We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for just a 3-star resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Samui Resort to your Saves list
Baan Samui Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   14/7 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent for just a 3-star resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We've just returned from an 11 night stay from 10 July at this Resort. Some 3-star resorts in Thailand can be a huge disappointment, but definitely not the Baan Samui Resort. It is painted in the brightest of colours, but don't be put off by this from looking just at photographs, it somehow works, the colours blend into the vegetation and it adds a kind of quirkiness.

This resort offers you everything you could need on the best part of Chaweng Beach. It is small and intimate, and the staff are extremely efficient and helpful and will go out of their way to help with anything. There are various resorts all along Chaweng beach and some of them are very noisy with music blaring all day and all night, the Baan Samui Resort is just far enough away from this so it doesn't bother you, but close enough to walk along the beach if you want some party action.

We had 2 interleading rooms, which were more than adequate. The aircon works like a charm, bathrooms were of a decent size with a bath and shower, beds were large and comfortable. Ask for ground floor if possible, it just makes getting to the pool, beach and breakfast so much easier. Mosquitoes are a problem, and although their are plug-in repellent machines in the rooms, take spray even if they don't normally bite you.

There is a large supermarket directly opposite the resort, so stocking up your mini-bar is very cheap and convenient. Loads and loads of restaurants within minutes walking distance, just too many to mention.

Wifi is however not free, although very cheap, the connection was not great and you could only access it on one device at a time.

This resort is situated on a beautiful stretch of Chaweng beach, with pool loungers on the beach for guests, although as is the case with so many beach resorts we have visited, guests claim their lounger early in the morning by leaving personal items on them and then leave for most of the day, although we never had a problem finding space. The beach is clean and gorgeous and the sea warm. A few too many jet ski's around for my liking, but swimming areas are cordoned off where jet ski's are not allowed. Lots of vendors on the beach selling everything and anything, not overly intrusive, but it does sometimes get a bit much.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate, with the normal selection one would expect. We never had a problem finding a table and special order eggs, etc., were prepared very quickly.

There are 2 restaurants to choose from, one by the pool/beach side and another on the road side where there was live music every evening, both offering quite a nice selection of traditional Thai as well as Western dishes. We ordered room-service once or twice and the service was very quick, although the room-service menu could be expanded a bit to include more snack-type foods.

We can highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, it just makes getting to the pool and beach easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    183
    50
    26
    14
See reviews for
116
227
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed in a deluxe room for 9 nights from July 10th. This was our first visit to Koh Samui so we were'nt sure about the hotel or location. It turned out to be a perfect choice.
The Baan Samui is perfectly located in the centre of Chaweng having heaps of shops and restaurants right outside the front and a beautifull, clean sandy beach out back. The resort itself is small and very quirky but in a good way. It's 15 minutes from the airport and despite the occassional sound of planes landing or taking off during the day it's a quiet resort far enough away from the louder night spots to ensure some serenity but close enough to make it an easy walk if your in the party mood.
The pool is a good size and very clean. There was a limited number of day beds around and on a couple of occasions people had put their towels down early then b*ggered off for most of the day but there were plenty more down on the beach which also gave you access to plenty shade if you wanted it. The beach is great, the water is clean and warm and you can have a go on the jet skis or other watersports or simply lay back and watch the world go by. There is also plenty of locals selling jewelry, clothes, food etc but they are not pushy at all and seemed to be doing a good bit of trade.
The breakfast was very standard fare for a resort. Reasonable choice of Asian and Western food, well presented and being a small resort it was never over crowded and you never felt rushed. The food at the restaurant on the beach was very tasty and reasonably priced and the happy hour drinks went down a treat.
The rooms were adequate in size and the beds were comfy. They were clean and most days they were serviced early which is always good. The family we were holidaying with have younger children and had requested interconnecting rooms which they were given without a fuss. The bathrooms were small and had glass panels in the wall and doors which was a bit weird and the shower was in the bath which might not be ideal if you are a bit unsteady on your feet.
Unfortunately there was no free wifi and if you have teenage kids like us who would spend the entire day on the internet if they could you have to buy 2 seperate passwords to allow them to access the internet at the same time. The cost was not huge, around $3 a day but the connection was dodgy and in this day and age there should be free wifi.
The staff were fantastic. Very friendly and helpfull and nothing was too much bother for them (special mention for Wiparat who seemed to spend more time at the resort than us and who at times knew what we wanted before we knew it ourselves).
Got to mention the mossies which which seemed to be biting all day long. Make sure and pack the repellent.
All in all this is a good standard 3 star resort which has good amenaties, great location, great staff and an overall good vibe. Definately a place I hope to be able to come back to in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is quite nice and colorful and has a good vibe about it, the pool area is nice and everything is close to the rooms we were on ground floor 1009 close to breakfast area ,pool and beach.At the pool they also have massage which is reasonably priced starting from 250 baht for thai and 300 baht for oil massage and they are very good masseuses as I used them several times.
They have free beach lounges and the beach is very clean and locals sell food like corn and chicken kebabs and fruit right at your fingertips, happy hour is 4pm to 6pm and cocktails half price and the also put out some snacks daily in this time ,all along the beach have happy hr and offer different things and different music, jetskis also available outside on the beach we paid 800 baht 20 mins and they are reputable just check the ski over with them to show any damage so they don't blame you.The staff are 100% efficient and friendly and make the place the way it is. I found the rooms comfortable, clean but a little dark we stayed in a superior deluxe room and take some mosquito spray as they were everywhere at night aircon worked fantastic and shower also, but sometimes the water came out rusty ,i think they may have been doing maintenance while we were there, there was a flat screen tv with very good reception.

