We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spago'

Spago'
168/55 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
0066-77-961648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 95 restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Okay, if this was the only restaurant touted about in Chaweng, I might have a better opinion about my experience. However, since it rubs shoulders with a multitude of fine dining experiences, this fell below my expectations. Going here towards the end of my trip, the atmosphere is nothing special. I kept waiting for my cool, scented towel which never came. I was also looking forward to an assortment of homemade bread but, alas, no bread at this Italian establishment. The food was decent, but again, nothing to write home about. I would not go back here when there are so many other restaurants to choose from.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogra, Manager at Spago', responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Google Translation
gentilissimo, grazie per il suo commento, mi spiace che non abbia trovato pane, salviette e altri servizi gratuiti a lei tanto graditi, i quali vengono offerti in altre tipologie di strutture dove il gentile cliente spende cifre notevolmente superiori con supplementi di servizio (10%) e tasse (7%) da noi non applicati.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    35
    30
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top quality food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lovely chic little eatery along the 'strip' of Chaweng. Open fronted to the street with setaing indoors, outdoors and upstairs.

One of the most expansive menus I saw while in Koh Samui, there really is something for everybody on this menu. The food was beautiful, cooked to perfection and the staff service is excellent and very attentive.

Great eatery for food or just to enjoy some cocktails as the sunsets and the Chaweng streets come to life. Great for families & couples alike and excellent value for money. Well worth a visit as it won't disappoint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Really lovely food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay.

There is a good choice of food, but the Thai food is very tastey. We went with 2 thais and they thought the food was also good - so it must have been.

The Tom Yum and Chicken and Basil were some of the best we have had.

Worth visiting.

We sat upstairs and watched the world go by!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thumbs up..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent Pizzas and Salads...! The staff is courteous, smiling and understand instructions, which is such a relief in Thailand! Especially when trying to order vegetarian food..!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“huge variety - all quality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Ate here twice during our ten days on Koh Samui and, for a total of seven meals, no one was disappointed. There's a large variety of food from freshly made pizzas to Thai staples. There are also good value set meals available as well. The food was first class and the staff were truly excellent- welcoming and attentive. I have absolutely no problem in recommending this to anyone who simply likes to enjoy food without any snobbish preconceptions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago' also viewed

 

Been to Spago'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spago', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.