We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall decent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chaba Samui Resort to your Saves list
Chaba Samui Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #59 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Overall decent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed from 19.5.13 for 5 nights. Booked this resort after reading reviews in trip advisor and was not at all disappointed. We(party of 4 adults and 2 kids) had booked 2 ocean wing deluxe room and the rooms were in 1st floor. One thing must be made clear, this is not a 5 star property and one should not expect such amenities or facilities. If you are looking for such, book Chaweng regent or The Library or any other big high priced resort. Though called ocean wing but the ocean is not visible from any room barring the front two suite rooms. However, the proximity of the beach will let you forget about this issue.
We reached Samui early morning at 7AM after a layoff of 4 hrs at Bangkok. Was weary and pretty tired. The website and the hotel policy stated checkin at 2PM and we were really a bit worried since we havent slept the night before (had to wait in Bangkok airport). Moreover our group had two kids 6 yrs and 12 yrs old. However the hotel guys were good enough to allocate the room within 9AM without any extra charge. That was really good. Further they also provided extra bed in my room free and didn't charge extra for my daughters breakfast. That was really sweet.
The breakfast was pretty decent, the way you normally get in most resorts; nothing spectacular neither drab, good enough to keep u full till lunch. There were choices of breads, cereals, thai style rice/noodles, usual stuff of eggs to your choice, bacon, sausage etc. etc.
Food is average, we had lunch few times but never had dinner which we usually had outside in different restaurants spread along the beach road.
The pool is of average size and generally clean. Had spend lot of time lazying around it with couple of chilled beers. The pool bar is non-functional though they have a beach bar just beside the pool. The beach is just few steps(literally) away from the pool. The beach is not very clean with stray dogs roaming. Now, nothing to be afraid of cos the dogs were friendly and just never bothered anybody. However, the water is crystal clear and very good for swim. Had walked throughout the length of chaweng beach and I must say, beach wise this resorts location is great.
No complaints about room, toilet(albeit bit small), cleanliness and service. The lady at the "Terrace" restaurant was very charming, all staff very friendly. Even the massage service at beachfront is good(considering the price).
Overall, I will give a 4 out of 5 for this place considering the price of stay, facilities, location. Recommended for staying with family.
PS. Chaweng is full of mosquitoes, so be prepared and at least carry some repellant. In our case, hotel provided one free on request.

Room Tip: Book ocean wing, 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    114
    72
    28
    27
See reviews for
50
136
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SG
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at Chaba Samui Resort recently and had a reasonably good time.
As like most accommodation, there would be one or two misses, but overall, the CSR scored well.
Miss no. 1 : the houseflies at the eateries were quite a nuisance, and we would have had a much better dining experience had this problem been non-existent!
Miss no. 2: there is an individual at the reception/check-in who is perpetually in a dour mood. It does not help even if you greet him nicely - the smile on his face seems to have been erased!
As for the hits, there were aplenty, which bodes well for the resort.
1. Mention must be made of three outstanding personnel - Ta, waitress at Terrace Coffeeshop; Chacha, shuttle bus driver and a recep whose name I didn't quite get, but it should be Nani or Nanee. They were all courteous, prompt and performedtheir tasks with beautiful smiles!
2. Change/rotation of food items in the buffet spread, and theme nights dining. These provided guests with a wide choice and greater variety, which is thoughtful of the chef and his team.
3. Housekeeping was pretty efficient, and the ladies would always greet us along the corridors.
4. The overall cleanliness of the resort's premises is another area where credit must be given. We observed that the place is generally clean and kept dry, without any undesirable odours!
5. The resort had a gentleman who would help with guests crossing the road, and we felt that this was not only helpful but a lovely touch!
For those seeking to stay in a very convenient location in Chaweng, and do not mind a 3-star property,this would be it!

