We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Couples Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi to your Saves list
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   91/2-3 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Impiana Samui Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Couples Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had 3 very busy days in Bangkok so to arrive here and do nothing but relax and unwind is what we wanted and what we got. This is a perfect couples retreat, not really somewhere for children, they are child friendly but just no kids club. The Beach Bar drinks and snacks are reasonable in price, and very much up to international standards. The Day Spa is worth every penny, do yourself a favour and have a massage on the beach, for a fraction of the price, but if its pleasure and ambience you're after then go the day spa treatments. A very nice hotel with lovely helpful staff, their english is not the best, but manageable. We will be returning, hopefully they get their 5 star status after a few refurbishments... Great Holiday Destination..

Room Tip: Room Tip: Superior Room upgrade is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    229
    94
    29
    21
See reviews for
80
307
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We did not stay at this hotel but we did enjoy an afternoon doing a cooking class. And we would HIGHLY recommend it ! We read about the classes in a local paper, so thought we would go to this resort instead of the main cooking classes (really just a hunch that it would be better) and we made the right decision. After arriving at the hotel, we were taken to the local markets in town by Chef Adisak who talked us through local fruit, vegetables, spices, meats etc and we learnt a lot. We then went back to the hotel and cooked some dishes - it was just my boyfriend and i, and the chef - on a beautiful patio overlooking the beach. So we had the place to ourselves. We prepared and cooked a Sweet and Sour fish dish, Tom Yum, Green Curry and then a coconut milk/ banana dessert. The food was the best we ate our entire trip in Thailand - simply delicious. It was about 1500 baht per person (from memory) and worth every baht ! Highly recommend, Chef Adisak was knowledgable, very friendly, funny and an excellent teacher!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This was the first of 2 resorts we stayed at on Koh Samui. We were impressed from the start - we arrived late at about 10pm and were greeted with a cold towel and cold drink. We were tired and couldn't think straight after being in transit for nearly 20 hours. After giving all the paperwork to the front desk staff they pointed out that I'd accidentally selected the room was for one rather than 2 in my online booking. I had no idea I'd done that but it wasn't a problem at all - they said it was fine. I was relieved at that - some places might make such an issue of things like that and start adding extra costs but nothing like that.

We had a room which was about 2 rooms away from the beach - we could see the sand and the waves from our front porch. It was beautiful. The room was great - comfy bed (we'd been sleeping on uncomfortable beds for the 2 weeks previous so we couldn't wait for a comfy bed!) and the best block out blinds ever!! We didn't see a speck of light through the curtains which made for the best sleep ins. The rooms were kept clean and the beds were turned down in the evenings. There always seemed to be a fresh flower on the pillow or in the bathroom. It was a nice touch.

The resort said they provided a bottle of water per person per day but we were drinking more than that just hanging out in the rooms and with teethbrushing etc so they pretty much just left extra bottles when they could see we needed them. I really appreciated that.

From the beach there were series of steps to get up to the front desk but because our room was near the beach we could pretty much just walk out our door, around a corner, past the pool and there we were at the restaurant! The breakfasts were great - I've no complaints. There was a good range of foods - we loved the omelettes and chocolate croissants! We ate two lunches at the restaurant at the resort which were ok but nothing amazing and the prices tended to be about double that of other beachside food places (that weren't associated with resorts). We had dinner one night which was really good - seafood night. We selected the seafood we wanted from the ice and it was cooked as we chose. It was great value actually and really tasty.

Most nights we ate at the beachside restaurant just up the beach from the resort called Charming Restaurant - it was delicious and tasted fresh and it wasn't bargain prices but it was good value!

The pool at the resort was lovely: very clean and nice to relax in and look out over the sea. We were often amazed that there weren't more people in the pool. The beach was beautiful once you got across the short distance of rocks just near the shore. The water was so incredible, but I cut my foot on a rock which then got annoying walking in the sand.

We had massages at the massage place just on the beach which was great too - 300B I think.

The resort has a free shuttle bus which can take you into Chaweng and then take you back at certain times. We took the bus in and then walked along the beach back (which is hampered somewhat by the rocks that separate Chaweng from Chaweng Noi).

