We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there before time changes it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Poppies Samui to your Saves list
Poppies Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Get there before time changes it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Poppies is one of the last intimate resorts left in koh samui. The are only 24 cottages on a pristine garden setting that is both tranquil and beautifully manicured with foliage . The grounds are serene, the beach top notch. The food at the restaurant is good to excellent with the vegetables and meat top quality. This small boutique hotel is not fiprveveryone. Quite and deiscreet would be a good description. Clean and meticulously kept up, if you want to taste a bit of old samui to a time when development was something going on elsewhere , come stay here. I don't know how much longer it will hold out to development, but when it leaves , there won't be another . You rarely see any staff walking around;the are well hidden from view by a service tunnel. Now who would have thought of gat 20+ years ago!

Enjoy

Room Tip: Experience it just one time, and you'll know if this serene laid back place is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    50
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
69
224
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Magic place to stay. As a single mature female traveller, I felt safe and well cared for. Nothing is too much trouble. The staff were friendly and considerate. Not over stated, comfy, quiet, impeccable service , best part of the beach and excellent food. Can't wait to return again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It was lovely to be on the best beach in Samui (and away from the rowdy northern part of the beach).
This is also the nicest collection of beautiful cottages set in very lush tropical gardens. The pool and restaurant are located at the beachside and just lovely. The friendly service and food was really good.

I am going to miss sunset happy hour at the little bar on the beachfront!

Thank you to John and the team for a very memorable stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ate here on recommendation from our hotel staff at the Banana Fan Sea Resort. The ambiance was amazing with the restaurant next to the beach. The food menu had a great selection of various dishes and wines and it all tasted very good. Note however that this restaurant is not cheap by European standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Good.

The staff are always smiling and so helpful. They try to remember where you like to sit at breakfast and even what you order (if this the same 2 days in a row).
The included breakfast, although not having every choice possible has a very wide selection where you have have one of each from the top 5 or 7 items on the menu and then one from the bottom 5....enough to put on a few KG over a stay.
The setting, in lovely gardens and mostly quiet away from the road noise (apart from when the Thai boxing truck comes past with the loud speakers) and we had the room nearest the road.
The massage spa, great massage with no inappropriate extras offered. Very relaxing, however it is so good it is difficult to get a slot NOW you may need to book a day or more in advance.

The OK

The rooms are good, but could do with some updating and some maintenance. Our room had a SMALL leak when it rain heavily (pointed out to management and told them not to bother to fix while we where there).
The lunch is ok, its good food. Just quite high in price.
The dinners are very good, but the price again is the issue. There are other places in the location with the same quality and cheaper (other hotels), but if you cannot be bothered to leave the hotel.
The drinks prices again are high, but comparing these to street bars in unfair. There is always the 7 Eleven next door where you can buy and keep in the fridge in your room.

The bad.

The pool, there is algae growing around the edge of the pool and the jacuzzi is similarly effected. There are leaves in the pool, but with the plant life (trees, bushes etc) this cannot be helped but the same ones are in the pool for the whole stay we had. This does need to be improved. Daily maintenance is a must.

Room Tip: We had 112, I had some initial concerns as this seemed to be right above reception when we arrived i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Poppies did not disappoint. I booked from good reviews found on TripAdvisor and now get to write my own great review. My husband and I travelled with our 3 young adult kids. The staff is exceptional here. From Jon the Manager who has a great sense of humor and a kind heart, to the beach staff, waitresses and bartenders, they all do their job exceptionally well. By our 2nd day the staff knew our names and our favorite foods and places to sit at the beach. The beach in front of the resort is by far the best in Samui. We drove around the island on motorbikes, although not sure I'd recommend that due to the crazy driving, but did not find a beach as beautiful as Poppies. The water was clean and warm and the white sand was beautiful. The rooms were very comfortable. I found the bed a bit firm, but my kids in their own cottage had no issue with their bed. The rooms (106, 107) were quiet, very clean and well kept and the wifi worked perfectly. They do a beautiful "turn down" service each night too. There was a cocktail party one night which gave us the opportunity to make friends with some of the other guests. The breakfast that is included is wonderful. They have great choices, delicious fruit, breads and coffee. We also ate dinner there a few nights and the meal was extraordinary. We ate both Thai dishes and pasta and both were delicious. It is also in a great location. We had a great Thai massage across the street at Pruksa for 200 baht, they easily accommodated the 5 of us all at once. We also ate at Noori's Indian food just a few doors to the right and it was great. My husband also had a suit made while we were there at Sunny's. They made a beautiful suit in just 2 days that was custom fit for a fraction of what he'd pay the U.S. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty equal. We stayed in 106 and 107 and both were quiet, clean and close to every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to Poppies. Fantastic service as usual. Wonderful Staff and Management and great personal touches. We are a well travelled family and Poppies is the best. Beautiful private beach. Fantastic Cottages and food. The staff are all second to none. We would thoroughly recommend Poppies. Our party of 14 adults and one child were looked after wonderfully by all, especially our grand daughter by Lek and the other waitresses. The beach boys were fantastic fetching us ice cold water and fruit - very nice touch. John the Manager was super, he really goes the extra mile in looking after all his customers holding Cocktail parties on the beach once a week to get to know everyone. A special thanks from us personally for arranging a great stay for our party. Would thoroughly recommend Poppies and a personal thank from me (Gloria Tilley) for a wonderful surprise birthday party and cake.

Room Tip: I would recommend cottage 102, 104 and 106 but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppies Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Samui

Address: PO Box 1, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Poppies Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Poppies Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Poppies Samui Koh
Poppies Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.