We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vana Belle - Beautiful little Forest. Amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui to your Saves list
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9/99 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vana Belle - Beautiful little Forest. Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We are now midway in our 17 nights stay at Vana Belle, and it has been amazing!
We are staying in a classic pool suite, and lack nothing! The infinity pool offers a nice cooldown when coming from a nice day on the magnificent beach in front of the hotel. Room itself is very nice, and its good to wake up with a beautiful sea-view early in the morning.

If you like to indulge yourself with nice breakfast, this is the place to stay! It covers everything from cold cut buffet to different a'la carte menus. Lots of different pasteries and cakes for dessert. If you feel up for it, champagne and oysters are always available for breakfast! After digging in the best breakfast you've had, make sure to take a trip to the well equipped gym to work of the extra calories you added. (They even have training shoes for you if you "forgot" yours, so no excuses valid ;-).Cold water, fresh fruit and towels is of course present)

Hotel area itself is really well designed, with lots of vegetation and narrow pathways between the buildings. If you are not up for walking, electric golf-buggies with drivers are always available to take you where you want inside the resort.

The staff on this resort is top notch. The are so friendly and smiling, and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to make your stay the best ever.
A small example is the people on the beach side and the pool area. One day we got some nice sunbeds under a palm tree wich offered extra shade. The next morning we came down to the beach, the had already prepared the same beds for us, so that no one else occupied them.
Small thing, but good example on the extra service they offer!

The best stay I have had anywhere so far, and it will be sad to leave such a lovely place!

Can without doubt recommend this to anyone, couples or families!

Jan Erik Hansen w/ fam

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVanaBelle, General Manager at Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear boldor85

Thank you for sharing your experience here online and we are truly delighted that you are enjoying your stay so far with us.

You mention many aspects of the resort which is to your satisfaction, indeed many guests are mentioning the same things, our incredible breakfast, our restaurants, our Spa, the excellent beach, one of the best on the island, and of course our exceptional team who make it all happen. Thank you for your comments and we hope the remainder of your stay will be very enjoyable.

With kind regards

Mark O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    54
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
196
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time at Vana. I was there last june/july. At that time the resort was just been open for 6 months and they manage to have a well drill staf and fantastic resort. So i deside to go back. Hotel is on the beautiful and quiet Shaweng Noi beach. Resort i build into the natures in fantastic way,so you can see alot of the wildlife. All the room have its own swimmingpool and the rooms are big and incredible good.i have stayed in both tropical villa and classical room. The reseption,resturant and relax areas are very nice and have stunning view. Breakfast is dangerus good(easy to put on some kilo here) :). Also food from the 2 resturants are exellent.
Then maybe i come to the best part, the STAFF. They are just so perfect and friendly everywhere. From the spa and all the way down to the beach areas, maids,reseption,resturants,beachfront.... the service is so friendly and helpfull. I have never experince so good service and friendlyness enywhere before, and i have visite alot of resort around thailand before. I had one night i hospital, hotel come with flower and i have been sick for some days now and they come to the room with ginger tea,smotihe and food without asking for it!!!!!. Incredibile:). And not to forget the spa, best ever!.
So this has been my best stay at any resort ever thanks to the lovely and friendly staff and the hotel. Best part i still have 35 days left:). So i will enjoy everyminute here. If you want a fantastic resort pick Vana Belle.
Frode Pettersen

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVanaBelle, General Manager at Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Frode P

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to see that you are enjoying your stay here with us.

We appreciate your exceptional comments about our terrific team who go above and beyond to make all of our guests happy. We also note your great comment about our restaurants, breakfast (which most people are indeed commenting on), and our Vana Spa.

We thank you for your continuing loyalty to our resort and we look forward to making the remainder of your stay just as special as the start.

With kind regards

Mark O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My family and i went to there for 3 nights and we booked a Grande Pool Suite room.
The room was on 3rd floor with the breathtaking view of the ocean. The bedroom was spacious with nice decor. What we really love was the infinity edge pool at the terrace and the rain shower in the bathroom. The bathroom was massive with jacuzzi.

Next day we went to Kiri (not sure about the name) for breakfast. It was full-on. You can order from the menu (as many dishes as you like) plus there were buffet of asian and western food and Sparking Wine! The staffs also was very attentive.

The VanaSpa provided an exceptional service. Although we could not book the room the time we preferred but the spa receptionist (Tangmo) helped us book the next available time. The therapist was politely asked me if the room was in the right temperature, lighting and music before starting the session.

Concierge was so help full with local restaurants recommendations. We went to the Jungle Club for a afternoon coffee. Great view of Samui from the hill top but there are room for improvement as for the taste of the coffee.

