We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis at Chaweng Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Poppies Samui to your Saves list
Poppies Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Zürich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis at Chaweng Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The resort is located at a nice stretch of Chaweng beach (south) just behind the main road. When you enter the resort you feel like in another world. You are in a lush and very well maintained tropical garden with lots of plants, a little river and a lake with fishes and some small bridges. Each of the cottages are kept quite privately.
The cottages are very well maintained and make you feeling at home.
The service is extraordinary. Really every employee is very friendly and helpful.
The food in the restaurant is a little pricy but of a very high quality and therefore worth the money.
When you decide to stay at the beach for sunbathing you do not have to worry about sunchairs and sunshades, there are really enough of them.
Sometimes there is a cocktail party at the resort which is a really good occasion to chat with other guests as well as with the manager and other employees of the resort.
The manager himself is caring for the guests and is always available if necessary.

We can certainly recommend this resort and will come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    50
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
69
230
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Poppies from the 13th November 2013 to 18th November 2013. This is truly a lovely hotel with wonderful rooms and so much character. I stayed with a friend but it's probably more suited for honeymooners. Our room was super spacious, nicely decorated and overall wonderful. The beach was around the back and they provide sunbeds etc.. bar was nice. The shower wasn't great at first but they fixed it within a day which was great. Breakfast is outstanding, one of the best I had during my stay in Thailand. So much choice and so tasty.

Staff are super friendly and always there to help. The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk to the center of Cheweng. I would recommend staying at Poppies and I will defiantly be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I recently stayed at Poppies for 3 nights and was happy with my travel agents recommendation. Good location on the quieter end of the beach. Good size cottages, very comfortable and with all amenities one requires. The hotel restaurant is good with an extensive menu and lovely outlook onto the beach. Breakfast was great, simple and hours of serving very accommodating between 7am and midday. Only suggestion is they invest in a coffee machine as the coffee they serve is awful and based on the tariff per night and type of guest who would choose to stay, I think it would be appreciated. I visited other hotels in the area and they all offered cappuccino 's etc. Also the sun beds and pool towels need to be upgraded as well. Staff were so friendly and went out of their way to assist you. Daily fruit baskets were replenished as well as nightly sweet treats left by the bed. Overall this hotel which competes with many new hotels near by is worth considering.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Samui, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for a very fair review.

Regarding the coffee, we would like to point out that we do have a coffee machine at our restaurant for cappuccinos, lattes etc. The additional coffee we serve at breakfast is a good quality free-pour blend, for unlimited refills whenever breakfast is included in the room rate. It is always possible to request coffees from our machine, at regular menu prices.

The other matters referred to as needing attention are being attended to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having stayed on Koh Samui seven different times over the last 13 years, I can attest to Poppies as a great oasis among the clutter of Chaweng's busy (but fun) street commotion. The rooms were clean, spacious and separated from others (which is nice). There is easy access to the beach and I highly recommend a beverage (or three) there. I'll come back.

NOTE: I usually stay in Lamai however Poppies allowed me to feel like I was over there on the quieter part of the island (which is nice).

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same, which in a way is good because you don't have to waste time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spending again few days at Poppies, Koh Samui, I have the feeling of hundred holidays,I can highly recommend this Ressort, just 24 villas in a tropical gardem located at the triple A part of Chaweng beach. The service-level (beach, Bar, restaurant, front desk) is excellent and the friendly staff made my stay like heaven, I could write thousands of words, bit non would ever express the emotional feeling. If you are looking for a highclass holiday for reasonabe price, get there!!! Werner from Vienna

Room Tip: All Villas are hiden in a tropical garden, I stood in 108, which is for me the most hidden villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Leaving a very stressed work environment behind, I stayed at Poppies to re-charge...it was the perfect remedy - I had some of the best sleep ever there. Poppies is so peaceful which in SE Asia can often be difficult to find....the food is excellent the rooms are so lovely, spacious and clean I could not recommend this place high enough. The best bit is the attention they pay to detail at every level - Most of the staff have been there for years, they operate like a small family and I loved them for the comfort and service they gave to me and my wife...they have guests returning year after year - seriously, it is not cheap, but it is by far the best - The staff make it what it is, they were just awesome at looking after our every need! We are already planning our return in three months...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Having read so many great reviews our expectations were high and we have not been disappointed. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel like most favoured guests. The manager and all the staff are friendly, caring and attentive with nothing being too much trouble. The garden bungalows are of a high quality and generously sized. The restaurant has a wide range of dishes at breakfast and dinner with a nice wine list. In short - very impressive.

Room Tip: Very few beach front bungalows so book early if you want one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppies Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Samui

Address: PO Box 1, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Poppies Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Poppies Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Poppies Samui Koh
Poppies Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.