We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All my needs were met” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Smile Hostel

Baan Smile Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Smile Hostel to your Saves list
Baan Smile Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   119/46 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“All my needs were met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at the Baan Smile Hostel for a week and was quite sad when it was time to leave. The hostel owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean and the beds quite big and comfortable. Laundry and scooter rental services were also available for good rates. It's outside of central Chaweng but within walking distance of clubs and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hostel. Thank you for a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

For 3 nights I've stayed there. Actually it was 1st backpacker in Thailand. So I can't compare to others. Everyone sais clean. Well, each room keeps clean I guess, but I don't think bath room is so. There are many hair in the drain and a little stinky in the bath room.
But she's very helpful. Also she's sometimes busy because also tour agency as well.
The hostel is a little bit far from the town and beach, about 15 mints by foot. It was fine line.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had the Double Room Aircon on the 3rd floor with shared bathroom for 700 Baht/night. Room itself was okay, the bed comfortable although some linen stained. Big window facing the main road and bathroom spacious and clean. Location is rather quiet, it’s at the really end of Chaweng Road and a good 15 min walk to the main restaurant and club area. Moped rental right opposite, 7Eleven and French Bakery next door.
Beach close to the Hostel is not that nice (protected by Island in front of it), water dirty and a lot of rubbish. Further south the beach gets better, water is clearer and not that much rubbish.
No Backpacker athmosphere at all, it's hard to meet people here!
Opposite is YourPlace, there are fan bungalows for 600B with cold water available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

all The family helping to make this place to a great hostel. Its very clean and they are helping in any question that you have. And even to book things.
We were here for 3nights and enjoy very much!!!!!!!!!!!:)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights, the first two nights i stayed in the private 2 person room. My friend had a different flight to me, so i was going to stay alone for 2 days. The hostel was fully booked but rather than making me pay for the private room for 2 more nights the lady at reception managed to fit me in a four person dorm for a further two nights and give a 'free upgrade' to two people from a dorm and give them a private room.
The hostel doubles up as a travel agency whereby the staff give a huge discount. Free drinking water is available.
SevenEleven is next door. Internet Cafe over the road. Family Mart down the road. You can cut through to the beach from the hotel opposite.
Perfect location, far enough away from the loud hussle and bustle of Chewang but also within easy walking distance (5-10min walk)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed two nights in the guesthouse and two nights in the other hostel owned by the sister. Both clean dorms with 4 or 6 beds. Free wifi, aircon. The sisters were both really helpful in organising day trips for us and their hospitality was amazing. About 5 minute walk to town centre and 2 minutes to the beach walking. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Wonderful location, lovely lady on reception, brilliant little room, decent bathroom. Everything about the hostel is great, it's a 10 minute walk to Chaweng but it's quite quiet so that was great. There a 7eleven right next door and plenty of shops and market stalls and nice places to eat on the walk down. We had a private room, the bed was comfy and a big window which bought in loads of light. The bathroom was okay, only one per floor so you may have to wait to use it but we didn't really have any problems with it! We also had our washing done here, our clothes smelt so nice! Loved our stay here, would deffo recommend it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Smile Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Smile Hostel

Address: 119/46 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Smile Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Smile Hostel is at the main spot of Koh Samui “Chaweng Beach” that you can go to anywhere easily. Cross the street, you can see the beach and it just takes you five minutes by walk to the center.Make your pleasant staying as “home sweet home” with friendly staffs, new cleaned room and cosy bunk bed in Baan Smile Hoste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Baan Smile Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Smile Hostel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Smile Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.