We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backpacker Samui Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Backpacker Samui Hostel to your Saves list
Backpacker Samui Hostel
191/13 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good for a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had a bit of trouble locating this place but the owner was really good helping us find it. They have a resteraunt area where they serve tasty and cheap food!

I stayed in the 12 bed dorm which was a good size, beds were comfy, toilets weren't the cleanest and often didn't have toilet paper. Lockers were provided outside the rooms - not an issue at all, you just have to walk a few extra metres.

Location wise this place is great, easy to sleep because its set back off the main road, but also close to the action and one of the nicest beaches I've seen in Thailand.

All in all a decent hostel for a budget backpacker looking for a good location!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
4
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found it comfortable.

The owner / manager was incredibly friendly and helpful, but the restaurant staff i found to be less so (not rude, just not so helpful!).

The accommodation itself is good, we were in a 12 bed dorm. It is well ventilated and has an en-suite (although it wasn't the absolute cleanest bathroom i've been in). We did find on occasions one bathroom between 12 wasn't enough, but there is another on the ground floor if you are desperate. Each bunk has a charging point, but the lockers are not located in the room which could be frustrating.

The hostel is located very centrally in Chaweng, within easy reach of the beach, clubs, bars, restaurants and shops.

Their restaurant is fairly average, and not so cheap!

I would recommend staying here as we had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

In my experience, this place simply offers the best price/offer-ratio in Chaweng beach: a super helpful owner (who's constantly working on improving the place), clean facilities, an awesome cook, a relaxed backpacker atmosphere, really fast free Wifi, and last but not least a perfect location: 3 min walk to the beach, 5 min walk to the main night life spots in Chaweng beach, yet tranquil during the night.
If you're happy staying in a dormitory (the place offers no private rooms, but two large dorms, each with bathroom/shower and A/C), you certainly will feel comfortable here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Simply put this has got to be one of the best finds in Samui. Rooms are basic as you would expect but have all you could need. Hot shower consistently, great common area with movies and outside seating. Best of all however is the restaurant on site. Run by the owner and one cook it is hands down the best food, especially for the price, in Samui. So cheap and so good and always with a smile. Hostel is 5 mins from the beach and the same from the shops, what more could you want.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Really nice people very helpful and really good food best I've had in Thailand definetly recommend staying there cheap and right in the centre of where everthing is top place you have to stay there if you are going samui :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This was the first hostel I ever stayed in traveling solo and had normally been used to traveling with friends. I immediately met so many amazing people. Honestly was so pleased with how welcoming, fun, and caring everyone was. Great location to the restaurants, bars and beach as well. Though if you don't feel like venturing out for food, Gail (the hostel's amazing cook) makes the best food I've had there! She has a full menu and is so sweet and quick to whip whatever up for you. Yum I miss it! Also, it's safe! Loved her and how she added to the vibe. The owner is very helpful and sweet as well. Super accommodating and got me cake on my birthday which made me feel great since I was away from home and alone. Another thing to note, I found it very easy to sleep because the bunks were quite comfortable and others were respectful about noise in the dorm rooms while others were sleeping. Best experience I've had so far in Thailand so I would definitely stay there again! Thanks Ricky and everyone for making it an experience to remember!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Turned up at this hostel, and didn't see the big hype!

Pros
Good location

Cons
The wifi didn't work for ages
Noise from outside keeps you awake all night
Dirty bathroom
Flights of stairs to drag bags up
When checking out no one was around and we had to ask a couple of times to ensure we got the deposit for the keys back

Personally I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, but I didn't try any of the other hostels in the area, so could just be the Chewang style!

Room Tip: Don't choose a bed next to the window, noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpacker Samui Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker Samui Hostel

Address: 191/13 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is a perfect base for those looking to explore all that the city has to offer. Backpacker Samui Hostel is surrounded by many famous attractions, cultural hotspots, shops, night life, and we have our own stunning bar.We aim to offer something for everyone. All of our clean and spacious dorm-style rooms are en-suite. With a 24 hour reception, and no curfew, there's even more time to get to know Koh Samui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Backpacker Samui Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker Samui Hostel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpacker Samui Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.