Summary love the hotel, good location and great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVanaBelle, General Manager at Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Tuu S

Thank you for recently being our guest at Vana Belle, a Luxury Collection Resort and for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We appreciate all of your very good comments, all of our rooms have private pools so pleased to learn that you enjoyed this amenity. Our Vana Spa do provide an exceptional experience and we thank you for mentioning this. We will pass on your comments to our team.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards

Mark O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We wanted a getaway from the city life and we decided to have a weekend break to the island of Samui. I read good reviews of Vana Belle and decided to give it a try and we weren't dissapointed.

Though the grand pool suite lacks a little in luxury of decor & soft furnishings, the room was well designed with good spatial use with a commanding view of the ocean with just the right amount of privacy. What really impressed us was the level of service expressed by the suite's butler at call. She was attentive and met our needs during our stay at Vana Belle. Since the property is built on a rather steep terrain, buggys were deployed to ferry guests to and fro from their room. But if you don't mind threading steep slopes, most of the areas in the surroundings could be accessible by walking.

Of all the features, the hotel pool & its surroundings is truly luxurious. There were ample deck chairs and lounges available for all the guests. Perhaps the only set back were the 3 exclusive gazebos perched right on the pool edges with stunning ocean views. If there were only 2 more of such; will satisfy the needs of other guests too. The pool jacuzzi was a great respite from all the beach activity, and I must commend that the quality of sea water is crystal clear and beach front very clean and well maintained. Since this is a luxury resort, i expected the pool staff to offer guests ice cubes together with the mineral water served. Other than that they were super attentive and helpful.

The breakfast spread was spectacular and I was suitably impressed with the quality of offerings. The juices were freshly prepared and the tropical fruits selection truly amazing. I even had a few different smoothies offered inthe ala carte menu and it was delicious. Never before I was served with such a high quality breakfast which included freshly shucked oysters and prosecco.

I must commend that wifi reception was even made available around the beachfront areas away from the pool deck. In this day and age when connectivity counts this I have to credit the management for great foresight in meeting the needs of the modern traveller.

My idea of an escape is to sit back, relax, do absolutely nothing which is truly a treat for me. This break allowed me some of my very own time just to hang out and recover from the excess and it was perfect at Vana Belle. I will be back for more in the next few months when I can steal a long weekend away from work!

Room Tip: Grand pool suite no.911 is very private and have great ocean view & the Pudsorn Pool Villa promi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVanaBelle, General Manager at Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear sonnysan

Thank you for your review and for recently choosing Vana Belle, a Luxury Collection Resort as your residence on the island.

We are delighted to hear that your experience of our resort was enjoyable and restful for you. We will pass on your good comments to your butler. The pool and beach area are pretty superb and thank you for mentioning this. In fact our beach is probably the best on the island. We also note your comments on breakfast which all of our guests are talking about.

We do look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you can plan that time off from work.

With kind regards

Mark O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Plus points:

Positives:

- Centrally located, the Vana Belle has a beautiful entrance and lobby, and a definite wow factor in common areas such as the main pool area and breakfast restaurant.

- Completely agree with previous reviewers that the daily breakfast selection is excellent. A smorgasbord of choices, they really spoil you silly at breakfast and the team there are extremely friendly and attentive, willing to help with your every request. Don't skip breakfast if it's included in your stay!

- The property is located on the Chaweng Noi beach, which is a stunning beachfront with crystal clear waters and fine white sand.

- Most bell boys and concierge staff were extremely courteous and helpful (whenever we found them...more on that below)

Negatives:

- Although common areas are tastefully done, the rooms have a certain mediocrity to the design. We were in a Grand Pool Suite, which unfortunately was located on the third floor. This meant a rather tiring trek up the three flights of stairs daily (!) which to me, didn't feel so luxurious. The tiles used in the bathroom also seemed to give off the impression that there were some cost-cutting measures taken. My personal opinion.

- We frequently left the hotel to visit other parts of Koh Samui or to eat out, and upon our return, frequently there were no staff at the front entrance to be found when we required assistance. Eventually they would turn up, but this lag was mainly due to the poor layout - the main check in counter and front desk is located down the flight of stairs, further in from the lobby. This means that the front entrance is frequently un-manned - possibly due to lack of staff?

Summary:
- Overall, a hit and miss experience. While some standouts were stellar (staff and breakfast), some aspects left us wondering whether we had made the right choice with the Vana Belle.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVanaBelle, General Manager at Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear anaidtsn

Thank you for your review and for choosing Vana Belle, a Luxury Collection Resort for your recent stay on the island.

