We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first time and we were not disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Samui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Samui Resort to your Saves list
Baan Samui Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   14/7 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sarina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our first time and we were not disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a ground floor superior deluxe room , very spacious great aircond , the bed was very hard which would not suit many people but we got use to it.
Breakfast was something to look forward to although I feel we should have paid for room only and experienced other places for a change.
Being a non smoker we found it was a bit of an issue with smoke coming through the air conditioning at night even though they were non smoking rooms . Also there were people smoking in the restaurant when we went for breakfast which we didn't, appreciate.
The staff were very friendly and I have to say we had a very relaxing holiday .

Room Tip: Superior deluxe well worth the extra money , we were on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    178
    49
    26
    14
See reviews for
111
218
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have returned once again to the Baan Samui and were not disappointed, the manager in charge Suwanee has made some progressive changes since we were here last, all of them very positive and all geared toward the customer so that our stay was even more enjoyable. Once again all staff were very friendly and professional without being aloof or non caring and looked after all our needs promptly and politely. There is little that I can say that is not positive about this hotel and would still highly recommend it for couples and families alike. The pool and beach areas are excellent and the restaurants are very reasonable in price whilst maintaining high food quality.
The head Chef is really on the ball as are his staff, if you go to the beach bar Boonrit will look after you and make sure you are comfortable and well served.

Well done everyone once again you made our stay a most relaxing and stress free holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Baan Samui Resort. We had booked before we had read the reviews on TripAdvisor and were a little worried about some of the negative reviews on here. However, we need not have worried. At the front desk we were greeted by friendly staff who provided an efficient check-in and showed us to our room. Our room was only a Deluxe, however it offered us all we needed. It was a decent size, had a comfy bed and provided ample wardrobe space. The bathroom was a little small however there were none of the smells that I had read in previous TripAdvisor reviews.

Baan Samui Resort's facilities are terrific. The pool area was perfect for relaxing in the late afternoon with plenty of deck chairs available. The staff in the poolside bar/restaurant were always friendly, with delicious food and a large selection of drinks. Happy Hour between 4-6pm was always popular for their 99 baht cocktails. Massages were also available only a few steps from the pool. The breakfast provided an enormous selection with eggs cooked to order, choice of hot dishes that were both traditional Thai and Western, a selection of bakery items, variety of fruit, cereals and toast. All served with coffee, tea of juice.

The location of this hotel is right on Chaweng Beach in a busy tourist area which can be both a positive and a negative. Obviously this is very handy for eating out as there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in this area and only a short walk away. The night-life in this area is also excellent if you are keen to hit the bars/clubs in the evenings. However the negative side of this location is that the beach is very busy with jet-skis constantly zooming in and out of the beach near the Baan Samui Resort.

In summary, I would recommend this resort to most people. If you are after a more secluded beach, a quieter part of the island might suit you better. However if you want to be in the thick of the action on Chaweng Beach, Baan Samui Resort is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Baan Samui has obviously improved dramatically since some of the more negative reviews. We were nervous before we arrived but for 7 days, start to finish, Baan Samui delivered a wonderful place to stay for our honeymoon. From the luxury transfer (1000b for 2 people 2 ways), to the yummy and plentiful breakfast each morning (ending at 10am though a bit early if you sleep in!), to the well-priced and excellent massages on the beach, we were happy.

We had the basic type of room (called a Deluxe room) but it was spacious, very clean, big bathroom, balcony, air con, TV, everything you need. No noise at all at night or in the mornings either! We always try for a top floor room to avoid noise from above, we were on the third floor (top) and no worries.

All the staff are super lovely with a friendly "Sawasdee!" every time you run into someone. The grounds are lovely, Chaweng Beach is amazingly lovely and clean, and the pool is nice too (but with beach like that who needs the pool?). The front bar is great of an evening with a talented band each night.

Location is also excellent with a mini-mart across the road with cheap beer, snacks and souvenirs, markets and restaurants (go find Ninja Crepes it's a great place!).

All in all I say highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Baan Samui with my two children aged 7 and 5. We had a ground floor room and were very close to everything we needed. Turned left from the room for the pool, beach and one bar/restaurant, turned right for reception, the other restaurant and the road. Supermarket opposite sold everything, perfect for fussy eating child who only wanted yoghurt! Right in the centre of Chaweng, so close to shops and restaurants. However we mostly ate in our hotel in the evening as they had great cover bands and the staff were so kind in the restaurant with the children. The breakfast was great - there was a huge selection to choose from, even for us as vegetarians.
The most important thing for me was that i felt safe with the staff in this hotel. Our cleaner Auong was kind and friendly (altough she was leaving) and from the moment we arrived (hot and exhausted of course) until we left Waewwagee the manager was welcoming, reasssuring, professional and kind.
The room was not huge, but did have a big bed, flat screen tv with 24hr cartoon channel, safe, tea and coffee facilities, a small fridge and a wonderful walk in shower that we could all fit in at once, plus a separate bathroom with bath. The aicon was efficient and adjustable.
We were not ambitious and did not venture out much, but that was our choice, and we didnt need to as we had everyting we needed right there in the resort.
Chaweng main road was overwesternised and unpleasant, but i knew it would be!
It was a very different holiday from the backpacking around thailand that i had done before i had children, but was exactly what i wanted on this occasion.

Room Tip: I expect they are all to the same high standard - we had superior deluxe as recommended by others on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great location but was very surprised that the breakfast area was not air conditioned and that smoking was allowed, and that there was no air conditioned bar area. We also had problems with the wifi. Great pool area. I would not recommend this hotel or stay ere again

Room Tip: Would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the Baan Samui for 7 nights in September. This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had at a hotel, though I will begin with the pros.

Pros: It is a very well located hotel. It has excellent access to a gorgeous stretch of beach.

Cons: The Hotel itself, and the staff, are dire. There was generally mould everywhere, including in our room. The walls of the hotel are EXTREMELY thin, and you can hear small coughs from your neighbours very easily (if staying as a couple, this can prove disastrous). Furthermore, myself and my partner were covered in bed-bug bites from our stay. From head to toe. Between us we managed to count over 100 bites. It was TRULY horrific. Hotel staff did not offer as much as an apology for this, and in general were very unhelpful and rude for the duration of our stay. Breakfast itself was average in quality, though the quality of the room itself left plenty to be desired.

There are much better hotels in Koh Samui for the same money. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Samui Resort

Address: 14/7 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui, Thailand Baan Samui Resort is located on the secluded and enchanting Chaweng beach, far from the ordinary and the mundane. Step into the colour and the beauty of this amazing hideaway. Sit back relax and absorb the serene and exotic atmosphere. Your dreams can become reality at Baan Samui Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Baan Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Baan Samui Koh
Baan Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Samui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.