Impiana was a fantastic resort for the kind of holiday we wanted: relaxing, good food, good drinks (there were 3 happy hours which went for 2 hours each!!!), comfy bed and beautiful resort. We got all those things staying here. Chaweng was where all the noise and action seemed to be at night time - and it is a taxi ride away if that's what you're looking for but we had a brilliant time at Impiana and we'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Amazing holiday with my mom. The location was perfect as away from the hectic shopping drag. A free shuttle ran into town 3 times a day and only took 15 minutes.
Our room was gorgeous although the 1st standard room was not and we had to upgrade. the upgrade was pretty cheap though and well worth it.
Staff are very friendly although their English wasn't great.
Breakfasts were yummy if somewhat the same every day but still delicious. The restaurant was good too.
Wi-Fi was fast and free and I could work from my room every day.
I absolutely loved the hotel and the location and quietness and beautiful beach would have me coming back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room. Ask for balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

After reading great reviews about this hotel on tripadvisor, we decided to stay in Impiana and take their Samui Escape package. Tthe resort is nice , rooms are small but comfortable and located on chaweng noi beach which is decent. But the service here is pathetic or maybe more towards Indians as we were the only Indians staying in this hotel. Nobody in this hotel understands what is the meaning of service - be it their manager, housekeeping, checkin-staff and esp the staff at breakfast. We had a 11 month old daughter. everywhere thai people were so baby friendly except this hotel where noone wll even give you a smile. The breakfast was horrible, food was not even fresh. Everyday they kept the same stuff at the same place. I wonder if it was even chnaged. The staff at breakfast was extremely rude. If you ask for water or your eggs, you are supposed to take it yourself. That's too much effort for them as they are busy standing. The guy there named Saree was so rude. for 3 days we were there, he did not even ask us for tea/coffee. he will go to all the white people at breakfast and serve them but will not even look at us inspite of us calling him. Twice or thrice after asking for tea/coffee, he came and filled our cup to the top so that tea spilled.. Having a baby, we expected some extra help but forget about that. They didn't even smile. If we knew about the racist attitude of this hotel and its staff, we would have never stayed here. We just ate breakfast here. For lunch/dinner we went to nearby Imperial Samui which is so much better and the staff there is very baby friendly. It was all booked else we would have stayed there only. Overall, a big disappointment for us.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

After a few hectic days in Bangkok, we were looking for a beachfront paradise in Koh Samui - and this is what we got! Beautiful, very relaxing, clean and well looked after by attentive staff. We were lucky with the weather after the recent heavy rains and had brilliant blue skies and very hot sunny days. Room 410 (superior) had a good sea view overlooking roof, entance from open corridor facing the road so some noise from busy Chaweng road. Hotel laid out over many levels with lots of stairs/steps,no lifts and so may not be suitable for people with difficulty walking. Other than a small splash pool doesn't really cater for children either. The hotel is located at Chaweng Noi beach which is beautiful and relatively quiet, mostly cleaned up from recent floods, a few nearby locations/businesses undergoing refurbishment. Beach bar is very scenic with multiple 2 for 1 happy hours, although still seemed expensive. Local (female run) family business adjacent to hotel offers good massages (300-400 baht) and cheap freshly cooked thai food (60-80 baht), beers, snacks and fresh fuit smoothies. A few other restaurants at this end of the beach ('Charming' is geat for fresh seafood) but need to travel further afield for variety. Hotel runs a shuttle bus into to Chaweng a few times a day - busy road/no footpath means its not safely walkable - and we had a great time people watching at the Ark bar but glad we weren't staying here, very different feel, noisy, popular with younger people. Bophut beach a 10-15 minute taxi ride and much nicer with fantastic choice of beachfront restaurants in Fishermans' Village. Overall, I think the Impiana is a good quality 4* hotel in a quiet location but fine for relaxing days on a lovely beach, and trips out.

Room Tip: Taxi to Chaweng 200 baht (£4), Bophut 400 baht
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

My overall experience of the hotel and staff was good. My only grief is purely weather related and the hotel staff couldn't help there,that was the main problem, my stay was for 6 days and unfortunately it was during an extreme rain event experienced throughout all of lower Thailand.
My main issue was the hotel management failed to provide any information on the situation we had to rely on the Chef and the Traffic guard (The Chef was great). Also when asked what wet weather activities were available I was informed use the internet, which was fine until it went down 2nd day in. Their DVD selection left much to be desired must have been about 8 movies available.
I don't blame the hotel for the bad weather just the bad experience after 5 days stuck in the same room I went stir crazy. While the staff was average and the food good I can't recommend this resort to anyone and I hope every thing in Koh samui is back to normal

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi

Address: 91/2-3 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Impiana Samui Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi, Koh Samui boasts a secluded beachfront and white-sand setting plus lush tropical gardens. The majesty and splendor of the 96 contemporary Thai inspired rooms, tantalizing cuisine at Tamarind restaurant and friendly service, the pleasure are simple. Combined with the adventure of a journey through this magnificent island, Swasana Spa's heavenly relax and rejuvenate experiences are a unique way to experience the full wonder of this beautiful romantic destination. The resort truly represents the sanctuary of spirituality, richness and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Samui Hotel Bophut
Impiana Samui Resort And Spa
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.