We appreciate your excellent comments about our team and our breakfast which we will certainly share with all. We do note your constructive feedback which is very helpful and we will follow up where necessary.

With kind regards

Mark O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked a Deluxe Pool Suite and stayed for 6 nights. Just about everything was perfect.
Room - clean, fairly spacious, nice decor/furniture, great beds. We had top floor sea view which was fantastic. Small shower didn't work that well but the rain shower was great. As some guests commented also, in some rooms the outside terrace infinity pool area only have a small table and one chair?! So we asked for 2 sun loungers on our first day. The night light can be too bright, so maybe bring your own.
Restaurants - Kiree, great service, but slightly disappointed with the food in the end for the price. Breakfast was pretty amazing, great selection and quality, don't sit in the kitchen area! Lunch at Panali was nice, food and service was good.
Pool / Beach - Clean, great service, sun loungers wasn't bunched too close together. Pool is a bit small but family friendly. Beach area is good.
Gym - Mostly deserted. Good clean facilities.

If you want something different, we would occasionally have lunch in the restaurant just by the resort main gates to the right before the Fair House Resort. There are 2 Family Marts up and down the main road within 5-10 mins walk, some more restaurants towards Chaweng within 15-20 mins walk, Pizza, Thai, Seafood etc. Distance to Chaweng central is good, loooong walk in the heat or catch a taxi 300 bht. You can catch a songthaew back for 100 bht if you want to try something different, we always got them to drop us off at Fair House as they seem to understand that better.

Overall great resort and its close to Chaweng. We would probably pick the same place if we return to the island.

Room Tip: Don't choose the bottom garden facing rooms, they don't look very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVanaBelle, General Manager at Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear kc_traveller99

Thank you for your review and for recently being our guest at Vana Belle, a Luxury Collection Resort.

We appreciate your very good comments about our resort and we are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast is indeed something we are very proud of as indeed we are of our team and their hard work in looking after all guests so exceptionally. We have noted your dissappointment with our food in Kiree restaurant, we apologize for that, usually our guest feedback in this venue is very positive.

We do look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Samui again.

With kind regards

Mark O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

As SPG Platinum member, we stayed at the Vana Belle for our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful and the hotel wasn't full which helped make for a nice quiet beach experience. Our room was a deluxe pool suite with an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. The room was spacious and very clean. We did have a problem with a bird pooping on the balcony on the 1st or 2nd day of our 4 day stay. We reported this to the front desk, they acknowledged it and said it would be taken care of quickly. It was never cleaned. This was quite disappointing. The breakfast buffet was the best buffet I've ever had at a hotel. There are even oysters on it! On our third morning, one of the waiters made me the best cocktail as a nice treat. It has prosecco, lychee, and other things in (which I'll never know!). The staff noticed how much I liked this cocktail. I asked for it the next morning and to my sadness, this waiter was not working the last morning and no one took note of what was in the cocktail the previous morning. I know this sounds silly, but at a nice resort like this, I EXPECT good service. I really thought the hotel would go above and beyond and making notes of special drinks that a guest likes is something I expect would happen. This type of top notch service was available at other hotels we stayed at in Thailand. Lastly, I was VERY disappointed that there were no special touches considering we were there on our honeymoon. My husband's SPG ambassador didn't ensure we had any special moments nor did the hotel do anything special. Again, every other hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon went above and beyond to make the honeymoon special. The honeymoon is such a momentous trip, this hotel needs to take special care to give those special touches whether it is greeting the bride with flowers, flowers in the room of some sort, a special dessert at dinner, etc. Just do something to celebrate special occasions.

Room Tip: If you get the deluxe pool suites, be sure to ask for one of the higher ones so that you are above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVanaBelle, General Manager at Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Jenn S

Thank you for your review and for recently choosing Vana Belle, a Luxury Collection Resort, to celebrate your honeymoon.

We do appreciate your platinum status and thank you for your loyalty to SPG. We do apologize for not following up on your request, and we will ensure this does not happen again. We did upgrade your room to a Deluxe Pool Suite to celebrate your honeymoon however I apologize that we did not inform you of this on arrival. We certainly take on board your comment about the special touches, I am dissappointed that you did not experience this as our team does try very hard to make every stay memorable.

I do hope to welcome you back at some time in the future.

With kind regards

Mark O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui

Address: 9/99 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui is asublime, island utopia for stimulating rest and relaxation.Nestled in a secluded cove of Koh Samui on Chaweng beach,a luxurious haven has been specially created to escape thestresses of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.