We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, Amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Samui Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Imperial Samui Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Samui Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Moo 3 Chaweng Noi Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, Amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We spent our last week in Thailand on Samui and decided to treat ourselves with a nice hotel. We stayed at the Imperial Samui weren't disappointed. The service was excellent from walking in the door to walking out. Instead of going to the reception desk to check in, we were greeted as we walked in and sat down with a refreshing drink in the bar while the receptionist dit eh necessary. We were then taken by golf buggy to our room. The room itself was beautiful with a sea view. The hotel is situated right on the beach and is a 15 minute walk from the centre of Chaweng so the beach is nice and quiet but you can get into town easily at night. There are also two nice pools.
The food was failry expensive by Thai standards but that's to be expected at a top hotel. It was very nice.
I would deffinately go back here if I went back to Samui.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    348
    232
    76
    22
    15
See reviews for
133
353
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

This hotel is very tranquil and pleasant. It is surrounded by greenery with easy access to the beach. I went there with my girlfriend to propose to her. The hotel was everything we could have asked for. The "Premier Sea Facing" rooms are bright and spacious and the the balcony is a big plus. We particularly liked little touches such as the orgami animals that are made from a towel. These are left on your bed after the room is made up. Hiring a car / mini-4x4 is easy to do and we enjoyed driving to points of interest around the island. The hotel spa is very well decorated and is very relaxing. There are a choice of two good sized pools. The lobby area is beautiful, plush and very comfortable with a colonial feel.

The location is particularly good because it is away from the central bar area of Chaweng and so is not very noisy. The hotel is at the end of the beach so there is only a hotel to the left hand side not to the right. As a result the hotel feels a bit more secluded than most.

The hotel particularly caters well to German travellers (e.g. the restaurant breakfast menu is in English on one side and German on the other).

The only negative is that, if you arrive in early and want breakfast at the hotel while you wait to check in, it is expensive.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

because the weather is unpredictable, probably the wettest month of the year and so avoided by a lot of holiday makers which means that the hotel and the town are relatively quiet. Last time we came in March and loved the hotel, but didn't like paying for the internet. This time they gave it to me for free plus free nights. The weather has on the whole been good-1 rain all day; a couple of rain all night and some with showers. Latterly fine and dry with no wind and very warm. 10 nights in all.
The hotel and the island are beautiful; lovely staff; we could take them all home with us.
We will come back again at some time, soon hopefully.
If you need a car Mr Jeaw in the shop straight across the road will rent you one for less than 20 pounds a day plus insurance and fuel. The island is 31 miles round. He will also do laundry and most other things, also sells wine ata better price than Tesco.
If you want a massage I have found the best place is out of the hotel, turn right and go into the first massage shop you come to. 4 girls about 40 years old, properly trained and very good; done my back a power of good. They do speak some English.
We found the beach restaurants fine-this time we used Beach Love to be the best-onto the beach turn right and you can't miss it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naters, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We were here for 3 weeks and all was just perfect. The water is warm and you can see little fishes, crabs and if you are lucky - as we were - even a little squid. The room is cleaned up twice a day and is big enough for two persons (normal room). The staff has always a smile on her face and you feel welcome every day. The breakfast has a great variety to choose from, so every one can found what he likes. We had only 3 days with rain, which last not for long - after one hour the rain was over. We recommend to watch the Thai event on Tuesday, as there is a show with live music and dancers. To emphasis it, we had a great time here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We went to stay at the Imperial Samui Hotel in Chaweng for our honeymoon this year. After a rather long journey we finally arrived at the hotel and it was just gorgeous. We were shown to our seaview room and it was just lovely, amazing view, huge bed and amazing bathroom with shutters so you could sit in the bath and look out to sea if you wished. The facilites are equally amazing, two fab swimming pools, beautiful grounds, great strip of beach where people sell you chicken satay,corn on the cob and fresh fruit at lunchtime all for about £1. Hotel breakfast delicious, staff just lovely. Thai massages right by the beach were amazing - the women who do them are so friendly, and I must mention the Charming restaurant just down the beach - best thai we had all holiday, so spent a lot of dinners there. They do great Margarita's and have deckchairs out so you can sit after dinner by candlelight with the sea lapping and enjoy a final cocktail before wandering back up the beach to the hotel, maximum 5 mins walk. best holiday we had, all thanks to Imperial Samui and many dinners at Charming! You will love it. Very romantic but also great for kids.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in mid September for 10 nights. The hotel itself is on the beach with two big swimming pools. We had a premier sea facing room which was lovely. Big enough and the bathroom area was great.
The hotel food was lovely but a little expensive compared to restaurants outside the resort. As mentioned many times there is a some fantastic restaurants on the beach close by - our favourite being Charmings.
The majority of the staff are lovely and most do go out of there way to make you enjoy your stay.
The resort is on a lovely quiet beach and area, away from all the madness of chaweng center but only a couple of minutes in a taxi if you want to check it out.
Overall i'd recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Burgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed here as one of our destinations whilst on Honeymoon. We received a room upgrade, a bottle of bubbly and breakfast delivered to our suite all FOC. This was very gratefully received. Our room was lovely, the aircon required the key fob to be left in the room to keep it working, but can easily be removed from the key itself to allow this.