The breakfast was very good for me and plenty of everything and had a courtyard also it was non air conditioned and no lining up at the egg station , range cereals ,eggs ,buffet,toast , yogurt, cheese, fresh fruit coffee and tea etc . There is a quite a large supermarket directly across the road which is reasonably priced , and transport is right outside the door also the resort provide live bands nightly as entertainment which is quite good and take requests and don't care if you sing also,two restaurants I recommend is Onion about 200 meters to the right and Ninja restaurant about 500 meters on the left on the road entrance, the main action is around 500 meters on the right where you will find markets and bars overall great stay here cant complain ...Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We found ground floors the best easy access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for 10 nights in July in a ground level superior deluxe room. The room was very clean and was serviced to a high level daily. Whilst the room is quite dark and dated the bed was comfortable, the flat screen tv had a good picture and the amenities all worked well. I really liked the intimacy of this resort as it was great size and you did not have to walk very far to get to breakfast, lobby, pool, beach, restaurants and shopping. It is a very colourful resort and it really has a happy vibe. The pool was kept clean however could do with some minor tile repairs. The beach is a hive of activity and the resort had its own seats to use so it was great to sit out there and watch all the action go by. Sellers walk up and down the beach so you did not have to go far for food and shopping. There are dogs on the beach but they do not bother you they are just so tired they seem to sleep all day – sometimes even under your beach chair. The breakfast buffet gives you a lot of choice and a few options change daily to tempt your taste buds. I must also applaud all the staff for their kindness, friendliness and warmth shown during our stay – it is great to stay at a place where all the staff genuinely seem happy in their job. I would highly recommend a stay at this resort due to its location and facilities. It is not flash but it is very homely and has everything you need to enjoy your stay. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor for less walking and easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Baan Samui for 5 nights in Feb 2014. We had a lot of fun hanging around the pool and beach all day sipping on cocktails.
Fun, bright resort, staff were very friendly and food from restaurants on the beach was great.
Rooms were basic but clean, breakfast also basic but fresh and nice tasting, reasonably cheap resort.. so you get what you pay for! Awesome location on the beach, just a short walk to town. But will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location in the centre of Chaweng, is away from the backpacker beach bars which are located further up. You have the outdoor night food markets, supermarket, shopping, various restaurants all a stones throw away. Nice stretch of beach out the front as well.

Staff were friendly & helpful, place was always kept clean & tidy. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of asian & western fare. The pool was clean (other reviews have said otherwise so I was nervous) & nice atmosphere.

We ate lunch a couple of times in the beach restaurant, food was great & we always made use of the happy hour from 4 to 6 with free nibbles.

Our room was clean & tidy (no foul smells also mentioned by other reviewers), serviced daily with plenty of room for all of us.

We travelled with our 2 year old & 8 month old & I felt safe & they loved the pool area, the gardens & the fish pond/stream. The staff were fantastic with them.

Only negative is the issue with our room. We wanted to have a separate bedroom for us & thought we were getting this with the Junior Suite which the website stated has separate bedroom & on ground floor, we were paying quiet a lot of extra money for this as well. We arrive to find just one very big room with a double, single, cot & daybed. It was a nice room on second floor with good veranda & views however this was not what we thought we were getting. I had done a lot of internet research to get a separate bedroom as we wanted a break from the kiddies & they go to bed early. The hotel staff were great & after about 30 minutes we were told we were upgraded to the Family Suite (not the full suite as only had double room & dayroom, a door was locked off to the rest of the suite - it was the kinda of accommodation we thought we were getting). Great job on the hotel for moving us free of charge & Family Suite was right on the pool so was perfect for us & the kids.

Highly recommend the hotel & would stay there again, but would clarify the room type first & keep the email!

Room Tip: Family Suite was excellent right on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Once again a special thank you to the management and staff of the Baan Samui for the way we were looked after for our months stay June 2014. We are looking forward to staying again same time 2015. We hope to introduce some family this time. The Baan is very well situated with all it's own restaurants, bars & swimming pool plus a beautiful beach. There is also lots of trading on the beach as well as local food. We prefer to stay in the Superior Deluxe room. Self service store just across the street and taxis out the front. The new Central Centre is about 300 metres up the street with lots of shopping and more restaurants.

Room Tip: Superior Deluxe has walk in shower as well a separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Baan Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Samui Resort

Address: 14/7 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui, Thailand Baan Samui Resort is located on the secluded and enchanting Chaweng beach, far from the ordinary and the mundane. Step into the colour and the beauty of this amazing hideaway. Sit back relax and absorb the serene and exotic atmosphere. Your dreams can become reality at Baan Samui Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Baan Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Baan Samui Koh
Baan Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.