepared to get your own Beer :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The worst place we stayed on our trip. The room stank when we arrived and we had to air it out, the wardrobe smelt mouldy so we were unable to put any clothes in it. The room had not been cleaned properly and I found some food the previous occupants had dropped behind the bathroom door. The bathroom was a wet room, shower worked well and was hot. Air con worked fine. TV included but no coffee making facilites. Not the biggest room in the world. You have to pay for your stay upfront when you arrive if we hadn't done that we would have moved. Had stayed in far better places for the same or similar amount of money. Free use of safe in the room. However, staff were friendly and as helpful as they could be. It has a pool but we didn't use it, you also have free use of their sun loungers on the beach which was a very short walk. Hotel is located right in the main strip but was not too loud.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Accommodation needs an update but still OK Hotel is affiliated with the Escudo Bar up the street and it seems that a BIG RENO is planned! Staff was friendly and a 4 hr late check out was not a problem. ++

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here and were allowed to check in early which was positive. I personally found the look of the cabins to be authentic, but none the less was surprised. We thought we booked a hotel. It has none of the features of a hotel really, it is just a beach hut. My partner hated it as he expected a bit more luxury. The rooms are extremely basic with very little in to offer comfort, in fact we have a mattress on the floor with an ill fitting bed cover that is no where near enough to cover us and I am only a size 6-8.

The shower has to be the worst thing about this place. They have made it like a wet room, only the rooms are so small they have put the toilet in the wet room. The whole bathroom is soaking and takes so long to drain, if you need the toilet in the next hour, you are walking through ankle high soapy water to use it.

The air conditioning is good however so loud, it could keep most sleepers awake.

The location however is the best thing in this hotel and why, if your not fussy, I would say stay. It's right on the strip, but further away from its sister hotel, escudo music, which we also stayed in. This is good as we got no sleep in music as its over a night club. It has just the right mix, a two minute walk from bars but peaceful at night. And best of all the pool and beach on your door step.

If you lower your expectations you will enjoy it

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The location of the hotel is good. But the room is old enough and needs renovations.The front office staff is very approaching with the help of khun Ren my stay is so relaxing.She's so nice and well professional.I stay for 2 weeks in this hotel and i enjoy much.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Booked through an online website; on our arrival after much "checking" we were checked into our double room.

The rooms looked aged and still stuck in the 70’s; but with nice garden settings by the Beach with a modern Swimming pool.

While the staff was willing and courteous but the place itself is badly in need of renovations and repairs, from rotting window frames to the old wooden floorings.
Even the beddings are old, with lousy mattresses & beds; much more could to be done and a fresh coat of paint would be great.
The shower was ok except that the water didn't disappear and the whole bathroom soon filled up with water which s l o w l y disappeared down the plug.

We felt we paid too much for our below average room even thought the Staff @ Escudo were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The Bungalows by the Swimming pool look much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Escudo have som nice staff and they are so helping to everybody. The rooms are very clean always. Thank you for staying there from 8 december for one week about.
If you want sabai sabai go stay at escudo beach and take a drink and just relax talking with the reception.

See you next time

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escudo Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escudo Beach Club Hotel

Address: 168/8-9 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Escudo Beach Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Escudo Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escudo Beach Club Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escudo Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.