The restaurant for breakfast was ample and a buffet style where you could get pretty much anything you wanted. The Beachside and Poolside restaurants were OK, but the service wasn't what we'd come to expect from Thailand. This can be said for some of the reception staff too. There were a couple of people we spoke to that seemed to be annoyed when we asked for advice.

Our room had no hot water for two nights, despite speaking to the reception staff after the first night, however, in fairness when mentioned the second night, it was fixed before our return to the room later that day.

There is a couple of great beach front restaurants only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. I highly recommend you go to these. You do get a little pestered by locals trying to sell you sky lanturns and jewellery ... if you tell them no thanks they do tend to leave you alone.

PLEASE, PLEASE DO NOT PAY TO GET YOUR PHOTO TAKEN WITH THE BABY GIBBONS that are paraded along the beach. These are stolen from their mothers in the wild and by paying for photo's you encourage this. (RANT over .... sorry)

Back to the hotel - it was very busy, and did seem like a lot of package resorts that I've stayed in whilst in Greece or Spain ... not really great for a honeymoon in my opinion. With respect, there were a lot of Italians who seem to holiday here, and I got the impression the staff focused on these groups more than others.

I did enjoy my stay here, but compared to other hotels I wasn't overly impressed.

I'd recommend getting the bus into town for 50 BHT and trying the night life. It was busy, but we went to Gringos Cantina (A mexican) where there were huge portions for a reasonable price. We walked to the Ice Bar ... which is a bar made fully from ice and kept at -7 degrees... its worth a look although a little pricey.

We also did the boat / snorkelling trip through the tour company we booked the hotel through. Although this was a good day out, there were approx 50 people squashed onto a average size speed boat. It wasn't very comfortable but it was a good trip all the same.

To summarise the hotel does what it says on the tin. Its clean and in a good location. Not too close to the busy centre of Chaweng Central but close enough for a short bus journey. The staff were not as friendly as we found elsewhere, but that could be because of how busy the hotel was. I will echo the comments about needing to be fit and able. The hotel is built on a steep hill and you need to negotiate numerous steep staircases to move around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Samui Beach Resort

Address: 86 Moo 3 Chaweng Noi Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Samui Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of the hotel, nestled in the warm and white sands of the magnificent Chaweng Noi Beach, Koh Samui. The newly renovated and beautifully decorated rooms of the low-rise buildings are surrounded by our lush tropical garden and rise above the crystal blue water. It is a paradise hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets natural beauty. The Imperial Samui Beach Resort Koh Samui features a fresh water pool with its own Jacuzzi, a sea water pool facing the ocean, dining in the beach facing Tara Restaurant or under the stars. Relax on our poolside terrace, in the lobby and pool bar or make use of our meeting facilities, 24 hours room service, a full service spa, diverse sport facilities, a gift shop and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Imperial Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Samui Beach Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Imperial Samui
Imperial Samui Chaweng
Imperial Samui Hotel
Imperial Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Samui Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.