We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Larder

The Larder
9/144 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
66077601259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 149 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: No fuss. No fancy terms. No pretension. The Larder takes things back to basics, serving up rustic casual dining and cocktails with a twist. Chef Martin Selby and Drink Guru Damian Ahern offer up modern British and International cuisine with a mix of comfort food and classics that have been revived, remixed and reinvigorated by merging modern cooking methods and techniques alongside cocktails that have been deconstructed into new liquid magic.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

You must order the lamb entree. We were recommended this restaurant by other guests at our resort. We initially were going to Tree Tops (# 1 in Koh Samui) but were disappointed by the menu so went across the road to The Larder, we were lucky to get in as every other table was booked, for good reason, and this was in low season. You must order the lamb entree. A little more expensive than others but sensational food (approx $150 aus for a couple)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    92
    43
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent food, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked The Larder for a Saturday evening for 2. Upon entering the restaurant and confirming our reservation my partner and I were seated inside as requested. We received a wine list with a nice selection which was shortly followed by the food menu. The service was great, the waitress was very attentive, polite and the food came out in a timely manner after ordering.

The food was fresh and delicious! It was hard to pick just one entree and main with the various menu items on and specials on offer. We actually left wanting to make another reservation for the following day, Sunday, however they were closed.

The interior was also pleasant with appealing lighting fixtures, for those wanting a fine dining experience while in Koh Samui The Larder won't disappoint!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The meal we had at the larder wa sthe best meal we had while in Thailand, but was alos the most expensive. It was worth it for a treat, however, it was ona par with prices at home. Food was delicious and the cocktails were alos excellent. Service was also very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
1 review
“A must in Samui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had dinner there last night with two other couples in a group of 6 and had booked which I think is essential. We started with pre dinner drinks/cocktails from an extensive list.
My wife had Presecco & I had a Long Island Tea. For entree, I had the Ducky Fuzz which is the duck pate...simply delicious. My wife and others in our group had scallops called the Shellout which where the plumpest scallops I have seen for a long time & they were spectacular. For mains my wife had the Beast of the Best, a chicken cassoulet & had her raving about it. I had the Bellyfull, a confit of pork belly which is juicy, tender with crispy crackle...yummo. We had side dishes of asparagus & hollandaise sauce & truffle oil chips. A nice glass or 3 of Sauvignion Blanc from Chile accompanied our meal.
We had our own bill & cost us AU$145 which is expensive in Koh Samui prices, but in comparison to Australian prices, very well worth it & would pay more if the same service & quality of the meals in Australia This place is a must if visiting Koh Samui.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First class dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Five of us went to The Larder on our last night on Koh Samui. It was our finest dining experience. The drinks, food, and service is top notch. We had delicious mussels to start with and most of us had lamb as the main course. The food was delicious. Recommend that you try some of their specialty cocktails too. Service is excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Larder also viewed

 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Larder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.