Room Tip: Do choose a room in the Ocean Wing because it's quieter and you don't need to cross the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

assuming you have read all the other reviews i have to ask what do some people expect of a 3 star resort?? seriously if you want 5 star pay for it!! Yes it is tired, rooms need painting and bathroom needs some TLC but it was very clean which was all that mattered to us as we were only in the room to sleep and shower, if i went there to sit in the room all day watching tv i could do that at home!! we found the staff very friendly, however i will agree that the reception staff are a little more :uptight" than the rest. Rose who took care of us at breakfast was just amazing, he remembers everyone and what they have, and Oray who gave us a massage every day was just a sweetie. I WOULD recommend the Chaba, it was clean, affordable and friendly. Beds are too hard though.

Room Tip: none of the rooms have a beach view, we requested level 4 as suggested by other travellers. Unless t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booked one night on asiarooms for 1500B and arrived and checked in smoothly. The hotel is split across a main road, we were staying on the opposite side of the main road to the beach. We wanted to stay for an extra night an asked at reception. She told us that we would have to pay 3000B which is double what we paid on asiarooms. She then advised us to book with an online agent. We did this and were able to stay in the same room for our extra night. I would book with other agents - you probably won't get a sea view room but is that really worth an extra 1500B?

Rooms were really spacious, yet the shower did not have hot water and was very cold for our entire stay. Room had wifi, a safe, tv and air con.

The hotel is on the quieter end of Chaweng beach and you can easily walk back from the bars along the beach. Ideal location for couples, families and people wanting a good nights sleep - all bars and restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is at best poor, the staff on reception are rude and unhelpful and roll their eyes at you if you have a question (don't ask for wifi). The swimming pool looks like it has been lifted from a holiday park in blackpool and dumped in the middle of the resort. Chaweng beach is a shameful reflection of commercialism destroying what could be a truly beautiful island. Chaweng strip is like hell on a bad day only nastier plus is stinks off sewage. If you want too see the real Thailand and meet lovely thai people go to hua hin with a few days in Bangkok. I wouldn't come back to this hotel if it was free. A poor end to what was an incredible two weeks in Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having booked the room and paid that extra amount in the Beach/Sea Wing building, we were very disappointed to find our room had absolutely no view whatsoever of the beach or pool. But the hotel itself was quite nice with all amenities including LCD tv and balcony with a decent size room and although we didn’t use the pool, it was a decent size and looked nice. The only difference in the two buildings was the one lane road in between,the Beach Wing was on the beach and Chaweng beach itself was crystal clear on sunny days with a wide sand strip. The staff were very professional and they had a dinner buffet theme on every night. The buffet breakfast was worth it for us. The hotel itself is about 1 km away from the centre where all the action and all the restaurants are. All in all a pleasant stay for the price, I don’t know about 4 stars as the rooms were a little oldish and I didn’t see a fitness room but they had their own massage service near the pool and as some of the better and more central hotels are double if not triple the price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Chaba Samui for 11 days ,we were a bit put off after reading the latest reviews but we had already paid, so we arrived with fingers crossed! The location is FANTASTIC, the beach front is clean, and the hotel is located fairly centrally on Chaweng beach, the beach bar was good and drinks were very reasonable. The hotel has a ratting plaque in the reception area which rates them as 3 star, and that's what they are! The hotel is clean, the rooms are quiet large, and cleaned daily by some lovely staff, like anywhere the staff can be good and bad, but overall the service is very good, most couldn't do enough for you! The breakfast service was plenty, and had a good variety.
We had read a few reviews that were unkind regarding the customer service staff particularly mr fix it Tony, we found them to be very helpful! We were unfortunate to have some very selfish, people stay in the room next door who turned their television up ridiculously loud, all night! At 3 am we went to reception and eventually the TV was turned off, the next day both Tony and the hotel manger came to us and apologised and asked if there was anything they could do for us. Also some comments say that there seems to be an issue with luggage storage, not sure what happen to those travellers but our luggage was fine, they have cameras on the luggage area, as well as a staff member watching over it, that traveler must have been unlucky.
We did the hotels cooking course, very good! Lots of fun. There are plenty of good places to eat, Samui Kangaroo, & oasis (cheapest cocktails I have ever had) just name a few.

A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are defiantly the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaba Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.